Healthy Eating for 6 to 24 month old Children (2) Moving On (6 – 12 months)

How to help your baby learn to feed himself

  • Your baby is ready to learn to feed himself when he reaches out for food.
  • Stay with him during mealtime. Watch him and respond to him appropriately.

Useful tips

Clean your baby's hands and face before and after meals. Avoid wiping his hands too often during meals, as this may disturb his interest in eating.

Finger feeding

When your baby reaches out for the food, you can prepare food that is easy for your baby to hold and eat. Cut sweet potatoes, vegetable stalks, carrots and broccoli in 7 to 10 cm long strips and cooked them soft. When giving your baby vegetable stalks, peel off the hard skin first, or offer him a new one once the soft part of the stalk is eaten. You can also give him baby biscuits.

When your baby picks up small objects with his fingers, cut the food into thin slices or lumps for your baby to pick up such as thin slices of banana, soft fruits, cheese cubes, small pieces of bread, soft cooked macaroni or pasta.

Using spoons

When your baby reaches out for the spoon, parent should prepare spoon made of baby-safe material with a small round tip and a thick handle. Give him a spoon to explore. Feed him with another spoon.

At about 12 months old, your baby may dips the spoon into the bowl and then puts it into his mouth.  He becomes more skilful in using spoon at 12 to 18 months old.  Let him try to feed himself with a spoon while you are feeding him.  Give him some other food to hold in his hands and eat.

Why does my baby put everything she picks up into her mouth?

6 to 12 month old babies use various senses to learn about an object, e.g. touching, smelling, banging, putting it into the mouth, and observing how others respond to their actions. This also helps them learn whether the object is edible.

Pay attention to home safety when helping your baby to learn and explore:

  • Put away things that may cause choking or harm;
  • Always stay close and keep an eye on your baby;
  • Maintain good hygiene in your home.

Responding to your baby’s attempts to self feed 

During feeding, your baby may grab the feeding spoon, let him take it if it is suitable for him and feed him with another one.

During feeding, your baby may bang with a spoon, let him play with it gently as babies usually explore objects in this way. If the noise disturbs others, distract him and take away the spoon.

Baby can learn about the food by touching, pinching, tasting, dropping or throwing it. During feeding, your baby may act like he is "playing" with the food, for example by poking it with fingers, you do not need to stop him. Draw his attention to the spoon and food. Feed him when he opens his mouth.  If he tends to ignore the food you offer him and continues "playing", he is full. You should stop feeding him.

During feeding, your baby may pick up the food and eat, you should praise him.

(Content revised 08/2017)

6至24個月嬰幼兒健康飲食 (2) 進展篇(上)(6-12個月)

怎樣協助寶寶學習自己進食?

  • 當寶寶懂得伸手抓食物時,你便可以開始引導他自行進食了。
  • 餐前為寶寶清潔他的手。按以下的行為表現,作出適當的回應。用餐時,如頻密地拭抹寶寶的手和嘴,會影響他吃的意欲。只要在餐後為寶寶清潔就可以了。

用手拿食物吃

當寶寶懂得伸手抓食物時,家長可以預備容易拿起的食物,給寶寶抓着吃。如嬰兒餅乾或煮軟已切成7至10厘米長的番薯、菜莖、紅蘿蔔、西蘭花等。寶寶還未能嚼碎菜莖的外皮,當寶寶吃掉菜的軟芯後,你便要換上另一條新的菜莖,或預先去掉外皮。

當寶寶懂得用拇指和食指撿起較小物件時,家長可以把食物切成薄片或粒狀,讓他撿起。例如切成薄片的香蕉或軟身的水果、芝士粒、撕碎的麫包、通心粉等。

使用匙羹

當寶寶懂得伸手取匙羹,家長應為他預備以安全物料製造,羹嘴圓而小,配粗羹柄的匙羹。雖然寶寶還未會用匙羹,你亦可讓他拿着匙羹探索,然後你用另一支匙羹餵他。

約一歲時,寶寶會把匙羹放進碗中,再放進嘴裡,像會吃的樣子;一歲至一歲半期間,他會嘗試用匙羹舀起食物,動作會逐步純熟。你可以一邊餵他,一邊讓他試用匙羹自己吃。另外預備一些食物讓他拿着吃。

問與答:點解BB執到乜嘢都擺入口㗎?

6至12個月大的寶寶探索物件時,除了會用手去摸、敲打,用鼻去嗅外,還會用口來體驗它的特質;寶寶還會在日常生活中觀察成人的行為和反應,從而學習物件的用途,分辨甚麼是食物。

家長須對寶寶學習的需要作出回應,並注意家居安全:

  • 收起容易導致哽噎和有危險的物件;
  • 時刻看管孩子;
  • 保持家居衞生。

回應寶寶進食的情況

如果寶寶在進食時拿你餵食的匙羹,若匙羹是適合他用的,便讓他去拿,你以另一支匙羹餵食。
如果寶寶在進食時用匙羹敲打,這是寶寶的一種探索行為,如敲打動作騷擾別人,應先分散他的注意力,然後拿走匙羹。

如果寶寶在進食時看似在「玩」食物,你毋須制止他,寶寶透過抓、揑、舔,甚至擲,去認識食物不同的特點,這是個重要的學習過程。餵食時,先主動叫他,讓他看到匙羹上的食物。他張口時才繼續餵。如他只顧「玩」,不願繼續進食,甚至重複拋擲食物,那便表示他已吃飽。

如果寶寶在進食時成功拿着食物進食,你便稱讚、鼓勵他。

(08/2017 修訂內容)