Information to Antenatal Clients

Transcript

Title:Information on antenatal care for pregnant women

Programme: Information on antenatal care for pregnant women

Narrator: Hi! Thank you for watching ‘Information for pregnant women attending antenatal visits at the Maternal and Child Health Centres’ produced by the Department of Health

Heading: ‘Information for pregnant women attending antenatal visits at the Maternal and Child Health Centres’ produced by the Department of Health

Narrator: In this session, we will provide information about antenatal checkup procedures at MCHCs, points to note during checkups, application for sick leave certificate, health talks, warning signs during pregnancy, and the prevention of infectious diseases.

Heading: Shared-care programme by MCHCs and hospitals

Narrator: To ensure you are receiving proper care, the Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology of the HA hospitals and the Maternal and Child Health Centres of the Department of Health join hands to provide antenatal checkups and health care services throughout your pregnancy and during delivery. MCHCs offer free checkups for Hong Kong residents. Generally, pregnant women will receive follow-up care at a MCHC after having been assessed at the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology of an HA hospital or the MCHC. For high-risk cases like those who have twin pregnancy, diabetes or other obstetric complications, will receive follow-up care at the hospital. While receiving antenatal care at MCHC, pregnant women may also be transferred back to the hospital for follow-up care if necessary.

Heading: Antenatal checkup procedure
Heading: First antenatal checkup

Narrator: If you have not registered your pregnancy at the Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology of an HA hospital, you will have your first checkup scheduled during the 10th - 14th week of pregnancy. At your first checkup, the nurse will obtain your personal information, such as your health status and that of your family as well as your obstetric history. This information help us better comprehend your health status so that we can arrange the best appropriate care for you promptly.

The nurse will also assess the health status of you and your foetus, measure your body height and body weight, test your urine sample and measure your blood pressure.

The doctor will then perform a physical examination which includes examination of the heart, lungs and abdomen. A gynaecological examination will also be performed if necessary. If you are at 12 weeks of pregnancy or more, the doctor will also check the foetal heartbeat.

Heading: Blood Test

Narrator: A blood sample will be taken at your first antenatal checkup. A blood test includes blood type, Rhesus factor, haemoglobin level, mean cell volume, rubella antibodies, hepatitis B antigens, syphilis and HIV antibodies. For more information, you may also refer to the 'Antenatal Blood Investigations' information leaflet. If you already have undergone a checkup and have a blood sample taken at the Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology of an HA hospital, you won’t need another blood sample test or see the doctor at the MCHC.

Heading: Number of subsequent follow-ups

Narrator: Under normal circumstances, subsequent follow-ups are carried out once every 4 to 6 weeks before the 28th week of pregnancy; once every 2 to 4 weeks for pregnancies at 28 to 36 weeks; and once every 1 to 2 weeks for pregnancies after 36 weeks. The Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology of an HA hospital or the MCHC may make other appropriate arrangements base on individual health conditions.

Heading: Subsequent follow-ups

Narrator: At each checkup, health care professionals will assess your health status, including weight gain, blood pressure, urine test for glucose or sugar and protein. The nurse or midwife will also examine your uterus and monitor the foetal heartbeat. For pregnancies at 32 weeks or after, the foetal position will also be examined.

If necessary, you will be arranged to see the doctor. If physical examination is normal, the antenatal checkup procedure is completed. Finally, the nurse will arrange the next follow-up for you. Don’t forget your follow-up card before you leave.

Heading: Subsequent follow-up memo

Narrator: Make sure to visit the MCHC on schedule with your follow-up card and the urine sample. If you have been given the antenatal record, bring that along as well.

Heading: Request for a certificate

Narrator: The Employment Ordinance stipulates that absence from work for antenatal checkups shall be a sickness day. You may apply for either a certificate of attendance or a sick leave certificate from the doctor, whichever is appropriate. Please note that a certificate of attendance may not be accepted by some employers as a proof for a sick leave. Some employers only accept sick leave certificates. Therefore, you need to check with your employer about their policy beforehand. An administrative fee will be charged for requesting certificate of attendance or a sick leave certificate subsequently on days other than on the day you receive the service. If your company requires a certificate for the expected date of delivery, please inform the nurse during the antenatal visits.

Heading: Antenatal checkup (Warm reminder)
Heading: Measurement of body weight and blood pressure

Narrator: Let’s talk about the key points on measuring body weight and blood pressure.

A pregnant woman’s body weight reflects both the health status of the mother and the foetus and therefore body weight is required to be measured at every checkup. To ensure accuracy, you are advised to wear similar clothing in terms of thickness and number of pieces at every visit. In cold weather, take off your coat before having your body weight measured. Your blood pressure will also be measured at every visit. Wear wide sleeves clothing so that you can roll up your sleeves for an accurate blood pressure measurement.

Heading: Purpose of a urine test

Narrator: Antenatal checkup also includes a urine test. By checking for glucose and protein in the urine, health problems such as diabetes or pre-eclampsia, during pregnancy, can be identified promptly. This enables an arrangement of early follow up and management.

Heading: Collection of urine sample – Container

Narrator: To collect a urine sample, you need a clean bottle. A wide-mouth bottle is the best choice because you can urinate directly into the bottle. If you use a bottle with a small opening, you may urinate into a disposable paper cup and then pour the urine into the bottle. The bottle cap should be tightly closed to prevent leakage.

Heading: Urine collection – time

Narrator: A urine sample should be collected in the early morning. Fully release the first early morning urine immediately after getting out of bed, then drink some water and collect a sample of the second urine before you have a breakfast.

Heading: Collection of urine sample - The importance of cleaning the genitals

Narrator: Have you ever heard of proteinuria? Proteinuria is the presence of protein in the urine. A number of factors will cause proteinuria. Improper urine sample collection is the most common cause. For example, a urine sample contaminated with vaginal secretions reduces the accuracy of the test result, and this will make the health care professionals unable to accurately assess your health status. As a urinary tract infection and pre-eclampsia may also cause proteinuria, it is important that you cleanse your genitals thoroughly before collecting the urine sample. Let’s watch the demonstration of cleaning of genitals.

Heading: Collection of urine sample – Steps

Backdrop: A nurse demonstrates how to cleanse the genitals, using a model

Narrator: Clean your vulva with a wet cotton wool pad or tissue paper to remove any vaginal discharge. Wipe from front to rear. Each wipe should be done with a new wet cotton wool pad or tissue paper.

Narrator: When collecting the urine sample, omit the first and last part of your urine flow, try to catch the mid-stream urine and keep in a container. This helps minimise the likelihood of proteinuria in the test result because of presence of vaginal secretions in the urine sample.

Heading: Gestational diabetes mellitus

Narrator: Perhaps you may ask whether the presence of glucose in urine indicates gestational diabetes mellitus. In fact, it is normal that a pregnant woman’s urine contains a small amount of glucose due to hormonal changes during pregnancy. In this case, the doctor may require a blood sample for an accurate diagnosis.

Generally, pregnant women with high-risk factors for gestational diabetes mellitus will need a blood glucose test. Risk factors include history of diabetes in first degree relatives, aged 35 or over, overweight or history of gestational diabetes mellitus, or having given birth to a baby of 4 kg or above. These pregnant women will have a higher chance of gestational diabetes mellitus. The health care professionals will decide when a pregnant woman should undergo such a test.

Pregnant women diagnosed with gestational diabetes mellitus are required to adhere to appropriate dietary control. Some of them may also need medications. Serious health problems such as hypertension or preterm labour may result if appropriate treatment is not received promptly.

Heading: Warning signs during pregnancy

Heading: Early gestation

Narrator: Perhaps you would like to know how to deal with warning signs during pregnancy. Vaginal bleeding or lower abdominal pain in early pregnancy may be an early sign of an abortion, which is also known as threatened abortion. Miscarriages, ectopic pregnancies and molar pregnancies, however, have similar symptoms. Be careful if you have these symptoms and seek medical advice promptly.

Heading: Mid- and late-pregnancy

Narrator: If you have vaginal bleeding during mid- or late pregnancy, that is, after the 24th week of pregnancy, it is referred as antepartum bleeding. It may be due to placenta praevia, accidental bleeding or other non-placental problems. If bleeding occur in areas connecting the placenta and the uterus, this may harm the foetus due to insufficient oxygen supply leading to reduced blood flow to the placenta. Seek medical advice promptly if bleeding occurs.

Pre-eclampsia can occur during the mid- or late pregnancy period. Protein in the urine and high blood pressure may be detected during the checkups. Severe headaches, swelling of the feet or blurred vision may also occur. As pre-eclampsia can seriously affect the health of both the mother and the baby, you should seek medical advice promptly if you develop any of these symptoms.

Generally, first time mothers may feel the baby move during the 20th week. A baby’s movements may start at around the 18th week for those who are pregnant for the second time or more. Movements happen more often as the baby grows. After 28 weeks, if you feel that the baby’s movement decreases significantly, seek medical advice promptly.

Heading: Signs of labour contractions

Narrator: What are labour contractions? Signs of labour contractions include labour pains, vaginal bleeding and ruptured membranes.

Labour pain refers to persistent abdominal pains that become more regular, stronger in intensity and increasingly at shorter intervals. Vaginal bleeding refers to blood-stained fluids coming out of the vagina

Water breaks means amniotic fluid leaks from the amnion which surrounds the baby. Fluid may come out of the vagina gradually, in a large amount or scantily. When the amnion is ruptured, the bacteria can enter the uterus and cause an infection to the baby. If a large amount of amniotic fluid is leaking there is possibility of umbilical cord compression by the foetal head. In this case, it is life threatening to the baby. If this happens, the pregnant woman should immediately sit or lie down still and stay calm. She should be sent to the hospital promptly in an ambulance.

Heading: Management on pregnancy warning signs and labour contractions?

Narrator: In conclusion, if you have come across any warning signs during pregnancy, please go to the A & E Department or see an Obstetrician promptly. Do not go to a MCHC because they don’t have the appropriate facilities to handle such emergencies. Never wait until the next visit to the MCHC because it will cause a delay for treatment. If it is close to the expected date of delivery, go directly to the admission ward or labour ward if you have any signs of labour contractions.

Heading: What pregnant women should do to prevent infectious diseases

Narrator: Pregnant women should protect themselves against infectious diseases such as rubella, chickenpox and the fifth disease. These diseases are highly infectious and are transmitted by droplets from an infected person or through direct contact with an infected person’s secretions. A mother who was infected with these diseases during pregnancy will have adverse impact on the foetal health. For example, congenital abnormalities such as deafness, blindness or mental retardation will result. In the worst scenario, this may lead to foetal death. In fact, almost all women develop lifelong immunity after the infection or vaccination in the childhood. So, please relax!

The symptoms of these infectious diseases are usually mild and alike. Patients usually present with mild fever, fatigue and rashes. If you have influenza, a cold or generalised discomfort, please visit a general out-patient clinic or consult your family doctor. Never take medications without a doctor’s advice.

Heading: Prevention of infectious diseases

Narrator: Prevention is better than cure. It is important to maintain personal hygiene. Wash your hands frequently, cover your mouth and nose with tissue paper when sneezing or coughing. Dispose tissue paper soiled with secretions from the mouth and nose properly in a lidded rubbish bin. Keep your home clean with good ventilation. Avoid going to crowded or poorly ventilated public places. This helps reduce the chance of infection.

A balanced diet and adequate physical activities are also important. All these things will enhance your immunity.

Heading: History of contact with suspected or confirmed infected persons

Narrator: If you have a history of contact with an infected person or if you have symptoms like fever, fatigue or rashes, please visit a general out-patient clinic, the private doctor’s clinic or the A & E department. To prevent cross infection to other pregnant women, do not visit MCHC. If you have queries, please call the MCHC or the Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology of the hospital so that appropriate arrangement can be made prior to the consultation.

Heading: Enquiries

Narrator: If you have queries, please feel free to enquire the MCHC or with other health care professionals

Heading: Other information

For more health information, please call the 24-Hour Information Hotline at 2112 9900, or visit the website at www.fhs.gov.hk of Family Health Service of the Department of Health.

产前检查须知

剧本

标题:产前检查须知

剧目:产前检查须知

各位准母亲,你们好,欢迎你们收看卫生署母婴健康院产前检查须知这段短片。

标题:卫生署母婴健康院产前检查须知

以下的时间,我会为你们介绍健康院产前检查的程序,检查时要注意的地方。怀孕期间申请病假证明、健康讲座信息、怀孕期的异常情况,还有预防传染病的资料。

标题:健康院与医院共同跟进

为妥善照顾孕妇整个怀孕和生产过程,医院管理局产科医院会与卫生署母婴健康院合作,一起提供产前检查和护理。香港居民在健康院做产前检查是不用收费的。

孕妇经医院产科或母婴健康院医生评估后,在一般情况下,会由母婴健康院跟进检查。如果孕妇有高危情况,例如双胞胎、糖尿病或者妊娠并发症等,就由医院跟进。在母婴健康院覆诊期间,如有需要,孕妇可能被转介到医院跟进。

标题:产前检查的程序 首次的产前检查

如果你这胎没有去过医管局产科登记,通常会安排在10-14周做首次产前检查。检查时,护士会询问你一些个人资料,包括你和家人的健康状况、和以往的生产纪录。这些资料可以帮助我们了解你的健康情况,以便因应你的需要及早安排最合适的护理。

护士也会评估你和胎儿的健康状况,我们会为你量度身高、体重、检验尿液和量血压。

医生会为你做身体检查,包括心脏、肺部、腹部等,如有需要会做妇科检查。另外,如果你已经怀孕12周或以上,医生会为你检查胎儿心跳声。

标题:血液检查

在首次产前检查,我们会为你做血液检验。产前血液检验包括血型、Rh因子、血色素和平均红血球容积、德国麻疹抗体、乙型肝炎抗原、梅毒测试和艾滋病病毒抗体测试。如果想知道多些有关资讯,你可以参考 “产前血液检验须知” 资料单张。

如果已经在医管局产科抽取血液,和已经完成产前检查,就没有需要在健康院再抽取血液,和不一定要看医生。

标题:覆诊次数

覆诊方面,通常在怀孕28周之前,每四至六星期检查一次,28至36周期间,每两至四个星期检查一次,36周后每一至两个星期检查一次。医院产科和母婴健康院会因应个别情况而作出适当的安排。

标题:覆诊检查

每次覆诊,医护人员会为你评估身体状况,包括体重增长、血压、糖尿和蛋白尿,护士也会为你检查子宫大小和 探测胎儿心跳声。在32周后,会为你检查胎儿位置。

如果有需要,就会安排你看医生。如果检查结果正常,那么,整个覆诊检查就完成。最后,护士会安排你去预约下次覆诊的日期,离开的时候记紧带走覆诊卡。

标题:覆诊备忘录

每次覆诊都要按照预约的时段回来,带同覆诊咭和尿液样本。如果护士已经给你产前记录作保存的话,你都要带回覆诊。

标题:索取证明文件

根据雇佣条例,因为产前检查而不能上班,是可以当作病假处理的。产前检查时,你可根据你的需要,向医生申请到诊证明书或者病假证明书,但不是所有雇主都接受到诊证明书来批准病假;有些雇主只接受病假证明书,所以紧记跟雇主了解有关病假批准的要求。如果覆诊之后才补领的话,是要收费的。还有,如果公司需要预产期证明,你都可以向护士提出。

标题:产前检查(温馨提示) 磅体重及量血压

现在让我谈谈量度体重和量度血压时要注意的地方吧。由于孕妇的体重增长可以反映孕妇和胎儿的健康状况,所以每次回来检查都需要量体重。孕妇最好每次穿着厚薄,和数量相约的衣服。如果天气寒冷,量体重时你可把外套脫下。那么,便不会影响你量度出来的体重。另外每次覆诊也会量血压,如果你穿长袖衣服,最好穿一些袖口宽阔,可以卷起衣袖的衣服,这样,便可以准确量度出你的血压。

标题:尿液测试目的

产前检查也包括尿液测试,目的是要检验尿液之中是否有糖分和蛋白,以便及早发现孕妇有没有妊娠期间的健康问题,例如糖尿病或者妊娠毒血症。那么我们就能及早为你作出跟进和处理。

标题:留取尿液 - 容器

接着,我会跟你谈谈如何留取尿液样本,首先要预备一个干净的小瓶子,瓶口最好阔些,因为可以把尿液直接留入瓶子里。如果瓶口不够宽阔,就要用即弃纸杯盛载小便,然后再倒进瓶子里,紧记扭紧瓶盖,以防渗漏。留取尿液样本要在早晨起床后,先排清第一次小便,然后只喝清水,待第二次小便时才留取样本。然后便可以吃早点。

标题:留取尿液 - 清洁阴部的重要性

大家有没有听过蛋白尿?即是尿液里面发现有蛋白的情况。出现蛋白尿的原因有很多,最常见的是留取尿液样本的方法不正确,例如留取尿液的时候混入了阴道分泌物,影响了测试结果,令医护人员不能正确评估孕妇的健康状况,因为蛋白尿的真正原因可以是尿道感染或者是妊娠毒血症等。

标题:留取尿液 - 步骤

所以,大家要紧记,留取尿液样本之前,首先要清洁阴部。现在我们一齐看看清洁阴部的示范片段吧!

场景:护士以一个模型示范怎样清洁阴部。

影片:清洁的方法是用湿绵花方块或纸巾抹干净外阴,抹的时候留意要前面抹去后面。一块绵花或纸巾只用一次,把阴部分泌物抹干净为止。

留取尿液样本时,前段和后段的尿液不用留取,只需要留取中段的小便。那就可以减低因阴道分泌物混入尿液里而验出蛋白尿的情况。

标题:妊娠糖尿病

你们或者会问如果尿液里面有糖分,是否即患上妊娠糖尿病?其实孕妇的身体受到荷尔蒙影响,即使在正常的情况下,孕妇的尿液可能有一点糖分,不一定是患上糖尿病。这个情况,在医生评估后,可能需要抽血。一般来说,如果孕妇有妊娠糖尿病高危因素的话,就需要接受血糖测试。高危因素包括有直系亲属患有糖尿病,年龄超过35岁、过胖,以前曾经有妊娠糖尿病,和曾经诞下4公斤或者以上的婴儿,患上妊娠糖尿病的机会就会较高。至于在怀孕多少周才需要进行测试,就要由医护人员安排。

如果孕妇患上妊娠糖尿病,就要适当地控制饮食,有少数孕妇还可能需要用药物治疗。如果缺乏适当的治疗,那么对孕妇和胎儿的健康会造成严重影响,例如高血压或者早产。

标题:怀孕期异常情况 怀孕早期

如果怀孕早期有阴道流血或下腹痛的征状,可能是先兆流产。而流产、宫外孕或者葡萄胎都有这些征状,所以如果有这些情况出现,就千万不要掉以轻心,要尽早求医。

标题:怀孕中、后期

如果在怀孕中或者后期,即24周之后有阴道出血,就是产前出血。成因可以是胎盘前置、意外出血或者胎盘以外的原因。因为这些出血的位置有机会在胎盘和子宫连接的地方,如果供应胎盘的血液减少,胎儿就会因为缺氧而受到损害。在任何情况下,孕妇如果发现有出血现象,都必须尽快请教医生。

另外,妊娠毒血症患者在怀孕中或者后期,临床检查时,可能发现有蛋白尿、高血压的情况,什至有剧烈头痛、严重脚肿或者视力模糊。因为这个病症可能会严重影响孕妇和胎儿的健康,所以如果出现以上的征状,就要尽快看求医。

一般初次怀孕的妇女,到了怀孕期第20周,就会感觉到胎动,而怀有第二胎或以上的妇女就会在大约18周后就会感到胎动,随着胎儿成长,逐渐感到胎动频密。大约28周后,如果感觉胎动有显著减少,就要尽快看医生或需入院作进一步检查。

标题:作动征兆

至于什么是作动呢?作动的征兆就包括阵痛、见红和穿羊水。

阵痛是指持续性,并且有规律的腹痛,而这种腹痛会越来越痛,越痛越密。

见红即是有一些黏有少量血液的阴道分泌液从阴道流出。

穿羊水是指包裹胎儿的羊膜穿了,胎水流出体外,孕妇会感觉到有些水份从阴部流出,程度可能是大量流出或慢慢渗漏。穿羊水后细菌会从穿破的羊膜,进入子宫里面,令胎儿受到感染。万一有大量胎水流出,脐带就有机会被胎儿头部压着,那样便会对胎儿造成危险。孕妇最好立即坐下或者躺下,不要动,保持镇定,并且尽快叫唤救护车去急症室。

标题:异常情况/作动的处理

总括而言,如果遇到以上任何异常情况,应尽快到急症室或者找产科医生。不要返回健康院,因为健康院是没有足够设施处理这些紧急情况的,也千万不要等到覆诊日期才返健康院检查,因为这样是会延误诊治的。如果已经接近预产期,有任何一个作动征兆出现,就要直接前往医院产前收症室或者产房。

标题:孕妇预防传染病须知

关于传染病方面,孕妇就要留意德国麻疹、水痘和第五病,因为这些都同样是一些通过飞沫或者直接接触患者分泌物而感染到的传染病。传染性颇高。如果孕妇受到感染,就有可能影响胎儿健康,什至会引致胎儿患上先天性缺陷,例如失聪、失明、智力迟缓,严重的话,更可能会引致胎儿死亡。话虽如此,其实大部分妇女都可能已在年幼时,染上过这些疾病或者曾经接受过防疫注射,身体己经产生了免疫力,不会再受感染。所以也不用太过担心!

以上介绍过的传染病病征,大致上都很温和,也有相似的地方,例如会轻微发烧,疲倦和出疹。所以,如果患有伤风感冒,或者感觉身体不适,就紧记要到普通科门诊或者向家庭医生求医,不要随便擅自用药。

标题:预防传染病

其实预防胜于治疗,我们最要紧注意个人卫生,平日要勤洗手。打喷嚏或咳嗽时要用纸巾掩住口鼻,妥善清理口鼻排出的分泌物。用完的纸巾就应该掉进有盖的垃圾箱里面。家里就要保持环境清洁和空气流通。外出时就应该避免到人多挤廹或者空气污浊的地方。这样就能减低感染疾病的机会。还要有均衡饮食和有适量运动,那就可以增强抵抗力。

标题:曾经接触过患者/怀疑患病

如果孕妇曾经接触过患者或者发现自己有以上病征,例如发烧,疲倦和出疹。就应该到普通科门诊、私家诊所或者急症室求医。千万不要在产前检查时段内回来健康院,以免把疾病传染给其他孕妇。如果有疑问,你可以致电到健康院、医院产科查询,并且在求诊前先致电有关医护人员作特别安排。

标题:咨询

如果你还有任何疑问,欢迎你向母婴健康院或者其他医护人员查询。

标题:其他信息

如果想知道多些健康信息,你可以致电卫生署家庭健康服务24小时资讯热线,电话是:2112 9900,又或者登入卫生署家庭健康服务网页浏览,网址是www.fhs.gov.hk。