When will my baby sleep through the night without needing a feed?

Some 3 month-old babies can sleep through the night. Most 6-month-old babies, as their bodies are getting maturer, have the ability to sleep through night without night feedings. However, the need to have night feedings is different for babies. If your baby wakes up in the middle of the night, and still need to take a considerable amount of milk, then you should not rush to “wean” him from night feedings. For a baby to sleep through the night, whether he has established a good sleep routine in his daily habits, also plays an important role.

What can I do to help my baby to sleep through night?!

Firstly, let your baby learn the differences between day and night. In the daytime, the light inside the house needs to be adequate. Try to play with your baby as much as you can. This will let the baby not sleep too much in the daytime. In the nighttime, keep the environment quiet and the light should be dimmed.

Secondly, help your baby learn to sleep by himself. Put him down on his own bed when he starts to look sleepy, but still awake. Let him fall asleep in his bed by himself, not to be carried in your arms. You can also stay close for a while to let him feel safe. This method let him associate sleep with his own bed easily, such that he can learn to sleep by himself.

Therefore, if your baby looks sleepy after he was full, you should stop feeding him. Put him to sleep in bed after burping him, avoid him to depend on feeding to fall asleep.

When my baby wakes up and cries in the night time, is he hungry?

When babies sleep in the night time, they may have short periods of brief wakening, move a bit, or even cry for a while. All these are part of normal sleep. When babies wake up and cry in the night time, they may have wet nappies, or wish parents to comfort them, not necessarily be hungry.

When your baby wakes up in the night time, you can first wait for a few minutes. See if he can fall back to sleep by himself. If you have waited for around five minutes and he still does not sleep, you can check his nappy, and check whether he feels too hot or too cold. You can also touch him to let him know that you are next to him. After you doing the above steps, most babies will be settled, then sleep again. If you want to know more about how to deal with baby’s sleep problems, you can listen to “My baby is not willing to sleep, what can I do?” under the main theme of “Parenting and Development”.

宝宝何时不需要晚上吃奶?

3 个月大起,一部分的宝宝不再需要吃夜奶。大部分6 个月大的宝宝,身体的机能更趋成熟,有能力整夜睡觉,而不再需要吃夜奶。但是,吃夜奶的需要是因人而异的。如果宝宝夜半醒来,仍然需要吃相当份量的奶,那麽家长便无需刻意「戒夜奶」。

宝宝何时能够整夜睡觉,很大程度上也和他在日常有没有建立好睡眠常规有关。

怎样做才能帮助宝宝整夜睡觉?

首先,要让宝宝感受到白天跟晚上的分别。在白天,屋内光线要充足,多跟孩子玩耍,不要让孩子日间睡得太多。在晚上,要把灯光调暗和尽量保持平静的气氛。

第二,帮助他学习如何自己入睡。当宝宝开始有睡意但还清醒时,你便把他放在牀上,让他在牀上入睡,而不是在你的怀里。你留在他身旁,让他有安全感。这样做宝宝便容易地把睡觉和自己的牀联系起来,学会自行入睡。

同样,当宝宝吃饱奶,有睡意不再吸吮时,你便应该停止喂哺,拍嗝后让他在牀上睡觉,以免他习惯依赖吸吮才能入睡。

宝宝夜半醒来,有时候哭了,他是肚子饿了吗?

宝宝晚上睡觉时,正常会有短暂的苏醒,他会动一动、叫一叫都是正常的。宝宝夜半醒来和哭了,可能是尿片湿了或想要爸爸妈妈来安抚一下,不一定是肚子饿。

当宝宝夜半醒来,你可以稍等数分钟,让他自己再入睡;如果等了一会他还未入睡,你才去检查尿片,以及是否他感到太热或太冷,亦可摸摸他,让他知道你在他身边。对大部分孩子,在做完以上的步骤后,会得到安抚,然后会再入睡。如果想多了解一些如何处理宝宝的睡眠问题,可收听「亲职与发展」的「宝宝不肯睡怎办」一节。