Vaccines Not Included in the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme

Based on the local disease prevalence and the latest evidence, the Scientific Committee on Vaccine-preventable Diseases (SCVPD) under the Centre for Health Protection (CHP) of the Department of Health (DH) has made recommendations on the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme. Children from birth to primary six should receive different vaccines to protect them from eleven infectious diseases, namely, tuberculosis, hepatitis B, poliomyelitis, diphtheria, tetanus, whooping cough (pertussis), pneumococcal infection, chickenpox, measles, mumps and rubella.

Besides the above vaccines, private doctors may provide other vaccines to protect children from certain infectious diseases. These vaccines include influenza vaccine, Haemophilus influenzae type b vaccine, meningococcal vaccine, hepatitis A vaccine, Japanese encephalitis vaccine and rotavirus vaccine. There are also combined vaccines which contain a combination of various vaccine components. For example, the "Five-in-One” combined vaccine contains diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis, poliomyelitis and Haemophilus influenzae type b vaccine components; and the "Six-in-One" combined vaccine contains an additional component of hepatitis B vaccine. All these vaccines are generally safe and effective. They can be used for protecting individuals against specific infection. However, parents should seek advice from doctors before getting their children immunised.

Influenza Vaccine

Influenza (Flu) is a viral infection characterized by fever, sore throat, cough, headache and muscle ache. The most common route of infection is through the respiratory tract. It is usually a self-limiting disease with recovery in two to seven days. However, it can be a serious illness to the weak and frail, and may be complicated by bronchitis, pneumonia (inflammation of the lungs), and even death in the most serious cases. Influenza can be caused by different types of viruses, and occurs most commonly around January to March and July to August in Hong Kong. Influenza vaccine is prepared according to the prevalence of strains in the community each year, as recommended by the World Health Organization. Besides, the SCVPD recommends certain high risk groups for influenza vaccination in Hong Kong each year. These target groups include pregnant ladies, children aged between 6 months and less than 6 years, persons aged 50 or above, persons with chronic illness and people with BMI 30 or above. Please visit the CHP website for more information: www.chp.gov.hk/en/sas6/101/110/106.html

Haemophilus influenzae type b Vaccine

Haemophilus influenzae type b infection is a disease caused by bacteria. It is transmitted through direct contact with nose and throat secretions of infected persons. Serious acute infection is more common in children under five years old, and can cause pneumonia and meningitis (inflammation of the lining of the brains), and even death. Haemophilus influenzae type b infection has a relatively lower occurrence in Hong Kong compared with other western countries. Effective vaccine against Haemophilus influenzae type b infection is available. If parents wish to get their children immunised for individual protection, please consult doctors first.

Meningococcal Vaccine

Meningococcal infection is a serious illness caused by bacteria. It can be transmitted by direct contact through droplets of respiratory secretions from infected persons. The bacteria can cause septicaemia (a form of blood poisoning), meningitis, and even death. Most of the meningococcal infections reported locally in recent years were caused by serogroup B bacteria. Since the occurrence of meningococcal infections is uncommon in Hong Kong, and the currently available meningococcal vaccine does not confer protection against infections caused by serogroup B bacteria, its duration of protection is short and it is relatively ineffective in children aged under two, the meningococcal vaccine is not included in the local childhood immunisation programme. Except during disease outbreaks, children under 18 months of age should not receive this vaccine. Travellers to high risk areas may consult their doctors for meningococcal vaccination. Please visit the website of the Hong Kong Travel Health Service for more information: www.travelhealth.gov.hk/english/vaccine_prophylaxis/meningo_vacc.html

Hepatitis A Vaccine

Hepatitis A is one form of viral infection of the liver cells caused by hepatitis A virus. It is usually transmitted by ingestion of contaminated food and shellfish. Affected persons of Hepatitis A may have no symptoms. Those who have symptoms may have poor appetite, tiredness, nausea, loose stool and jaundice (yellow staining of skin and whites of the eyes). Persons after recovery usually have life long immunity and there is no chronic carrier state. The most effective method for preventing hepatitis A is the observation of food, personal and environmental hygiene. Children who frequently travel to areas with common occurrence of hepatitis A may consider receiving hepatitis A vaccination for personal protection. For details, please visit the website of the Hong Kong Travel Health Service: www.travelhealth.gov.hk/english/vaccine_prophylaxis/hepatitis_a.html

Japanese Encephalitis Vaccine

Japanese encephalitis is a mosquito-borne disease caused by the Japanese encephalitis virus. The disease occurs mainly in Asia and the Western Pacific Region, but is rare in Hong Kong. Mild infections may occur without apparent symptoms other than fever with headache. More severe infection is marked by quick onset of headache, high fever, neck stiffness, impaired mental state, coma, tremors, occasional convulsions (especially in infants), paralysis and even death. To prevent contracting the disease, one should take measures to prevent mosquito bites. Since the occurrence of the disease in Hong Kong is low, vaccination for Japanese encephalitis is usually not recommended for members of the general public. The vaccine is only recommended for travellers who plan to stay one month or longer in high risk areas, particular in rural areas. Please visit the website of the Hong Kong Travel Health Service for more information: www.travelhealth.gov.hk/english/vaccine_prophylaxis/jap_encephalitis.html

Rotavirus Vaccine

Rotavirus is one of the most common causes of diarrhoea among children worldwide. It is transmitted mainly by the faecal-oral route. Transmission can occur through ingestion of contaminated water or food and contact with contaminated surfaces. The disease is characterised by vomiting and watery diarrhea, often with fever and abdominal pain. It is a self-limited illness for healthy persons, but occasionally associated with severe dehydration in young children. Observation of good personal, food and environmental hygiene is an effective method for preventing rotavirus infection. Effective vaccines are now available to prevent severe rotavirus diseases. Parents should consult doctors before getting their children immunised.

Travel Health Service, Department of Health website:
www.travelhealth.gov.hk

Centre for Health Protection, Department of Health website:
www.chp.gov.hk

24-hour information hotline: 2112 9900

(Content revised 07/2014)

「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」範圍外的疫苗

根據衞生署衞生防護中心轄下「疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會」建議的「香港兒童免疫接種計劃」,初生嬰兒至小學六年級的學生須接種不同種類的疫苗及加強劑,以預防結核病、乙型肝炎、小兒麻痺症、白喉、破傷風、百日咳、肺炎球菌感染、水痘、麻疹、流行性腮腺炎及德國麻疹共十一種傳染病。兒童免疫接種計劃的內容是根據本地的流行病情況和最新科研證據而制定。

除了上述疫苗外,個別私家醫生可能會為兒童接種其他疫苗,例如流行性感冒疫苗、乙型流感嗜血桿菌疫苗、腦膜炎雙球菌疫苗、甲型肝炎疫苗、日本腦炎疫苗及輪狀病毒疫苗等。本港亦有一些包含多種疫苗成分的「多合一」疫苗,例如「五合一」疫苗混合了白喉、破傷風、百日咳、小兒麻痺和乙型流感嗜血桿菌五種疫苗成分;而「六合一」疫苗包含多一種乙型肝炎疫苗成分。這些疫苗一般都是安全和有效,可保障個人健康,預防感染相關的傳染病。如家長希望為子女接種這些疫苗,應先請教醫生,醫生會因應兒童的個別情況給予適當的建議。

流行性感冒疫苗

流行性感冒(簡稱流感)是一種由病毒引起的疾病,通常經過呼吸道傳染。病徵包括發燒、喉嚨痛、咳嗽、頭痛、肌肉疼痛等。患者一般會在兩至七天內痊癒,但抵抗力較弱的人,則可能較易患上支氣管炎、肺炎等併發症,嚴重者更可導致死亡。流感可由多種類型的流感病毒引起,而本港的高峰期通常是每年的一至三月及七至八月。流感疫苗是根據世界衞生組織每年的建議,按照預計會在社區流行的流感病毒類型而製備。此外,「疫苗可預防疾病科學委員會」每年都會建議一些高危類別人士(包括孕婦、六個月至未滿六歲的兒童、五十歲或以上的人士、長期病患者和體重指數三十或以上的人士)接種流感疫苗,詳情請瀏覽衞生防護中心網頁:www.chp.gov.hk/tc/sas6/101/110/106.html

乙型流感嗜血桿菌疫苗

乙型流感嗜血桿菌感染是一種細菌性疾病,可透過直接接觸患者的鼻喉分泌物的飛沬而傳播。嚴重急性感染在五歲以下兒童較為常見,可導致肺炎或腦膜炎,甚至死亡。香港兒童感染乙型流感嗜血桿菌的比率較外國為低。現時已有一些有效預防乙型流感嗜血桿菌的疫苗,家長如希望保障子女健康,為他們接種這種疫苗,可先諮詢醫生意見。

腦膜炎雙球菌疫苗

腦膜炎雙球菌感染是一種經由直接接觸感染者口鼻分泌物飛沬而傳播的嚴重細菌性疾病,可導致敗血症及腦膜炎,嚴重者可以致命。本港近年的腦膜炎雙球菌感染病例多為B型的雙球菌所引致。由於腦膜炎雙球菌感染在本港並不常見,加上現時市面的疫苗對B型的雙球菌沒有效用、有效期較短及對兩歲以下兒童的效果較低,故此疫苗並不在本港免疫接種計劃採用之列。除了在流行疫症爆發期間之外,十八個月以下的兒童不宜接種此疫苗。如欲前往高危地區,可先諮詢醫生意見,以決定是否需要接種疫苗。想知道更多有關資料,請瀏覽香港旅遊健康服務網頁: www.travelhealth.gov.hk/tc_chi/vaccine_prophylaxis/meningo_vacc.html

甲型肝炎疫苗

甲型肝炎是由甲型肝炎病毒引起的一種病毒性肝炎,通常透過進食受污染的食物及貝殼類海產傳播。甲型肝炎的症狀為食慾不振、疲倦、噁心、腹瀉及黃疸等,但患者亦可能全無症狀。患者康復後通常會終身免疫,不會成為長期帶病毒者。預防甲型肝炎的最佳方法是保持良好的食物、個人及環境衞生。兒童如經常前往甲型肝炎流行地區可考慮接種甲型肝炎疫苗,以保障個人健康。詳情請瀏覽香港旅遊健康服務網頁:www.travelhealth.gov.hk/tc_chi/vaccine_prophylaxis/hepatitis_a.html

日本腦炎疫苗

日本腦炎是一種由病毒引起、經蚊子傳播的疾病。日本腦炎主要流行於亞洲及西太平洋地區,但在本港並不常見。病情輕微者除發燒及頭痛外,一般不會有其他顯著病徵。病情嚴重者則病發得快,並出現頭痛、發高燒、頸部僵硬、神志不清、昏迷、震顫、抽搐(尤其是幼童)及癱瘓等症狀,甚至死亡。預防日本腦炎,應採取防蚊措施。由於日本腦炎在香港的發病率不高,因此一般市民無須接種疫苗。日本腦炎疫苗適用於準備前往日本腦炎流行的地區(特別是郊區)逗留一個月或以上的旅遊人士。如想知道更多有關資料,請瀏覽香港旅遊健康服務網頁:www.travelhealth.gov.hk/tc_chi/vaccine_prophylaxis/jap_encephalitis.html

輪狀病毒疫苗

輪狀病毒是全球引致兒童腹瀉的最常見病因之一。病毒主要透過口糞途徑傳播,可經飲用或進食受污染的食水或食物,或接觸受污染的物件表面傳播。輪狀病毒感染的症狀以嘔吐及水狀腹瀉為主,並經常有發燒及腹痛等症狀。身體健康的人感染了輪狀病毒,病徵一般會自行消退,但幼童偶然會出現嚴重脱水的情況。保持良好的個人、食物及環境衞生是預防輪狀病毒感染的最佳方法。現時已有一些有效的疫苗,可預防嚴重的輪狀病毒感染。家長如希望為子女接種這些疫苗,應先請教醫生。

衞生署旅遊健康服務網頁:
www.travelhealth.gov.hk

衞生署衞生防護中心網頁:
www.chp.gov.hk

24小時資訊熱線:21129900

(07/2014 修訂內容)