Childcare and Parenting Series 14 - Play and Creativity

Play is children's work. Children spend most of their time in play to explore and learn about the world around them. With their intellectual growth and advance in language development, the two-year-olds begin to show more sophisticated play. They will pretend one object to be another or act out daily experiences in play. Making use of opportunities to play with your child helps facilitate his imagination and creativity.

Types of Play

Active Play

Two-year-olds are active and restless. They like to explore the limits of their bodies and learn about the relative position of their bodies in space around them by circling around, skipping, hopping, or rocking on chairs. They begin to climb, run, pedal on tricycles, kick, throw or catch balls. With safety measures taken, outdoor activities are the most suitable means to facilitate their physical ability.

  • Encourage your child to climb on play facilities in the playground while staying close to watch him.
  • Besides guiding him how to ride a tricycle, you may pretend to be a pedestrian, a gas station attendant, a car mechanic or even a gate or a traffic light to add imagination to his play.
  • Play ball games with him. Let him throw a ball at some large aiming targets like a basket, a big piece of drawing, or rows of plastic jugs. Imagining you are playing stall games in a fair will create more fun.
  • Take him outdoor to the countryside or an open space in the neighbourhood to run around and explore. He will stop and show interest in things seen on the way such as touching pebbles and plants, circling around a fire hydrant, or examining crevices on the pavement. Let him take his time to explore and tell him more about the things he is interested in.

Constructive Play

Your child now begins to play constructively by putting things together to represent new objects This kind of play includes block building, drawing, pasting and playing with sand, clay and dough. Besides facilitating creativity these activities also help in developing hand and finger skills, and learning concepts of shape colour, texture and space.

  • Playing with traditional blocks can be more creative than construction models as they do not give instructions for children to follow but allow them to use their imaginations. Two-year-olds begin to build by stacking and lining up the blocks. Gradually, they learn to construct different forms. By adding one or two blocks on her construction and suggesting it is a window, a bridge or a railway, you can help your child extend her imagination.
  • Some children may have problem accepting the texture of dough, clay or sand on first contact. Give your child time and encouragement to get used to them. She will explore the change in form by kneading, rolling, pounding and pressing. Provide her with different tools like bucket, spade, containers or moulds of different shapes to create her own masterpieces.
  • The creations of young children may look like a mess to you. If your child tells you her creation stands for certain object, appreciate her imagination with enthusiasm. Demanding her to follow your instructions or shaming her will not encourage but do harm to her creativity.

Pretend Play

Why pretend play?

Pretend play reflects what a child sees and hears going on around him in his everyday social and cultural context. It enables the child:

  • To make sense of the world and learn to put seemingly random events into a meaningful sequence - For instance, your child may first pretend to go shopping by carrying a bag and walking around. Gradually, he understands the events of picking goods from the shelves, paying, and writing down a shopping list are all parts of the shopping sequence.
  • To develop language and social skills - Children learn to describe in words their imaginative experiences or the role of someone else they are adopting. As children play different roles together, they learn to communicate their ideas, cooperate, take turns and compromise.
  • To express emotions - Children may play out frightening events repeatedly and from which they learn to cope with their fears. Imagination also helps defeat feelings of loneliness and insecurity. A child can imagine his favourite toy as his companion whom he can talk to.

What to use?

  • Commercial toys like cooking set, tea set, dolls, stuffed toys, play house, farm, garage, toy cars, aeroplanes, etc.
  • Other objects like old clothes, old grownup shoes and socks, bracelets, necklaces, belts, handbags, cloth or paper carrier bags, briefcases, cartons big enough for hiding in, assorted containers, blankets, notebooks, paper and pencils, etc. Basically anything that is child-proof can be used in imaginative play.
  • If your child does not play with a toy according to its common usage, like pretending a pan to be a hat and put it on her head, do not intervene because imagination should not have limits. Your support and encouragement helps elaborate her imagination. If you are concerned she might have confused the use of objects, find some other time to demonstrate and suggest to her, e.g. pick up the pan and tell her, 'My little girl is hungry. Mummy is going to cook for her.'

What can you do?

  • Apart from providing things to play with and safe spaces for your child, your participation in his play is important.
  • Stay nearby or join in your child's play. Let him take the lead as long as it is safe.
  • Be enthusiastic. Respond and praise his ideas.
  • Make suggestions to him at times to add new ideas and help him make sense of the sequence of events.
  • Only suggest experiences familiar to him so that he can imagine.

Other Creative Activities

  • Water play in bath tub or with a basin
  • Creating dance steps
  • Creating music with toy musical instruments or things that make sounds
  • Making up lyrics to create new songs
  • Making up stories
  • Making up jokes
  • Thinking of as many uses of an item as possible
  • Creating new rules in games
  • Guiding your child to appreciate nature and artworks
  • Using household objects in pretend play, e.g. cushions can be used for building a house or a tunnel, yachting, horse riding, serving dinner, etc
  • Creative activities are never exhaustive.

Set a good example of being creative for your child by showing your humour in daily living and being flexible in problem solving. Do help your child extend and explore his own creativity by imagining and creating with him. Your support to your child is essential in development creativity.

We have a series of childcare and parenting workshops and leaflets for expectant parents, parents of infants and preschool children. Please contact our healthcare personnel for information.

(Content revised 02/2017)

親職系列14 —— 玩出創意來

兒童的工作就是遊戲。遊戲佔了他們生活的大部份,他們從遊戲中不停地探索周遭的事物來認識這個世界。隨著認知的發展,兩歲的孩子想像力開始豐富,他們會把一件物件假想成另一物件來玩,或是把日常生活的體驗扮演出來。從這時開始,你可以把握與孩子遊戲的機會去幫助他發揮想像力和創造力。

不同種類的遊戲

體能活動

兩歲的孩子坐不定,對他來說,站著團團轉、蹦跳地沿著路上的磚塊跑,或是坐在椅子上前後地搖,都可以是他玩耍的一種方式。他會嘗試不同的動作,以探索他體能的限度。他也開始攀爬、跑步、踩腳踏車、踢球、擲和接球。在安全的情況下,戶外活動最適合發揮孩子的體能。

  • 鼓勵他在戶外遊樂設施攀爬,但要準備隨時在下面把他接著。
  • 與他玩各樣的球類或拋擲遊戲,可給他一些大的目標像籃子、一幅大的面孔圖畫、一列膠瓶子等。你更可引入想像的元素,例如帶引孩子想像你們進入一個嘉年華會玩攤位遊戲,或是要餵一個張大口的人物等。
  • 他當腳踏車司機,你作路人、油站服務員或修理技工,甚至是停車場的閘欄或交通燈,進行一場扮演遊戲。
  • 與孩子在空曠的地方或山徑散步,但切勿匆忙。孩子對路上遇到的事物都會很感興趣,石子、花草樹木、罅隙、水龍頭等也會令他停下來,繞個彎,摸一摸,這是他探索和認識世界的方法。你不妨跟他講解一下他感興趣的事物。

堆砌及創作遊戲

這階段的孩子開始懂得把材料组合和進行手工製作。這類型的遊戲包括砌積木、造模型、繪畫、剪貼、堆沙子、搓麵粉及黏土等。除了培育雙手的操控能力,這些遊戲亦可幫助孩子發展形狀、顏色、質地和空間概念。

  • 傳統的積木比現成的組合玩具有更多想像空間讓孩子發揮創意。兩歲的孩子初時只懂得疊高和排列直線,逐漸地,他會增加建築的變化。你可以加一兩塊積木在他的建築物上面,建議它是建築物的某部份,例如窗子、橋樑、路軌等,然後讓他接著發揮。
  • 孩子初次面對軟绵綿的麵粉、黏土或沙子時可能不習慣,你的鼓勵和引導會令他逐漸去嘗試。你可以給他不同的工具像桶子、鏟子、各式的容器或塑模等,讓他搓、捏、鎚、拍,發掘物料形狀的變化,塑出不同的創作。
  • 幼兒運用不同的工具進行其他創作時,手工可能不夠精細,製成品毫不像樣,但若他能把它說成是某件東西,表現出他的想像力時,你需要和應他,鼓勵他繼續發揮,毋須硬要他跟你的意思或向他潑冷水。

扮演遊戲

功用:

  • 認識世界,學習把不同的事物和概念串連起來——初時,孩子玩上街購物的遊戲時,可能只是拿著袋子走來走去,漸漸地,他會明白上市場挑選物品、付款,甚或出門前寫下的購物清單都是互有關連的事。
  • 增進語言及社交技巧——在扮演的過程中,孩子會學習把想像中的情節用說話講出來。他跟你或其他小孩一起進行扮演時,便有機會學習和別人溝通、合作、輪流及妥協。
  • 抒發情緒——透過遊戲,孩子可以把害怕的東西在他能控制的程度下重複地想像出來,令他覺得可克服害怕。他也會把一件玩具看成是他的友伴和傾訴的對象,減少寂寞孤單的感覺。

道具:

  • 現成的玩具包括餐具、娃娃、布偶、家庭屋、農莊、車房、玩具車、飛機等。
  • 若孩子在遊戲中沒有依從玩具的設計去玩,例如把鍋子放在頭上作帽子,這顯示了他的聯想力,你毋須介懷。不要被框框限制,盡量跟隨他的意念去玩,你給予的機會與鼓勵可以幫助孩子發揮想像力。若你擔心他混淆物件的用途,可以在另一些情況作出示範或建議,例如拿起鍋子說:「寶寶餓了,媽媽要煮飯給他吃了。」
  • 其他建議:舊衣服、舊鞋襪、配飾、手提包、布或紙袋、小行李箱、非密封而可供藏身的空箱子、大小不同的盒子、被單、記事本、紙、筆…等等。基本上任何沒有危險性的物品都可以用於想像遊戲中。

你的參與:

  • 除了提供道具和給予孩子安全及足夠的空間,最重要的是你的參與。
  • 你可以在旁觀看或跟他一齊玩,但要讓他作主導,在安全的情況下,不要去規限他。
  • 投入他的遊戲,回應和欣賞他的主意。
  • 需要時向他作出建議,幫他加入新的意念,讓他串連事件的關係。
  • 提議他去扮演他熟悉的經歷,不然他將會無法想像。

其他啟發創造力的活動

  • 創造自己的舞步
  • 用玩具樂器或敲打會發聲的物件來創造音樂
  • 利用歌謠曲譜自編歌詞
  • 編個故事講出來
  • 編個笑話
  • 想出一件物件可以有的不同用途
  • 創作新的遊戲規則
  • 誘導孩子去觀察及欣賞身邊的事物,包括欣賞大自然和藝術品
  • 利用家庭用品來玩,例如沙發的坐墊可用來砌屋、築隧道、坐上去做船或騎馬、作為餐盤……等等
  • 還有很多其他的活動,等待你和孩子一起用心去創作

孩子容易受環境影響,若你常常可以從不同的角度思考,表現你的幽默感和彈性解決問題的能力,他便會以你為榜樣,模仿你的創造力。你給予孩子的支持,就是培養孩子創造力的主要因素。

衞生署母嬰健康院設有一系列的親職研習班和資料單張,專為準父母及嬰幼兒家長而設,歡迎向健康院醫護人員查詢。

(01/2014 修訂內容)