Ready to go - Establishing a healthy lifestyle

Transcript

Title:Ready to go - Establishing a healthy lifestyle

Establishing a healthy lifestyle

Heading: Healthy eating for 6 to 24 month old children - Ready to Go - Establishing a healthy lifestyle

Hostess(Ms Anna Wu): Parents should set a good example for children by eating a balanced diet, and limiting the consumption of foods that are high in fat, sugar or salt, such as snack foods.

Sub-heading: Limiting unhealthy snacks

Narration: Avoid stocking these snack foods at home so that children cannot get hold of them frequently. Do not soothe children with snack foods when they whine or get upset. Do not reward children for good behavior with snack foods. These actions make the snacks more desirable for children.

Sub-heading: Encouraging physical activity

Narration: Children are born active. Allowing them to play and move around is good for their mental and physical health. Limit the time that children spend in front of video screens. Parents should also make home a safe place for children to play by for example covering up the electric sockets, and placing a soft floor mat on the playing area. Take children outdoors for a daily walk. Sunlight helps ensure that both you and your child gets enough vitamin D to build strong bones.

Sub-heading: Looking after your child's teeth

Hostess(Ms Anna Wu): When children’s first molars come in, parents should brush their teeth in the morning and at night using a tooth brush with soft bristles. Use only cooled, boiled water until they can spit out the water, use a toothpaste for brushing.

Narration: Let your child sit on your lap to brush his teeth so that you can see his teeth clearly. At around 2 years old, you should teach him to learn to brush his own teeth step-by-step. To prevent dental cavities, children should avoid eating frequently. Remember to stop using a bottle by 18 months.

Hostess(Ms Anna Wu): Children between 1 to 2 years old gradually learn to eat like adults. To ensure that they get adequate and balanced nutrition, parents should give them a wide range of foods and a suitable amount of milk.

Hostess(Doctor Amy Fung): Serve children’s meals and snacks on a regular schedule. Parents should dine with their children as frequently as possible and set up mealtime routines. Remember to praise your child when he feeds himself and follows the mealtime rules. All of these actions ensure that children will not only obtain sufficient nutrients, but will also learn to eat sociably. They will be ready to enjoy eating a balanced diet and to lead an active lifestyle.

Hostess(Ms Anna Wu): After watching this programme, if you have any questions about feeding your child, please contact your family doctor or nurses.

进展篇(下) - 建立健康生活模式

剧本

标题:进展篇(下) - 建立健康生活模式

建立健康生活模式

剧目:6至24个月婴幼儿健康饮食-进展篇 (下)之建立健康生活模式

标题:建立健康生活模式

主持人胡淑娴:要孩子有健康的生活习惯的话,家长应该以身作则,保持饮食均衡。那些高糖分、高盐分、高脂肪的食物,特别是零食,应该少吃。

标题:少吃零食

旁白:家长应该避免在家里储存零食,减少孩子接触零食的机会。孩子闹别扭时,家长千万不要用零食哄他,也不应该以零食作为给孩子的奖励,这样只会使孩子养成吃零食的坏习惯。

标题:多活动身体

旁白:孩子天生好动活跃,让他们多活动身体,有助他们身心发展。家长不应该让孩子长时间看电视,也要时刻注意家居安全,比如盖好插座,在孩子活动的地方铺上柔软的垫子,好让他们安全地活动。每天带孩子到户外走动走动,晒晒太阳,有助他们的身体制造多点维生素D,强化骨骼。

标题:保持口腔卫生

主持人胡淑娴:当孩子长出第一颗臼齿后,家长就应该在早晚,用带软毛的儿童牙刷替他们刷牙。开始时,用凉开水就行了。待他们学会吐水,就可以使用牙膏。

旁白:孩子刚开始刷牙时,可以让他坐在你的大腿上,让他慢慢习惯。到了两岁以后,你可以站在孩子身旁,慢慢教他自己刷牙。要防止蛀牙,饮食要定时,避免吃得太频密。另外,应该在孩子18个月大之前完全停用奶瓶。

主持人胡淑娴:一至两岁孩子的饮食模式渐渐跟成人接近,家长应该为他们安排多元化,健康的食物,以及适当分量的奶,使他们得到足够的营养。

主持人冯慧娴医生:同时,家长应该定时提供正餐和茶点,多跟孩子一起吃饭,并订下进餐的规则。当他们表现合作,又或愿意自己吃,你要称赞他,鼓励他。这样做,孩子不但可以得到足够的营养,学会乖乖的吃饭,并且能够建立多元化的饮食习惯,为他们的长远健康打好基础。

主持人胡淑娴:看过本节目后,如果你对一岁以上孩子的饮食有任何疑问,可以询问你的家庭医生或者其他医护人员。