Can my baby learn how to walk using a baby walker?

My baby is 7 months old, I plan to teach him to walk using a baby walker. However, someone told me that it is not useful. Is it true?

In contrast to what the name suggests, baby walkers do not help in the process of learning to walk. They will decrease your baby’s desire to walk as he can move around easily. They only strengthen the muscles in the lower legs but not those of the upper legs, which are used most in walking. In fact, the American Academy of Pediatrics strongly urges parents not to use baby walkers. This is because apart from not being able to teach your baby how to walk, there is also the risk of tipping over when your baby bumps into obstacles.

How can I teach my baby to walk?

To learn how to walk, you have to let your baby learn how to balance and practice walking. Under your supervision, you can allow your baby to push a weighted “kiddie push car” or chair forward or you can hold him in the back and attract him to walk towards a toy or a person he wants.

If I am busy doing the housework and need to put my baby in the baby walker for a while, what do I need to note?

If you need to use a baby walker, you should be aware of the following points:

  1. Check the design of the baby walker. Avoid those which are easily foldable as they may hurt your baby
  2. Avoid putting your baby in the baby walker for too long
  3. Keep the baby in an area where you can observe him clearly
  4. Do not allow your baby to move too fast in the baby walker to avoid tipping over
  5. Watch out for movable objects around, your baby may move to somewhere he should not be. If your baby moves near the table and pull the table cloth, the things on the table such as hot tea or teapot may fall down and injure him.

使用学行车有助宝宝学习走路吗?

我的孩子现在七个月大,我打算放他在婴儿学行车上学走路。但有人说学行车对孩子学行没有帮助。这说法是否正确?

其实学行车叫作「坐行车」会较为适合。因为孩子在学行车内基本上是坐着,不用真正提腿走路,他们多数像撑船般躯动车子四周移动。这些撑船的动作,只能强化小腿的肌肉,但忽略了真正需要用来走路的大腿肌肉。事实上美国儿科学院亦不建议家长使用学行车,它除了不能帮助孩子学走路外,不当的使用还会引致家居意外。

怎样可帮孩子学习行路?

要学行,必须让孩子练习举步,并学习怎样平衡身体。在成人看管下,可让孩子推着负重的塑胶车或平稳的椅子前进,或由成年人从后撑扶孩子步向她喜爱的人或玩具。

如果有时正忙着做家务,要用学行车令孩子安坐车内片刻,要注意什么?

如需用学行车,家长应注意以下五点:

  1. 避免使用学行车的时间太长
  2. 要在成人的视线范围内活动,方便随时可看到他
  3. 检查学行车的构造,因为有些车子可能会容易摺叠起来,夹着孩子
  4. 不要让孩子坐学行车时走得太快,以免翻侧
  5. 留意周围有否可移动的物件,因为孩子可能走到不应碰的物件附近。如当他走到桌旁把桌布拉下,桌面的物件如暖水壶、热茶等,都会掉到孩子的头上