Do pregnant women need to increase their calcium intake?

Sufficient absorption of calcium during pregnancy is beneficial to the development of the baby’s bones and teeth. It also reduces the risk of gestational hypertension (i.e. hypertension during pregnancy) and premature delivery.

Do I need to take calcium supplements?

Under normal circumstances, pregnant women can obtain sufficient calcium through their diet and don’t need to take vitamins or other supplements. Too many supplements can be harmful to the body: for example, the absorption of iron may be decreased, thus increasing the risk of anemia. Excessive amounts of calcium in the body may also cause kidney stones, so pregnant women should better get the calcium they need from natural foods.

Which types of food contain higher amounts of calcium?

In general, pregnant women can obtain sufficient calcium from different types of foods. You can choose pasteurized milk, yogurt and cheese. There are also a lot of other non-dairy products which contain high levels of calcium as well, for example, tofu (hard tofu has more calcium than soft tofu), dried bean curd, calcium fortified soy milk, green leafy vegetables, fish, sesame, nuts, etc. For further details, please refer to the “Nutrition for Pregnant Women and Breastfeeding Mothers” pamphlet.

Sufficient absorption of nutrients is important for the health of fetuses and pregnant women. Pregnant women should have a balanced, healthy and diversified diet. They should consume a wide variety of foods, including grains, fruits, vegetables, protein-rich foods, dairy products, and foods rich in calcium.

Moreover, adequate sun exposure can facilitate the absorption of calcium and appropriate physical activities can strengthen your bones as well.

孕妇是否需要补钙?

怀孕期间摄取足够的钙质,不但对于婴孩的骨骼及牙齿发展有帮助,亦可减低妊娠高血压以及早产的风险。

我需要额外服用钙质补充剂?

在正常情况下,孕妇可从食物中摄取足够的钙质,并不需要额外服用维他命或营养。服食过量补充剂可能对身体有害:如会减低铁质的吸收,因而增加贫血的机会;身体含过量的钙质亦可能会引致肾结石,所以孕妇应从天然食物中摄取足够的钙质。

有什么食物的钙质含量较高?

一般来说,孕妇可从不同种类的食物中摄取足够的钙质。你可食用经巴士德高温消毒的奶、乳酪及芝士,除了奶类食品,有很多食物的钙质都很高,如豆腐或豆腐干(而硬豆腐的含钙量比软豆腐高)、加钙的豆浆、深绿色蔬菜、鱼类、芝麻、果仁等。详情请参考「怀孕期与哺乳期的营养常识」单张。

胎儿及孕妇的健康有赖吸收各种营养。孕妇在怀孕期间应以均衡、健康及多元化的饮食为基础。所以,应选择不同种类的食物,包括谷物类、蔬菜水果、蛋白质类以及乳品类、钙质丰富的食物,以确保摄取多元化及足够的营养。

此外,适量的阳光可促进钙质的吸收,而适量的体能活动亦能强化骨骼。