How can I take care of the umbilical cord?

How can I clean my baby’s umbilical cord?

Before cleaning the umbilical cord, you should clean your hands first. Prepare some clean cotton buds. Use cool boiled-water or 70-75% alcohol, as recommended by the hospital where your baby was delivered. First, use a cotton bud soaked with either cool boiled-water or alcohol to clean the base of the umbilical cord, that is, the connection between the cord and the abdominal wall. Use a new cotton bud for each swabbing. Repeat the swabbing until the bottom of the cord is thoroughly clean. Finally, swab and clean the cord stump. Remember, clean the cord gently to avoid bleeding.

Why is there some blood coming out from the umbilical cord?

You may notice a few drops of blood on the nappy around the time the stump falls off, it is normal. Continue to clean the cord using the method just described. The cord will usually dry up and the oozing will stop after a few days.

When will my baby’s umbilical cord fall off?

In general, the umbilical cord separates between 5 to 10 days after birth but it varies among different babies. In some babies, it may take up to 3 weeks or longer for the cord to separate. If your baby’s cord has not yet come off by 1 month old, you should consult your doctor.

Do I need to apply anything to the umbilical cord?

The umbilical cord will come off by itself. You do not need to apply any dressing or medications such as oil, ointment, cord-powder or band-aid on it. If you want the cord to separate more quickly, the most important thing is to keep the cord clean and dry. Do not wrap the nappy too tight. Try to keep the nappy underneath the cord to prevent it from rubbing the cord and bleeding.

Under what situations should I bring the baby to visit a doctor?

Please bring your baby to visit a doctor if you notice signs suggestive of infection, such as having red skin around the base of the cord, foul smelling discharge, collection of pus, presence of a persistent bulging lump at the umbilicus after the cord has fallen off.

If there is severe bleeding from the cord, please bring your baby to the Accident and Emergency Department so the medical staff can help stop the bleeding early and manage accordingly.

怎样清洁脐带呢?

我可以怎样替宝宝清洗脐带呢?

在清洁脐带之前,首先要洗干净双手,预备干净的棉花棒、冻滚水或 70 至 75 度的消毒火酒。至于用冻滚水或火酒,你可以根据宝宝出院时医院的建议。先用冻滚水或火酒弄湿棉花棒来清洁脐带的底部,即脐带与肚皮连接的位置。每抹一次,便要更换一枝新棉花棒,以同样方法继续清洁,直至脐带底部完全干净为止。最后,再清洁脐带,清洁时千万不要过分用力而令脐带受损或出血。

为什么肚脐位置会有少量血水渗出呢?

在脐带快脱落时,可能会有少量血水渗出,这是正常的。只要用刚才提到的方法来清洁便可以。大约清洁两至三日后,肚脐干涸便不会再有血水渗出。

宝宝的脐带何时才会脱落?

每个宝宝脱落脐带的时间都不同,一般在宝宝出生后五至十天。但有部分宝宝的脐带可能需要三个星期或以上才会脱落。如果脐带在宝宝满月时还未脱落的话,便要请教医生。

我想脐带快些脱落,需要涂抹些什么呢?

宝宝的脐带会自然脱落,不需要任何敷料或者药物,如油、膏、脐粉或胶布。如果你想脐带快些脱落,最紧要是保持脐带干爽,尿片不要包得太紧和不要盖着脐带,这样可避免因脐带被尿片磨擦,而引致的损伤出血。

什么情况下才需要看医生?

如果脐带底部皮肤有红肿、臭味、有异常的分泌物、肚脐生长肉粒或者当宝宝哭时肚脐凸出, 这就需要带宝宝回母婴健康院向姑娘查询。父母亦可以到普通科门诊诊所或者私家诊所见医生。

如果脐带有大量出血的情况, 就要立即带宝宝到急症室, 让医护人员尽早帮宝宝止血和找出出血的原因。