How can I help my child stop using milk bottles?

When should children stop using bottles?

Once children can manage to drink water and milk from cups, they should stop using bottles. The earlier they stop, the easier the process will be. Generally, by the time your child is 18 months old, they should have stopped using bottles with teats completely.

Prolonged use of bottles increases the risk of tooth decay and ear infection. It can also lead to excessive milk intake, thus reducing children’s appetites during mealtimes.

Are there any practical tips for successful weaning?

Firstly, let your child get used to drinking from cups.

Secondly, get adequate psychological preparation. Some children may refuse drinking milk from the cups and may whine or even cry for their bottles, especially in the first few days of bottle weaning. You need to insist on not giving in to the request. Don’t let your child drink milk from bottles. Remember that bottle weaning is beneficial for his long-term health. Satisfy your child’s emotional needs by kissing, hugging and playing with him more. Let him know that you still love him.

Family members being not as supportive as you’d wish and inconsistencies in managing your child’s request of the bottle process, with the resultant giving in, are key factors of failure to wean off the bottles. Therefore, it is important to discuss with your family members and act consistently.

Thirdly, it is important to understand that the amount of milk a child drunk from a cup is generally less than that from a bottle. After the age of one, children drinking 360 to 480 ml of milk daily, together with daily foods, provides the calcium they need. When he drinks a smaller amount of milk, he will then have a larger appetite for food during mealtimes. So, you don’t need to worry them having not enough nutrients.

Weaning “cold turkey” tends to be problematic. It is easier to stop using the bottle in a gradual and loving way:

Usually, it is easier for children to adapt when the daytime bottle is stopped first. Give him around 120ml of milk in a cup and let him drink in a sitting position. Generally speaking, the daytime bottles can be stopped successfully in a few days’ time. Then, apply the successful experience to wean the morning and the bedtime bottles one after another.

For children accustomed to falling asleep with the bottle, it is important to have good bedtime routines. Give your child some snacks or a cup of milk before bedtime if he needs. Brush teeth before sleep and bring him to bed. Hugging your child, singing lullabies, telling him stories and kissing him goodnight to satisfy his emotional needs. In this way, he will be able to fall asleep quietly without drinking milk from a bottle.

如何帮助孩子停用奶瓶?

孩子多大要戒掉奶瓶?

孩子懂得用杯子喝水和喝奶后,便要戒掉奶瓶。愈早停用,愈容易戒掉。一般来说,孩子到了 18 个月大便应该完全停用奶瓶。

持续用奶瓶喝奶,会增加蛀牙和患上中耳炎的机会。孩子还会在不知不觉间多喝了奶,而影响正餐的食欲。

要成功戒用奶瓶,有什么要诀?

第一,先让孩子习惯用杯子。

第二,要做好心理准备。部分孩子在转变初期会抗拒使用杯来吃奶,哭哭啼啼地要求用奶瓶。你要坚持,不让步,切勿让他再用奶瓶喝,因为戒奶瓶是为他的长远健康着想。你可以多拥抱孩子,亲亲他和多跟他玩耍,以表示你仍然爱他,满足他情绪上的需要。

与家人商量,大家的行动要一致。因为如果家人不支持你,或采取不一致的方式处理孩子用奶瓶的要求,容易对他让步,都是戒用奶瓶失败的主要原因。

第三,要明白用杯子喝奶的分量,一般会较用奶瓶少,这是正常的。其实一岁以后,孩子每天喝 360 至 480 毫升牛奶,加上日常其他食物,便能提供所需钙质。当喝奶量减少,他便会有较佳胃口吃正餐的饭菜,不用担心他们营养不足。

一次过完全停用奶瓶一般会较为困难,逐餐停用奶瓶会较为容易:

一般来说,首先在日间停用奶瓶,孩子会较容易适应。用杯子盛载大约 120 毫升奶,让他坐起来喝。一般在数天后,他便能在日间成功停用奶瓶。接着,把这个成功的经验,逐一应用到早上及睡前的时段。

对一些长期倚赖吸吮奶瓶才能入睡的孩子,便须做好睡前常规。如果他有需要,可以在晚上及睡前,让他吃少许茶点或用杯喝奶。睡前先刷牙,到了睡觉的时候便带他上床,你可以拥抱他、唱摇篮曲或说说故事,以及跟他亲吻及说晚安,都可满足他情绪上的需要,这样他便可以安静入睡,而不用含着奶睡觉。