An Employee’s Guide - to Combining Breastfeeding with Work

The health benefits of breastfeeding on babies and mothers are well established. The longer babies are breastfed, the more health benefits mothers and their babies will have. According to the World Health Organization’s recommendation, babies should be breastfed exclusively in the first six months and continue to be breastfed until two years or above while solid food is being introduced to their diet. Making breastfeeding compatible with work is a real challenge for working mothers. Nevertheless, returning to work would not be a barrier

Getting Support from the Management and Coworkers

When to Express Your Wish?

  1. During pregnancy and before maternity leave starts

    Discuss with the Management about the importance of breastfeeding and your intention to continue breastfeeding after returning to work. Communicate clearly the specific support you need that enables you to express breastmilk at work. This will facilitate the management to make a better work arrangement for you and better preparation for the workplace.

  2. After returning to work

    Show your appreciation to the management and coworkers for their support to your breastfeeding. Keep your promises about the work arrangement, lactation breaks, use of breast milk expression area and milk storage facility. Talk to your coworkers to understand their con- cerns and work together to find solutions.

How to Communicate with the Management about Your Wish to Continue Breastfeeding after Returning to Work

  1. Express your gratitude to the management’s support at work

  2. Stress the importance of breastfeeding and your decision to breastfeed

    e.g. “After speaking with my doctor and other health professionals, I have made the decision to breastfeed as it can provide the best nutrition and protection to my baby. Moreover, my doctor tells me that breast- feeding is important in preventing many illnesses and diseases for both my baby and me.”

  3. Communicate your specific needs

    e.g. “For me to continue breastfeeding while at work, I hope that the company can provide me with the following supportive arrangements:

    • Flexible lactation breaks to express milk.

      Generally, I need about two lactation breaks, each lasts for thirty minutes, in a working day. If an extra lactation break is required, I will make use of my non-office hours (e.g. before starting work, lunch time, after office hours);

    • A private space (e.g. an unoccupied conference room or a cur-tained cubicle) with a chair, a table and an electric outlet for operating a breastmilk pump; and
    • A refrigerator for keeping the expressed breastmilk. (the refrigerator in the pantry will do.)”
  4. Discuss possible options of work arrangement

    e.g. “I would like to work with you in making preparations and finding options that will enable me to continue breastfeeding with minimum work disturbance.”

Practical Tips and Reminders

  1. Gain support from your family

    Discuss your decision to breastfeed with your partner and family, and seek their support and cooperation. Your family can feed the baby with your expressed breastmilk while you are away. Remind your family to pay attention to the baby’s signs of hunger and fullness and not to over-feed. If a baby is overfed when the mother at work, the desire to direct breastfeeding will be reduced when a mother returns home.

  2. Keep up the milk supply for your baby’s need

    The production of breastmilk depends on the baby’s demand. The more you breastfeed your baby, the more milk you will produce. Frequent direct breastfeeding according to your baby’s demands can help you produce sufficient milk for him. If you cannot directly breastfeed your baby, a regular removal of breastmilk every three to four hours by expression is necessary to maintain the milk production. You can get familiar with the techniques to express milk by hand or by pump by referring to the resources on the Department of Health website (www.fhs.gov.hk).

  3. Prepare the equipment: a manual or an electric milk pump, milk bottles or bags and a cooler with ice pack

    Get hold of the equipment required for milk expression and storage before you return to work. Make sure all the utensils are properly cleansed before use.

  4. Gear up two weeks ahead of returning to work

    Practice makes perfect. The more you practise, the sooner you will get hold of the techniques of breastmilk expression, and the fewer hiccups you will encounter. About two weeks before returning to work, you can gradually adjust the schedule of breastmilk expression to simulate the lactation breaks at work. You may also keep some expressed milk for backup reserve. Usually a day or two’s worth of breastmilk, stored in small increments that the baby eats, is adequate for the stash.

  5. Strike a balance between work and breastfeeding

    Breastfeed your baby before you leave home. At work, express milk regularly and store it properly. Then, enjoy directly breastfeeding your baby as soon as you arrive home from work. During the weekends and days off breastfeed your baby directly without restrictions.

  6. What can I do if I need to express more frequently at work?

    Initially, some mothers may need more frequent and longer breaks for expression because, for example, it needs time for them to get used to expressing milk in the new environment. In that case, you may use your non-working time, e.g. lunch hour, time before starting or after work, for milk expression. Nevertheless, if you need very frequent milk expression, you may have breastfeeding problems such as ineffective expression or overproduction of breastmilk. You should seek professional advice.

Breastfeeding Resources of the Department of Health

If you want to know more about breastfeeding, you may:

Information from Unicef

Working mothers can also sustain breastfeeding.

Hear more stories about breastfeeding at work.

www.SayYesToBreastfeeding.hk

Contact us to learn more

Tel: 2833 6139

E-mail: bf@unicef.org.hk

#SayYesToBreastfeeding

(Content revised 03/2016)

僱員指引 - 母乳餵哺與工作相容

母乳餵哺對母親及寶寶的好處良多,不容置疑,寶寶多吃一天母乳,對雙方健康就會多一些好處。根據世界衞生組織建議,寶寶出生後首六個月應以全母乳餵哺,到大約六個月起便逐漸引進適當的固體食物,並持續餵哺母乳至兩歲或以上。在職媽媽要做到母乳餵哺與工作相容,確是一項挑戰,若你在產假前準備充足,返回工作崗位亦將不會成為餵哺母乳的障礙。

尋求主管及同事支持

何時表達你的意願?

  1. 懷孕期間及產假前

    跟主管好好溝通,說明母乳餵哺如何重要,以及你重返工作崗位後,繼續餵哺母乳的意願。你需要清楚表達,在工作間擠母乳所需的具體支援,以便管理層為你安排更合適的工作,並把工作間準備好。

  2. 重回工作崗位後

    對主管及同事支持你餵哺母乳表示感激。履行在產假前跟主管定下的工作安排,遵循使用授乳時段、授乳地方及儲存母乳設施的承諾。多與同事溝通,了解他們的憂慮,一起解決問題。

如何與主管溝通你重返工作崗位後繼續餵哺母乳的需要?

  1. 對主管在工作上的支援,表示感激

  2. 強調母乳餵哺如何重要以及你決定選擇餵哺母乳

    例子:「跟醫生及其他醫護人員商討後,我已決定餵哺母乳,因為母乳能為寶寶提供最佳的營養及保護。此外,醫生告訴我,母乳餵哺能為我及寶寶預防多種疾病。」

  3. 表達具體需要

    例子:「為了可以在上班時繼續餵哺母乳,我有幾項基本需要:

    • 彈性授乳時段擠母乳

      在一般情況下,每個工作天我需要大概兩次授乳時段,每次約三十分鐘。如需要額外授乳時段,我會利用非辦公時間(例如:開始辦公前、午飯、辦公時間過後);

    • 一個設有座椅、桌子、電插座(連接泵奶器)以及具私隱的空間(例如:閒置的會議室或裝有簾子的空間);及
    • 保存母乳的雪櫃(茶水間的雪櫃便可)。」
  4. 商討可行的工作安排

    例子:「我想跟你商量如何準備和找出可行的安排,讓我可在對工作影響最小的情況下,繼續餵哺母乳。」

實用「貼士」及提示

  1. 獲取家人支持

    與伴侶、家人商量你選擇餵哺母乳的決定,尋求他們支持和配合。當媽媽不在家的時候,家人可用你擠出來的母乳餵哺孩子。提醒家人留意寶寶的飽餓信號,不要過度餵食。若日間吃得過量,便會減低寶寶在晚上、媽媽回家後,直接吸吮母乳的意欲,媽媽的奶量便可能因此而減少。

  2. 持續製造母乳,滿足寶寶的需要

    母乳是按寶寶需求而製造,愈是勤於餵哺,造奶量亦越多。媽媽按寶寶的需求,以全母乳直接頻密餵哺,有助維持充足的母乳產量。如果你沒法直接餵哺寶寶,便需要有規律地每隔三至四小時擠母乳。學習用手或使用泵奶器擠母乳的技巧,可參考衞生署網頁提供的母乳餵哺資源www.fhs.gov.hk

  3. 準備用具:手動或電動泵奶器、奶瓶或奶袋、冰袋及冰種

    你必須在重返工作崗位之前,準備好泵和儲存母乳的用具。使用所有用具前,正確地清洗和保持清潔。

  4. 重返工作崗位前作好準備

    熟能生巧,媽媽能熟習擠奶技巧,將遇到的問題亦會愈少。在重返工作崗位前的兩周,你可開始擠奶,並逐步調節擠奶的時間,配合上班時的擠奶次數。你亦可儲備一些母乳,一般而言,儲存寶寶一至兩天所需的母乳已可應付不時之需。

  5. 平衡工作及母乳餵哺

    早上離家前先直接餵哺寶寶,上班時間定時擠母乳,並妥善存放。下班回家後便盡快直接餵哺寶寶,周末及休假時則按寶寶需要、沒有限制地直接餵哺。

  6. 如我需在上班時較頻密地擠母乳,可怎樣處理?

    有些媽媽在返回工作崗位後,需要較頻密和較長的時間來擠母乳,其中一個例子是因為她們尚未適應在一個新環境擠母乳。如遇到這情況,可利用非辦公時間(例如:午飯、辦公前或後的時間)來擠母乳。不過,如果你需要十分頻密地擠母乳,可能是在母乳餵哺上出現問題,例如擠母乳技巧不正確或產奶過多等。你應向醫護人員尋求專業意見,以免影響持續餵哺母乳。

衞生署母乳餵哺資源

如想知道更多母乳餵哺資訊,你可以:

資料由聯合國兒童基金會提供

職場女性都可

兼顧事業發展和母乳育嬰。

聆聽職場 母乳育嬰分享

www.SayYesToBreastfeeding.hk

聯絡我們 了解更多

電話: 2833 6139

電郵: bf@unicef.org.hk

母乳育嬰齊和應

(03/2016 修訂內容)