After my baby starts eating rice cereal, how should I feed him?

After my baby starts eating rice cereal, how should I feed him?

Most 6 months old babies drink milk regularly, around 5 times a day, and do not need to have night feed after sleep in the night time.}

When babies are in the early stage of trying rice cereal and other solid foods, they can only eat only small amount of thin rice cereal or other purees and the varieties would be limited. They are still drinking milk as the main diet to get nutrients, so both the frequency and the amount of milk offered should not be reduced.

When solid foods were introduced, feed him only 1 to 2 times a day in the beginning. When he gets used to the solids, the frequency can be increased to 3 times a day. Feed him with solids first when it is about time to have milk. Do not let him to try solids when he is really hungry, because he would be eager to have milk and not have interest in the spoon. Supplement him with milk after he finishes the solids. Let him decide the amount of milk.

As your baby can chew and swallow thicker solids, he will eat more solids and drink smaller amount of milk. Therefore, the foods provided by parents must be iron-rich and in an appropriate texture, so as to supply the energy required.

When new foods are added or when the texture of solids offered is turning rough, he may not be able to accept. He may eat less solids and need more milk. So parents need to observe carefully, feed milk according to his needs. When he is full, not willing to suck more, turns his head, pushes you or the bottle, parents should stop feeding him.

At the age of eight to nine months, most babies no longer need milk supplement after feeding solid foods. They eat solid foods 2 times a day, drink milk 3 times a day, with a total of around 500 to 600 ml per day.

The development of eating solid foods has individual variations. Parents need to feed babies with solids and milk according to their babies’ adaptation progress.

宝宝开始吃米糊后,应怎样给他吃奶呢?

宝宝开始吃米糊后,应怎样给他吃奶呢?

宝宝6 个月大左右,已较有规律地吃奶,大约每天五次。不需要在晚上睡觉后吃「夜」奶。

宝宝在尝试吃米糊和其他固体食物初时,只吃较稀的糊、分量少、种类不多,仍然是以奶为主要食粮来吸收营养,所以喂奶次数和分量不应减少 。

刚开始喂食固体食物时,每天只吃一至两次,宝宝适应后可增加至三次。喂奶时间到,先让他尝试吃固体食物。别在宝宝饿坏的时候让他尝试固体食物,因为他会心急要吃奶,对羮匙没兴趣,吃完了便喂他吃奶,吃多少由他。

随着宝宝咀嚼和能吞下较稠的食物,他吃固体食物的分量会增加,而补奶的分量便会有所减少。所以家长给他的食物必须是铁质丰富,而且稠度适中,能供应宝宝所需的热量。

当宝宝的固体食物加入了新食物或质感变得粗糙些,如果他未能接受,便会吃少了固体食物而多吃奶。所以家长要细心观察,按他的需要来喂奶。若他要是吃饱了,不愿再吸吮,转开头,推开你或奶瓶时,家长便要停止喂奶。

到了八、九个月大,大部分的宝宝已不用餐后补奶,每天吃两次固体食物,吃奶三次,每天吃奶分量大约是 500 - 600 ml 。

进食固体食物的发展过程因人而异,家长须因应宝宝的适应情况来喂食固体食物和奶。