Guide to Establishing Breastfeeding Friendly Premises

Creating a Breastfeeding Friendly Environment for Mothers and Babies

The benefits of breastfeeding on babies, mothers and the community are well known. The longer babies are breastfed, the more health benefits mothers and their babies will have. Hence, nowadays, most mothers want to breastfeed their babies for as long as circumstances allow. Every so often, breastfeeding mothers go out with their children visiting shopping malls, restaurants, café and leisure facilities; and using the public transport system. There is often a need to directly breastfeed their children in these public places. While most of their experiences are positive, mothers have spotted room for improvement in staff attitude and facilities in some premises. The more supportive is the community, including public premises being breastfeeding friendly, the longer mothers are enabled to breastfeed and the more healthy children will become.

What is "Breastfeeding Friendly Premises"?

According to a survey conducted by the Department of Health in 2013, almost 60% of mothers had directly breastfed in public so as to appropriately respond to their babies’ needs. In addition, among mothers who had never breastfed in public, a half expressed their wish to do so.

"Breastfeeding Friendly Premises" is a place where breastfeeding mothers and their families feel welcome and are supported to breastfeed anytime, anywhere. The following are recommended supportive measures to be adopted by staff:

  • Respect the mother’s freedom to choose where to breastfeed;
  • Do not disturb a mother who is breastfeeding, e.g. do not ask her to cover up, stop, or move to another area;
  • Offer an appropriate location to a mother who wishes for more privacy to breastfeed, as far as practicable, e.g. a secluded seat that is away from the entrance;
  • Be supportive of the needs of breastfeeding mothers and babies, e.g. explain to other customers about the situation.

It is inappropriate to ask mothers to breastfeed their babies in toilets!!

What are the Benefits to Corporate/ Business by Establishing "Breastfeeding Friendly Premises"?

Making your premises breastfeeding friendly is a quality customer service that improves corporate image and gains public recognition. Other customers will also be impressed by the staff's friendly and helpful attitude to breastfeeding mothers and their families. Good news travels fast. The business will be freely publicised through mothers’ word-of-mouth recommendations among their families and friends.

Frequently Asked Questions

Question 1: Will establishing a "Breastfeeding Friendly Premises" hugely increase our operating costs?

Answer 1: No.There is no direct financial cost in making your public premises breastfeeding friendly. Most mothers simply wish to have an environment that makes them feel comfortable when breastfeeding. The friendly and supportive attitude of staff and other customers are what mothers are looking for.

Question 2: Do we have to provide a room for the breastfeeding mother?

Answer 2: Not a must.A room for breastfeeding would be ideal. If space is available to provide a babycare room, you may take reference to the practice note, "Provision of Babycare Rooms in Commercial Buildings", issued by the Buildings Department for the recommended facilities at http://www.bd.gov.hk/english/documents/pnap/ADV/ADV032.pdf.

If a room is unavailable, you may arrange a place with more privacy, or have some handy information on nearby breastfeeding facilities for use by mothers in need. In fact, many breastfeeding mothers wish to continue their social activities while breastfeeding, e.g. dinning with families, chatting with friends, so special arrangements for breastfeeding mothers are actually not required. The most important thing is to respect the mother’s freedom to choose where to breastfeed.

Question 3: How to handle the situation where other customers are concerned about seeing a mother breastfeeding?

Answer 3: Customers usually do not have concerns about seeing a mother breastfeed. Staff may explain to the concerned customers that breastfeeding is a natural way to feed a baby. When a child is hungry, the mother needs to respond to his need. If necessary, you may offer the customer a seat away from the breastfeeding mother to avoid the embarrassment, or seek help from a more experienced staff to handle the situation.

Let’s get started.Support breastfeeding by makingyour premises breastfeeding friendly now!

  • Step 1

    Develop a written organisation policy on "Breastfeeding Friendly Premises", which will enhance communication among staff and customers, and align practices. Please see the sample policy for reference.

  • Step 2

    Identify areas with more privacy in the premises for mothers who wish to breastfeed in private and make these areas known to all staff.

  • Step 3

    Staff orientation is the key to successful implementation of breastfeeding friendly measures. Communicate to each member of the staff about the organisation's policy and practices of breastfeeding friendly premises. Make sure the staff is familiarised with the policy, know of the areas with more privacy, and confident in managing the common scenarios.

  • Step 4

    Publicising your breastfeeding friendly premises will enable breastfeeding mothers to find and use it when needed. Also, other customers will be aware that mothers are welcome to breastfeed anywhere at the premises. You may publicise by different means, e.g. announcing it at your organisation’s website or social media, and/ or posting a welcome signage ("You are welcome to breastfeed") at eye catching areas at the entrance and within the premises.

Policy Sample

"Breastfeeding Friendly Premises" Policy

Our Organisation (or Company) acknowledges that breastfeeding is the natural way to feed babies and young children. We welcome and support mothers to breastfeed in public areas of our premises.

This policy aims to support mothers to breastfeed in public. All staff should be informed of this policy to ensure that they are aware of it.

All staff will take the following actions to support this policy:

  1. Respect the freedom of breastfeeding mothers in choosing where to breastfeed; the presence of a breastfeeding room does not mean that she must choose to use the room.
  2. Do not disturb a breastfeeding mother, ask her to cover up or move to another area unless there is safety concern or blockage of exit/ passage way.
  3. Offer an appropriate location (e.g. a seat away from the main traffic, a secluded corner, a breastfeeding room, a nearby community babycare facility) if a mother wishes to have more privacy to breastfeed, as far as practicable. Toilets or restrooms are not appropriate places for feeding babies and should not be offered.
  4. Support breastfeeding mothers in need, e.g. explain to other clients about the breastfeeding friendly policy and the feeding needs of babies.

Breastfeeding Resources of the Department of Health

Information on breastfeeding of the Family Health Service of the Department of Health

http://s.fhs.gov.hk/xknkz

Information from Unicef

Public spaces can provide space and support to help mothers sustain breastfeeding

Pledge your support to breastfeeding mothers now.

www.SayYesToBreastfeeding.hk

Contact us to learn more

Tel: 2833 6139

E-mail: bf@unicef.org.hk

#SayYesToBreastfeeding

(Content revised 06/2015)

實施「母乳餵哺友善場所」指引

為母嬰營造方便餵哺母乳社區

餵哺母乳對嬰孩、媽媽以至社會的好處良多,不容置疑;而且餵哺時間愈長,母嬰健康的得益亦愈大。因此現今大部分媽媽在情況許可下,都想以母乳持續餵哺嬰孩。媽媽與孩子常常一同外出,如到訪商場、酒樓、咖啡室、康文設施、乘搭公共交通工具等,因此亦有需要在這些公共場內直接餵哺母乳。雖然大部分媽媽的經驗均屬正面,但亦有部分媽媽反映,在個別場所內的設施和職員態度,仍有改善空間。如果社區能夠支援更多,包括在公共場所內實施方便餵哺母乳的措施,媽媽便能夠持續餵哺母乳至更長的時間,孩子亦可更健康。

甚麼是「母乳餵哺友善場所」?

根據衞生署於2013年進行的調查顯示,接近六成媽媽,為了適時地回應寶寶的需要,均表示曾在公共場所內直接餵哺母乳。此外,半數從未曾在公眾地方直接餵哺母乳的媽媽表示,她們也希望這樣做。

「母乳餵哺友善場所」歡迎家庭餵哺母乳,並支持他們隨時、隨地餵哺孩子。員工可以作出以下的支持行動:

  • 尊重媽媽可選擇在任何地方餵哺的自由。
  • 不打擾餵哺中的媽媽,例如:不要求她們遮蔽身體、停止或到其他地方餵哺孩子。
  • 在可行情況下,為需要較多私隱的媽媽安排適當的位置,例如:安靜的角落或遠離出入口的座位。
  • 樂意協助餵哺母乳的母嬰,例如:向其他顧客解釋此情況。

建議媽媽到洗手間內餵哺母乳是不恰當的

成為「母乳餵哺友善場所」,對企業/營商有甚麽好處?

實施母乳餵哺友善措施是一項優質的顧客服務,能提升企業形象,贏得社會認同。此外,員工對餵哺母乳媽媽及家庭的友善、樂於協助的態度,其他顧客都會欣賞。好事傳千里,透過媽媽在親友間讚賞,企業將不須成本亦獲宣傳之效。

解疑難

問題一:成為「母乳餵哺友善場所」,會否大大增加營運成本?

答案一:不會。讓公共場所變得更方便餵哺母乳,並不需要直接的財務成本。大部分媽媽只希望有一個令她們感到舒適的環境餵哺母乳,這些媽媽所追求的,是職員和其他顧客既友善又支持的態度。

問題二:是否需要為餵哺母乳的媽媽提供房間?

答案二:不一定需要。提供房間是最理想的情況,如有地方設立育嬰間,可參考由屋宇署發出的「在商業樓宇提供育嬰間設施」的作業備考中,有關育嬰間設備的建議,網址為http://www.bd.gov.hk/chineseT/documents/pnap/ADV/ADV032.pdf

如不能提供房間,可安排一個較有私隱的地方,或準備一些就近餵哺母乳設施的資料,給有需要的媽媽使用。事實上,很多餵哺母乳的媽媽都希望一邊餵哺一邊繼續社交活動,例如:與家人進餐、和朋友談天,所以實際上並不需要特別安排,最重要的是尊重媽媽有選擇在任何地方餵哺孩子的自由。

問題三:若有顧客介意看到媽媽餵哺母乳,應如何處理?

答案三:顧客一般都不會介意看到媽媽餵哺母乳。員工可向顧客解釋,以母乳餵哺孩子,是最自然的方法,孩子餓了,媽媽需回應孩子的需要。如需要,可給介意的顧客安排一個離開餵哺母乳媽媽的座位,避免尷尬,或由較有經驗的員工來處理。

行動吧!立即成為「母乳餵哺友善場所」,支持餵哺母乳

  • 準備一:

    訂立一份「母乳餵哺友善場所」的書面政策,政策將促進員工及顧客溝通,並貫徹處理手法。請參考「附加資料」內的政策範本。

  • 準備二:

    在場所內挑選一些較有私隱的地方,給需要在私人空間餵哺母乳的媽媽使用,並讓所有員工知悉這些地方的位置。

  • 準備三:

    培訓員工是成功實施母乳餵哺友善措施的關鍵。向每一位員工講解企業在成為母乳餵哺友善場所的政策和處理手法,確定員工熟悉政策、場所內較有私隱的地方,以及有信心處理一些常見的情況。

  • 準備四:

    宣傳企業歡迎餵哺母乳的場所,使餵哺母乳的媽媽能在有需要時,可尋獲並使用相關資訊;同時,亦可讓其他顧客知悉場所內歡迎媽媽隨時、隨地直接餵哺母乳。可透過不同途徑宣傳,包括:在公司網頁或社交平台宣布,及/或在入口當眼處和場所內張貼標語(「歡迎餵哺母乳」)。

政策範本

「母乳餵哺友善場所」政策

本企業(或公司)認同以母乳餵哺嬰兒和幼童是最自然的方法,我們歡迎和支持媽媽在場所內的公眾地方餵哺母乳。

本政策目標是支持媽媽在公眾地方餵哺母乳,所有員工均了解本政策,並會採取以下行動來支持母乳餵哺:

  1. 尊重母親選擇餵哺母乳地點的決定。縱使場所內有哺乳室,也不會限制母親選擇使用與否的自由。
  2. 不會打擾正在餵哺母乳的母親、亦不會要求她遮敞身體,或到其他地方餵哺(除非涉及安全,或阻塞出口/通道)。
  3. 如有母親希望在較有私隱的地方餵哺母乳,在盡可能的情況下,提供一個合適的位置(例如:遠離主要通道的座位、安靜的角落、哺乳室或就近的公共育嬰設施)。洗手間不適宜餵哺嬰兒,不應建議母親到洗手間餵哺。
  4. 向有需要的母親提供幫助(例如:向其他顧客解釋「母乳餵哺友善場所」政策和餵哺孩子的需要)。

衞生署母乳餵哺資源

衞生署家庭健康服務母乳餵哺健康資訊

http://s.fhs.gov.hk/fc0qa

資料由聯合國兒童基金會提供

公共場所可以為哺乳母親提供空間及支持,讓她們能持續以母乳育嬰。

立即承諾 支持哺乳媽媽

www.SayYesToBreastfeeding.hk

聯絡我們 了解更多

電話: 2833 6139

電郵: bf@unicef.org.hk

母乳育嬰齊和應

(06/2015 修訂內容)