Five common pitfalls that lead to fall injuries at home

Children can walk, climb or run at around the age of 1. They may even imitate difficult actions. However, they are still young and their coordination of movement is not good enough. Moreover, they may not understand or remember what are dangerous things to do. This can lead to injuries like falls at home or even falls from height.

To prevent falls at home, apart from keeping an eye on what your child is doing, safety awareness of home environment is also important.

What are the common pitfalls of fall injuries at home?

  1. Balcony and windows are high risk places. Children may not understand the serious consequences of falling from heights. You must install window guards and fences or wire mashes around the balcony.
  2. The floor has potential dangers. Glossy floor makes slipping more likely. Avoid using small carpets. Walkways should be clear of toys or objects to prevent tripping over. You should clear spilled water or grease on the floor immediately to prevent your child from slipping.
  3. Children like to climb around, so you should avoid stacking up your furniture and belongings as your child may climb up and fall down causing injury.
  4. Avoid using bunk beds where possible. Consider using a bed with an additional retractable bed attached to its base. If you need to use a bunk bed, you should avoid letting your child sleep on the upper deck. Fit strong side rails of appropriate height to the upper deck and install a secure ladder for safe climbing. Avoid leaving any space in between the bed and the wall.
  5. Bathroom can also be a common place for both adults and children to fall. You should place non-slip mat inside the bathtub and keep the floor of the bathroom dry.

In fact most of the accidents are preventable. The most important point is that you should be aware of this all the time and take preventive measures. If you want to know more about how to prevent home accidents, you can read the leaflets “Is your baby safe?” and “Love your child, Prevent injuries”.

五个会引致孩子跌倒受伤的家居陷阱

孩子一岁后,开始懂得走动,喜欢四处跑动,甚至模仿难度高的动作,但是他们年纪还小,动作协调仍未够灵活,而且又不懂得判断什么是危险,随时会发生跌倒,甚至高处堕下的意外。

要预防家居跌伤意外,家长除了要整天留意孩子的活动,不要让他追逐乱跑,还要留意家居环境的安全。

家中有什么陷阱会令到孩子容易跌伤呢?

  1. 露台、窗户都是高危的地方。孩子不懂得判断高处堕下的严重后果,所以家长一定要安装窗花,而露台则要安装铁栅,不让孩子爬出窗户或露台。
  2. 地板亦有潜在危险。太光滑的地板,孩子会容易滑倒。另外,不要摆放地毯或杂物在地板上,如玩具等,因为这会很容易跘倒。而倒翻在地上的水或油脂,亦需立即抹掉。
  3. 孩子最喜欢四处爬,所以家俱杂物不应一层一层地叠上,否则他很容易在杂物上跌下来受伤。
  4. 孩子很喜欢在上下格床上爬行跳动。要避免他跌倒,最好不要使用上下格床,改用子母床会较为安全。若要用上下格床,就要有稳固的梯子,而床与墙身之间不要留有任何空隙,最好安排孩子睡在下层。
  5. 浴室是成人和孩子都有机会跌倒的高危地方。你需要摆放防滑胶垫在浴缸里面,以及保持浴室地面干爽。

其实,大部分意外是可以避免的。最重要是父母时刻提高警觉,做好预防措施。如果你想知多些如何预防家居意外,你可参考单张「你的宝宝安全吗?」以及「保护儿童,慎防意外」。