Parenting Series 8 - Discipline Your Toddler in a Positive Way

Knowing Your Child

Being able to walk and talk after his first birthday, your child becomes a more independent toddler. He will rush headlong into exploring and experimenting with his new abilities. However, your little scientist is still not capable of thinking comprehensively. Thus it looks as if your baby, once totally dependent and compliant, has become uncontrollable. You might find him frequently testing your limits, opposing to your commands and upsetting you. But he is not doing it intentionally to challenge you. This stage may last until he goes to kindergarten. At this time, it is most important for you to help your child learn what he can and cannot do.

Using Positive Discipline

Positive discipline is using constructive and nonhurtful ways to promote the development of social behaviours and postive self-concept in your child. It involves awareness of your child's feelings, understanding his developmental level, recognizing and encouraging his desirable behaviours and setting and keeping sensible limits. It helps you deal with your child calmly and helps your child grow up to be a cooperative and happy child.

Giving Attention and Praise

Does praise spoil children?

Children are not spoiled by praise. In fact, only those who have received little praise or rewards from adults tend to be easily carried away by praise. They also tend to demand a reward before complying with requests.

Your toddler needs your attention and praise to build up self confidence in exploring and learning. Children who are frequently praised by their parents on specific desirable behaviours develop high self esteem. This eventually makes them less dependent on approvals and external rewards in order to behave well. They will be more likely to see others in a positive light too when they grow up.

  • Be generous to attend to and praise your child

    Praise your child whenever you catch her being good. Everyday behaviours that we often take for granted, such as sitting down quietly to play or leaving alone the things she could not touch, are positive behaviours that deserve your attention and praise. Your prompt attention to her positive behaviours will increase her chance of repeating them.

  • Giving attention to your child by:
    • Looking and smiling
    • Touching gently
    • Embracing and hugging
    • Applauding
    • Putting up your thumb
    • Getting down to her eye level while talking
  • When praising your child:
    • Be positive. Say, 'What a good girl playing by yourself! Thank you for staying in your seat while eating. 'It's great for you to leave it alone.
    • Be straight forward, brief and specific.
    • Avoid criticisms or shaming which may undermine your praises and confuse the child. e.g. 'That's a good boy, but no more of those mischiefs please.'
    • Be prompt to let your child know what you are praising her for,
    • Praise on her effort instead of the achievement to sustain her motivation and shape her behaviour in the desired direction.
  • Quality Time and Engaging Activities

    Your active toddler demands a lot of your attention and time. Try your best to spend some special time, even though it may be brief, to play and talk with him every day. This 'quality time' you enjoy together will strengthen your bond and deepen his trust on you, setting the basis for effective behaviour management.

    Sometimes you may be too busy to spare even a brief moment with him. Make sure there are activities to engage him at such time so that he will have less chance to get into trouble. The activities should be interesting to him and appropriate to his developmental level. Other than toys, empty boxes, containers or durable household utensils can be fun and creative. You may retain the novelty of the activities for your child by putting away some of them periodically for rotation. Do not forget to encourage him by giving him brief attention and praises while he keeps himself engaged in such activities.

Setting Limits and Managing Misbehaviours

Desirable behaviours are reinforced by praising while undesirable behaviours are prevented by limit setting and stopped by positive behaviour management.

Is a toddler too young to have rules?

Your toddler often engages in active exploration but he may not know what he should or should not do. He needs clear and consistent limit setting to help him understand the demands from adults.

If you allow your child to do whatever he likes with few clear limits, you will find it more difficult to exercise control when he has developed unacceptable behaviour patterns. Helping him achieve rule following and self control by limit setting will make parenting easier and happier.

Will limit setting make children too dependent?

Your toddler's ability to think logically and make judgment is still developing. He needs your supervision to ensure his safety. More importantly, your guidance can help him understand what the acceptable and unacceptable behaviours are, and adjust and code successfully with the demands on him.

Children can be overwhelmed by too many rules and limits. There are times you can encourage your child to develop autonomy and problem solving by allowing him to make age-appropriate decisions. For example, you may let him explore different ways in play within reasonable limits, or choose his preferred clothes or snacks from choice of a few.

Is spanking or threatening more effective?

Spanking or threatening may stop your child from misbehaving immediately. However, the effect is short-lived.  A toddler's memory is still short and he may soon forget this unpleasant consequence. He needs to learn from you the acceptable way to behave, otherwise, he will only repeat the undesirable behaviour. Using constructive and nonharmful ways of positive discipline will be more effective in teaching your child to behave.

Steps in Behaviour Management

  1. Set 2-3 simple house rules, e.g. 'Leave the seat only after finishing the meal'. Define clearly areas in the house your toddler cannot enter (e.g. Kitchen)
  2. The rules set have to be consistent and firmly followed through by all the caregivers.
  3. Giving clear instructions.
    • When your child does not follow the rules, keep calm and firmly say 'no' to her with a frown and a 'no no' gesture. Praise her if she stops. If she does not stop, guide her to follow your command such as by picking her up and putting her back onto her seat or leading her away from the 'restricted area'. Then keep her engaged in some interesting activity or by making the activity she has to do interesting.
    • If she is committing a dangerous act, stop her immediately and tell her clearly what she should do instead. For example, 'Don't touch the socket. Come here to play with mummy.' 'Stop climbing. Get down to play with the ball.' Then praise her for complying and engage her in another interesting activity.
  4. Young toddlers are still unable to deal with frustration or control their emotions. They may throw tantrums easily, scream or lie on the floor to protest. Sometimes they may seek attention such as by banging their heads lightly to see how you would react or to test whether you would do as you said. In these situations, you may use 'planned ignoring', i.e. give her no attention whatsoever, not even looking at her.
    • When correctly and firmly applied, these unacceptable behaviours will soon disappear. But if you give her any attention in any way, including smiling, talking, soothing or shouting to her, the misbehaviours will be reinforced by your attention and continue.
  5. When withdrawing your attention during planned ignoring, be prepared that her misbehaviour will get worse initially. However if you persist, she will nevertheless learn that she can no longer get either what she wants or your attention by performing the misbehaviour. As soon as she stops the misbehaviour, you can then attend to her immediately and direct her to another activity.
  6. If she continues to protest or throw tantrum to the extent that others may be affected, or that you are about to lose your temper, you may need to remove her from the site. Keep calm and act in a matter-of-fact-manner. Embrace your child from the back, holding her upper arms and body to lessen her struggle. Do not give other responses until she calms down. In this way, she can be helped to calm down by being away from the distressing situation. Through nonhurtful restraint and removal of her from the scene, you are giving her protection and a feeling of security. At the same time, your firm manner tells her that you will follow through with the rules.
  7. When she calms down, praise her for being quiet and cooperative. Then return her to an engaging activity.

Every toddler is unique. It is possible that your child may need a longer time to understand and follow your discipline. As long as you persevere consistently with positive discipline – nourishing your child with positive attention and encouragement, and managing him calmly, firmly, and patiently within clear limits – he will learn to follow social rules, gain self control, and build up self esteem in the course of his development.

We have a series of "Happy Parenting!" workshops and leaflets for expectant parents, parents of infants and preschool children. Please contact our healthcare personnel for information.

(Content revised 02/2014)

親職系列8 —— 正面管教 從幼兒開始

認識你的孩子

約從一歲起,隨著你的幼兒開始走路和說話,他會變得較為獨立。在這個轉變過程中,他會測試自己自主能力的限度衝動地去探索並對種種事物作出實驗。你可能會很難接受他由一個事事依賴你的嬰兒變為一個經常試探你的底線,跟你作對,令你生氣的搗蛋鬼。這個階段可能會持續至上幼稚園前。其實他只是從實驗中去認識自己的能力和周圍環境對他的要求,並非故意。因此,你需要多一點去了解你的孩子的發展特性,以教導他成為一個合作又愉快的孩子。

正面管教

正面管教就是用有建設性和不傷害孩子的方法去幫助他建立良好的行為。孩子需要你的適當引導才會學習到甚麼是可以和不可以做的;你的認許和鼓勵亦能幫助他肯定自我,建立安全感。

關注和讚賞

孩子多讚了會恃寵生驕嗎?

只有平日極少得到你稱讚的孩子被讚後才會樂極忘形,興奮得不能自控;並且可能會要求得到獎賞才與成人合作。

你的幼兒需要你的關注和鼓勵來建立信心去探索學習。由於經常受到讚賞的孩子自我被肯定,他的自尊感會較強,也會較為自信及獨立;長大了亦較容易去欣賞別人

  • 不要吝嗇你的讚賞和關注

    平日你的幼兒自己坐下玩或見到不能碰的東西就自動走開時,就要給他關注,並可稱讚他。不要以為好的行為是理所當然而只留意到不理想的行為。當幼兒明白到原來好的行為會得到關注,那便會增加他多做好行為的機會。

  • 關注包括以下的身體語言
    • 望著他微笑
    • 輕撫他
    • 攬抱他
    • 吻他
    • 對他鼓掌
    • 向他豎起姆指
    • 和他說話時,不要忘了要蹲下來與他平視,讓你們的距離拉近。
  • 讚賞
    • 要用正面的語句,例如:「自己玩真乖!」「乖乖坐著吃飯真好。」「對了,知道那是碰不得的,真是好孩子!」
    • 直接簡短,令他易理解。
    • 不要加上批評及責備,例如:「乖啊!但我不要你再頑皮。」這會令他感到混淆,無所適從。
    • 即時,他才會清楚你讚賞的是甚麼行為,加強他再做該好行為的機會。
    • 不要只看成果。當他作出嘗試,就要稱讚他的努力,提高他的學習興趣。
  • 安排親子時間和吸引的活動

    你的幼兒精力充沛,需要你常常關注他。每天盡量抽時間與他玩和說話,就算只得短暫片刻,也可以增進親子感情,有助加強幼兒對你的信任令管教事半功倍

    假如你很忙而暫時不能陪他,你可以預備一些有趣的物品或活動,讓你的幼兒適當地打發時間,免得他因無聊而搗蛋。這些玩意是要有有趣味適合他的發展程度的,但不一定是玩具。空紙盒、空罐子或一些不易碎的家庭用品也可讓幼兒樂上半天,變化出不同的玩法。你可能需要預備不同的活動物品,再把部份藏起來,待他玩厭了時可替換使用,以保持新鮮感。

開始你的管教

除了鼓勵幼兒的好行為外,也要開始管教他不理想的行為。

現在開始管教是否太早?

一歲左右開始,幼兒自由活動的能力和學習能力增强,他需要清楚及貫徹一致的規限以幫助他理解成人對他的要求,從而學到守規矩合作和自律
假如現在對他採取放任的態度,而長大後有問題出現時才去管教,那時要改變他不良的行為就難得多了。堅定的正面管教可以協助你用冷靜的方法去處理幼兒的問題,為人父母的工作便會更輕鬆,你與你的幼兒亦會相處得更愉快。

規限是否會扼殺孩子發展自主能力的機會?

幼兒的思考判斷能力還未成熟,需要你給予指引來保障他的安全。你的指導也可以幫助他去分辨適當和不適當的行為,令他容易適應社會。

當然,你不可以制定太多規限。在某些情況下,你需要根據孩子的發展能力去讓他學習獨立解決問題,例如讓他在合理的範圍內探索玩具不同的玩法,提供三、兩件衣服或小吃讓他自己挑選等等。

打或恐嚇幼兒是否更為收效?

打幼兒手掌或屁股及恐嚇他或許可以令他即時受到阻嚇。不敢再繼續該不當行為。但是這樣做只能收到短期效果。幼兒的記憶力還短。很快便會忘記上次的教訓。如果你沒有教他應該怎樣做才對,他沒有學到適當的行為,很容易又再犯錯。正面的管教方法是用有建設性不傷害孩子的方法去教導他,使他成為一個合作又快樂的孩子。

管教幼兒的步驟

  1. 每次訂下兩至三條簡單的規則(如吃完飯才可離開座位);並劃出孩子不能到的區域(如廚房)。
  2. 所有照顧幼兒的人都要採用一致的方法,堅決地執行,方法才會容易奏效。
  3. 給幼兒清晰的指令
    • 每次孩子犯規時,都要保持平靜,用堅定認真的表情-瞪眼、稍低下頭及加上手勢向他說「不可以」。若孩子主動停下來,便稱讚他。若他不聽,就要立即引導他跟從你的指示,如把他抱上座椅或把他帶離現場,然後轉移他的注意至一些趣吸引的事物。 
    • 若他做危險性的動作,就要立即制止,並同時教導他規則,然後轉移他的注意至另一有趣又安全的活動。例如:「電插座危險,不可碰。媽媽和你玩玩具。」「爬高會摔疼,下來這裡玩球。」
  4. 幼兒可能仍然不聽從,用如尖叫或趴在地上哭等行為來對抗你的指示。你應刻意地忽視這些行為,即完全不給他任何注意,不去看他,也不作任何反應。
    • 兩歲半前的幼兒仍以自我為中心,他們的忍耐力有限,遇到不順意的事物就會容易發脾氣。有時他們亦會做一些不適當的動作如輕輕撞頭來吸引你注意,看看你有甚麼反應,或嘗試印證一下你說的話是否真的。這時你亦可用上述方法來處理。若處理得宜的話,這些不當的行為很快便會消失;但若你给他注意,包括笑、回應或打罵,他的行為就會因得到你的關注而持續下去。
  5. 初時他可能因為得不到你的理睬而變本加厲;若你堅持下去,他終會學到抗議是不能令他得逞的,他便會停下來。這時你便可即時關注他,然後繼續恰當的活動。
  6. 假若他繼續發脾氣或抗拒加劇,周遭的人可能會受到滋擾,包括你也沉不住氣了,你可能需要把他帶離現場,並從後環抱著他雙臂及身軀,減低他的亂踢亂舞;盡量保持平和的態度及不作出其他反應,直至他回復平靜。這個處理方法,可讓他遠離令他情緒不穩定的情境,用沒有傷害性的束縛去幫助他冷靜下來,同時亦可從中讓他知道:你雖對他持著堅定的原則,但仍然會給他保護和安全感的。
  7. 待他冷靜後便即時讚許他能安靜和合作,然後繼續恰當的活動

每一個幼兒都擁有不同的脾性,你可能需要較長的時間才能令他明白及跟從你給他的規限。只要你堅持正面管教的信念,並對他抱著鼓勵、欣賞、耐性和堅定的態度,便能幫助他在成長路上建立自信,亦會逐漸地引導他學懂自律和合作。

衞生署母嬰健康院設有一系列的親職研習班和資料單張,專為準父母及嬰幼兒家長而設,歡迎向健康院醫護人員查詢。

(03/2013 修訂內容)