My child always cries in preschool, what can I do?

A two- or three- year- old child may feel anxious upon separating from his parents or main caregivers for a while or going to an unfamiliar place. A quiet and shy child usually needs more time to adapt to the new environment than an outgoing child. If he stops crying soon after you leave, you don’t need to worry.

To help your child overcome his anxiety when starting preschool and to lessen his worry on being abandoned by you, you can practice with him in advance. First, find a baby-sitter your child likes. When he is settled in an interesting activity with the baby-sitter, tell him you are going to leave for a while and say goodbye. Initially, you can leave for a few minutes and then gradually lengthen the separation time.

Whenever during practice or going to school, tell your child when you will return. For example, tell him “Mummy will return after you finish riding the trike.” You must keep your promise and come back on time to pick him up. To strengthen his sense of security, you may leave your belongings such as your scarf or photo with him and ask him to keep it for you.

Are there other ways to help my child adapting to starting preschool?

You can read or tell him stories about interesting school life, go to school with him, or visit the nursery or kindergarten with him to let him familiarize with the school environment. Talk more about the happy moments at school with your child, such as the songs he learnt, the games he played and how kind the teachers are to him. Try to keep frequent contacts with the teachers. Let them understand more about your child to facilitate the relationship between the teachers and your child. Avoid using threatening words that will arouse anxiety towards being abandoned such as “I don’t want you anymore”, “Get out of the door” or “I’ll tell your teacher to punish you”.

Some children may have temperament that makes them slow-to-warm-up or difficult to adapt to changes. If your child still cries a lot after starting preschool for some time, you may need to discuss with his teacher on how to help him further adapting to school life.

孩子上幼稚园时常常哭,怎么办?

两、三岁的小朋友要他们跟父母或者主要照顾者分开一段时间,到一个陌生的环境,一般都会因为不习惯而产生焦虑。通常愈内向的小朋友,需要适应陌生环境的时间便愈长。如果他在你走了之后,很快便停止了哭,你大可以放心。

要减轻小朋友在开学时的焦虑,令他不用担心上学时父母会丢下他不理,家长可以在开学前早些练习一下与他短暂分开。首先为小朋友选择一个他喜欢亲近的人做保姆;当他投入与保姆一起玩一些有趣的东西时,才与他说再见。初时你可以尝试离开他数分钟,然后慢慢加长时间。

无论在事前练习还是真的送他上学时,你一定要说明你在什么时候会回来。比如说:「你玩过单车后,妈妈就会回来。」你一定要遵守诺言,依时返回接他。你也可以留下你的物品,如围巾或者相片,吩咐他代你看管到你回来,这样才能够建立小朋友对你返回的信心。

其他协助孩子适应的方法

开学前可以和孩子讲讲学校的生活是怎么样的,与他模拟一下上学的情况,也可与他到学校参观,让他熟习一下学校的环境。

平日要多些跟他谈谈在学校开心的事情,如唱些什么歌、玩些什么游戏及老师有多疼惜他;要与老师多沟通,让老师对小朋友多些了解,有助建立良好的师生关系。千万不要用「不要你」、「不许你回家」或「不听话就叫老师罚你」来恐吓小朋友,令他产生被人遗弃的恐惧或者对学校反感,导致他不肯上学。家长需要考虑小朋友的脾性是否慢热及难以适应转变。如果上学已有一段日子仍经常哭,就要与老师商量一下如何帮助他适应学校生活了。