A CLOSER LOOK AT:Breastfeeding

This leaflet is about the benefits of breastfeeding for you and your baby. In alignment with the World Health Organization’s Recommendations & Global Strategy on infant feeding, we recommend: exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months after birth, with subsequent introduction of complementary food at around six months while continuing breastfeeding until the age of two (or beyond).

Why is breast milk best for babies?

Breast milk contains all the nutrients your baby needs for healthy development in the first six months of life and continues to benefit the child, along with solid foods, afterwards. Breast milk helps protect your baby from infection and disease as well.

Breastfeeding can help you and your baby to get closer both physically and emotionally. Exclusive breastfeeding means that your baby only receives breast milk, with no additional food or drink, not even water. It is recommended that breastfeeding is started within the first hour of life and that your baby be fed ‘on demand’. This means that your baby is fed as often as they want, day or night.

This Recommendation appears in the WCRF/AICR Second Expert Report: Food, Nutrition, Physical Activity, and the Prevention of Cancer: a Global Perspective. The Second Expert Report reviewed all of the available evidence on diet, physical activity and weight management in relation to cancer risk and produced 10 Recommendations for Cancer Prevention. Following the publication of the Second Expert Report, experts estimated that about a third of the most common cancers could be prevented by choosing a healthy diet, being physically active and maintaining a healthy weight.

This leaflet focuses on the breastfeeding Recommendation:

It is best for mothers to breastfeed exclusively for up to 6 months with the subsequent introduction of complementary foods while continuing breastfeeding until the age of two or beyond.

Benefits for mothers - Breastfeeding reduces your risk of breast cancer

You may already know that breastfeeding has many benefits, but you may not know that breastfeeding helps protect mothers against breast cancer. According to the WCRF/AICR Second Expert Report, there is convincing evidence that breastfeeding protects mothers against breast cancer at all ages. It also showed that the longer you breastfeed, the more beneficial it is.

So how does breastfeeding reduce your risk of breast cancer? It lowers the levels of some cancer-related hormones in your body. Also, at the end of breastfeeding, the body gets rid of many cells in the breast that may have DNA damage that can lead to cancer. These are thought to be some of the reasons for the reduction in the risk of breast cancer in the future.

Breastfeeding can also help you to lose any extra weight you may have gained during your pregnancy.

Benefits for babies - Being breastfed lasts into adult life

Being breastfed as a baby also offers health benefits to your child as they develop and become an adult.

Babies who are breastfed are less likely to become overweight or obese as they grow up. This is important as there is convincing evidence that being overweight increases the risk of cancers of the colorectum, oesophagus, pancreas, kidney, endometrium (womb) and breast (in postmenopausal women).

Babies who are breastfed are less likely to develop allergies such as eczema and asthma.

Adults who were breastfed as babies have lower blood pressure and are less likely to develop diabetes.

Tips for successful breastfeeding

  • Make sure your baby is properly attached to the breast (and is fed as frequent as he/she wants)
    You will have a good supply of milk and your baby will get a good feed.
    It will help stop your breasts getting sore.
  • Try not to give your baby other food or drink
    The more you feed your baby, the more milk you will produce. Giving other food or drink will reduce your milk supply.
    You might increase the chance of your baby getting an infection.
    (Discuss with your doctor before you give your baby food or drink other than breast milk)
  • Try not to give your baby a dummy
    It can make it more difficult for your baby to attach to your breast.
    Your baby will be less likely to feed when they need to, and you are more likely to have breast engorgement and blocked ducts.
  • Support of the Family
    In the first few weeks of breastfeeding, babies need to be fed more frequently. The father and other family members can help with the household chores and baby care, to allow time for the mother to rest in between feeds.
  • Don’t be scared to ask for help
    It may take a while before you feel confident breastfeeding. Don’t be shy to seek advice during the early weeks; see Where to go for help for more useful information.
    Think twice if you intend to stop breastfeeding because more difficulty may be encountered for restarting.

What should I feed my baby and when?

Breast milk contains all the nutrients your baby needs for healthy development in the first six months of life. Babies under four months should not be given solid foods because they can’t digest food yet. You can start giving your baby solid foods when they are about six months old. Some babies may require solids earlier, so ask your doctor and dietitian for advice.

Some foods should not be given to babies before they reach six months. This is because their immune systems are too young to handle foods that can cause allergies or contain harmful bacteria. These include foods containing wheat, gluten, eggs, fish, shellfish, liver and soft and unpasteurised cheeses. If there is any family history of food allergy, please consult your doctor and dietitian for advice as to whether your baby needs to avoid specific foods, whilst still having a nutritious balanced diet. You should also seek their advice on how to reintroduce those foods into your baby’s diet.

At six months, babies are ready to start eating solids. At this stage, babies can sit up with support, control their heads and move food around their mouths. Their digestive and immune systems are also stronger and able to handle foods.

Your baby will need breast milk or formula milk until they are at least a year old. Cow’s milk and soy milk is not suitable until your baby is one year old as it contains too much protein, salt and other nutrients. Low-fat milk should not be given to children under two years and skimmed milk should not be given to children under five years.

Special requirements

Children with a good appetite who eat a wide variety of foods may not need special dietary requirements. Consult your doctor and dietitian before giving any supplements to your children.

Where to go for help

The following can offer support with breastfeeding and/or advice on breastfeeding.

  • Ask your doctor
  • Seek advice and help from a nearby Maternal and Child Health Centre
  • Visit the Family Health Service (FHS) at http://www.fhs.gov.hk
  • Call the FHS Breastfeeding Hotline on 2961 8868
  • Contact the Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative Hong Kong Association on 2838 7727
  • Contact the Hong Kong Breastfeeding Mothers’ Association on 2540 3282
  • Contact the La Leche League Hong Kong at http://www.LLL-HK.org

What should I eat when breastfeeding?

When you are breastfeeding, your body will provide everything the baby needs in your milk, so to benefit your own health you should try to eat a varied and balanced diet. Aim for at least five portions of vegetables and fruits each day and choose high-fibre foods such as wholegrain bread and breakfast cereals, and pulses (such as soy bean and red kidney bean). You also need to include some protein foods such as lean meat, chicken, eggs and pulses. Dairy foods such as milk, cheese and yoghurt are also good sources of protein. A mother generally needs an extra 500 kcal/day of energy intake during the first 6 months of exclusive breastfeeding.

Fish is another good source of nutrients (e.g. iodine, high quality proteins) and a number of oily fish are rich in omega-3 fatty acids which are important for the growth of your baby’s nervous system. You should however try to choose a wide variety of fish and avoid overindulgence of a small range of fish species.

Your hormones will make you feel thirsty while you are breastfeeding, and you will need to drink more to prevent dehydration. Water, milk and unsweetened fruit juices are all suitable. If you do have alcohol or caffeine, try to have them only occasionally.

Special requirements

You should be able to get all the other nutrients you require from a varied and balanced diet. Consult your doctor and dietitian before taking any dietary supplements.

Top tips for a healthy diet

Choosing a healthy balanced diet is important for reducing our cancer risk. Following these tips will ensure you are taking a good range of nutrients.

  • Base your meals around plant foods like vegetables, fruits, lentils, beans and wholegrains such as brown rice and wholegrain bread.
  • Remember your 5-A-DAY! Opt for a colourful variety of vegetables and fruits every day.
  • Eat red meat in moderation (less than 500g cooked weight) and avoid processed meats such as bacon and ham.
  • Avoid drinking alcoholic drinks. If consumed at all, limit to one drink for women a day.

For more information and lots of exciting recipes, please visit www.wcrf-hk.org

Did you know that many cases of cancer could be prevented? For more practical information on choosing a healthy diet, managing your weight and becoming more active to help reduce your risk, visit WCRF HK's website: www.wcrf-hk.org

WCRF HK’s Recommendations for Cancer Prevention

  1. Be as lean as possible without becoming underweight
  2. Be physically active for at least 30 minutes every day
  3. Avoid sugary drinks. Limit consumption of energy-dense foods (particularly processed foods high in added sugar, or low in fibre, or high in fat)
  4. Eat more of a variety of vegetables, fruits, wholegrains, and pulses such as beans
  5. Limit consumption of red meats (such as beef, pork and lamb) and avoid processed meats
  6. If consumed at all, limit alcoholic drinks to 2 for men and 1 for women a day
  7. Limit consumption of salty foods and foods processed with salt (sodium)
  8. Don’t use supplements to protect against cancer
  9. Special Population Recommendations

  10. It is best for mothers to breastfeed exclusively for up to 6 months and then add other liquids and foods
  11. After treatment, cancer survivors should follow the Recommendations for Cancer Prevention

And, always remember – do not smoke or chew tobacco

WCRF HK is part of the WCRF global network

World Cancer Research Fund Hong Kong (WCRF HK)
Room 601, On Hong Commercial Bldg.,
145 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong
Tel: (+852) 2529 5025 Fax: (+852) 2520 5202
Web: www.wcrf-hk.org

“Stopping cancer before it starts”

©2010 World Cancer Research Fund & Family Health Service, Department of Health

(Published 01/2010)

癌症預防從母乳餵哺開始

此單張是有關母乳餵哺對你及嬰兒的好處。按照世界衛生組織(WHO)的嬰幼兒餵食策略建議:應以純母乳餵哺嬰兒至六個月大,隨後逐漸添加適當的固體食物,同時持續餵哺母乳至嬰兒兩歲或以上。

為何母乳對嬰兒最好?

母乳含有嬰兒出生後首六個月健康發展需要的所有營養,孩子開始進食固體食物後,母乳亦會持續帶來益處,有助保護嬰兒免受感染或減低患病的機會。

餵哺母乳有助加強母嬰的身體接觸及增進感情的聯繫。純以母乳餵哺指嬰兒只進食母乳,並不加添其他的飲品或食物,甚至清水。建議在產後一小時內開始餵哺母乳,並於嬰兒有需要時餵哺,即不論早晚,每當嬰兒有需要時便餵哺。

這建議刊載於世界癌症研究基金會全球網絡的第二份專家報告「食物、營養、體力活動與癌症預防」內,這報告檢閱了所有現存有關飲食、體力活動、體重管理及癌症風險的科研項目,並歸納了十項防癌建議。在第二份專家報告發表後,專家估計約有三分之一的癌症個案是可透過健康的飲食習慣、恆常運動及維持健康體重來預防。

此單張集中討論有關母乳餵哺的建議:

最理想是以純母乳餵哺嬰兒至六個月大,隨後逐漸添加適當的固體食物,並持續餵哺母乳至嬰兒兩歲或以上。

對母親的好處 – 餵哺母乳減低患乳癌的風險

或許你已知道餵哺母乳提供的許多好處,但你可能不知道餵哺母乳能減低母親患上乳癌的風險。根據世界癌症研究基金會第二份專家報告,有可確信的證據顯示餵哺母乳能為任何年齡的婦女提供預防乳癌的功能;證據亦顯示餵哺母乳的時間愈長,好處亦愈多。

餵哺母乳是如何減低母親患上乳癌的風險呢?餵哺母乳會減低母體內和癌症有關的荷爾蒙水平。同時,餵哺母乳後,身體會把乳房內遺傳基因(DNA)受到破壞的細胞清除,這都是減低母親日後患上乳癌風險的因素。

餵哺母乳亦有助你減去於懷孕期間所額外增加的體重。

對嬰兒的好處 – 以母乳餵哺的好處能維持至成年階段

餵哺母乳亦會為嬰兒於兒童成長階段及至成年時期的健康提供好處。

以母乳餵哺的嬰兒於長大後超重或肥胖的機會一般較低。這對預防癌症尤其重要,因為有可確信的證據顯示過重會增加患上大腸癌、食道癌、胰臟癌、腎癌、子宮內膜癌及乳癌(更年期後婦女)的風險。

以母乳餵哺的嬰兒出現如濕疹及哮喘等過敏的機會亦較低。

於嬰兒時期曾獲母乳餵哺的成年人患高血壓及糖尿病的機會也較低。

成功餵哺母乳的貼士

  • 確保嬰兒的吸吮方法正確
    奶量便會充足,足夠嬰兒飲用,同時可避免乳房出現脹痛的情況。
  • 盡量避免添加其他食物或飲品
    按寶寶需要頻密餵哺,能確保奶量充足。為嬰兒提供其他食物或飲品會減低奶量,並增加嬰兒受感染的機會。(為嬰兒提供母乳以外的食物或飲品前,請先向醫生諮詢)
  • 盡量避免吸吮奶嘴
    吸吮奶嘴會減低吸吮乳房的意慾,妨礙嬰兒學習如何正確地吸吮乳房,導致餵哺出現困難;同時你亦會較容易出現乳房脹痛及乳管堵塞的情況。
  • 家人的支持
    在初生首數星期,嬰兒需要較頻密的餵哺。父親和家人可分擔家務和幫助照顧嬰兒,讓母親能在餵哺之間稍作休息。
  • 不要害怕向人求助
    你可能需要一段時間才能熟練地餵哺母乳。別害怕尋求他人的意見(尤其是學習餵哺初期)。更多有用的資訊請參閱單張內「尋求協助」的部分。
    若你想停止哺乳,請必須三思,因為要「從頭開始」所面對的困難可能更多。

甚麼時候應給孩子甚麼食物?

母乳含有嬰兒出生後首六個月發展需要的所有營養素。四個月或以下的嬰兒還未能消化食物,因此這段期間不應為他們提供任何固體食物。你可於嬰兒約六個月大時開始引進固體食物,某些嬰兒或需要較早進食固體食物,因此你應諮詢醫生及營養師的意見。

在嬰兒六個月大以前,他的免疫系統還未能處理一些較容易引致敏感或含有害細菌的食物,如小麥、麩質(gluten)、雞蛋、魚類、貝殼類、肝臟及未經巴士德消毒 (pasteurised) 的芝士等;因此,不應讓嬰兒於六個月大以前進食這些食物。假若家族有食物敏感的病歷,請向醫生及營養師查詢孩子是否需要避免某些食物及諮詢有關問題,例如:如何保持均衡的營養飲食,日後如何把這些食物重新引進孩子的飲食中。

當嬰兒六個月大時,他們已準備好開始進食固體食物。在此階段,嬰兒在有支撐的情況下能坐起來,能控制頭部及把食物在口內移動。他們的消化及免疫系統亦開始強壯起來,並能處理食物。

嬰兒直至一歲以前,需要進食母乳或嬰兒奶粉。由於牛奶及豆奶含有過多的蛋白質、鹽分及其他營養素,因此牛奶及豆奶並不適合一歲或以下的嬰兒飲用。此外,給兩歲以下的兒童飲用低脂牛奶或五歲或以下兒童飲用脫脂奶也是不適當的。

額外需求

食慾良好及進食多元化食物的兒童不需要額外的營養補充。在考慮讓兒童服用任何補充劑前,請先諮詢醫生及註冊營養師的意見。

尋求協助

假若你需要尋求母乳餵哺的指導或協助,以下機構均提供母乳餵哺的諮詢服務:

  • 向你的家庭醫生查詢
  • 到附近的母嬰健康院尋求指導及意見
  • 致電衞生署家庭健康服務母乳熱線 2961 8868
    瀏覽網址 http://www.fhs.gov.hk
  • 致電愛嬰醫院香港協會 2838 7727
  • 致電香港母乳育嬰協會母乳熱線 2540 3282
  • 瀏覽香港國際母乳會網址 http://www.LLL-HK.org

餵哺母乳期間應進食甚麼?

在餵哺母乳時,身體所製造的母乳會為嬰兒提供所需的營養素,因此,一個營養均衡的飲食有助你維持健康。應以每天進食最少五份蔬果為目標,並多選擇膳食纖維豐富的食物如全麥包、全穀早餐、黃豆和紅腰豆等豆類。你亦需食用一些含蛋白質的食物如瘦肉類、蛋類和豆類。牛奶、芝士和乳酪等奶類食物亦含豐富的蛋白質。在純以母乳餵哺的首六個月,母親每天一般需要較平常多500千卡熱量。

此外,魚類亦含有豐富的營養素例如碘和優質蛋白質,許多高脂肪的魚類含豐富的奧米加-3脂肪酸,對嬰兒神經系統的發展十分重要。日常飲食應嘗試選擇不同種類的魚,避免過量或偏好食用單一或某幾種魚類 。

在餵哺母乳時,荷爾蒙或會令你感到口渴,你應多飲水來避免脫水。清水、牛奶、未有添加糖分的果汁均適合飲用。如要飲用含酒精或咖啡因的飲品,應只間歇飲用。

額外需求

你可透過一個多元化及均衡的飲食來攝取所需的營養素。在服用任何補充劑前,請先諮詢醫生及註冊營養師的意見。

健康飲食首要貼士

要減低癌症的風險,選擇一個均衡的健康飲食是重要的。跟從以下貼士可確保你攝取充足的營養素。

  • 飲食以植物性食物為主,包括蔬菜、水果、豆類和全穀物(如糙米及全麥包)。
  • 緊記每日五份蔬果!每天盡量選擇色彩繽紛及多元化的蔬果。
  • 適量進食紅肉(每週500克,以煮熟重量計算)及避免加工肉類如煙肉及火腿。
  • 避免飲用酒精飲品。 如要喝酒精飲品,女士每天應以一杯為限。

欲知更多相關資訊及教人雀躍的食譜,請瀏覽世界癌症研究基金會(香港)網站 www.wcrf-hk.org

你知道大部分癌症個案是可以預防的嗎?欲知更多關於如何選擇健康飲食、管理體重和增加運動量來預防癌症的實用資訊,請瀏覽世界癌症研究基金會(香港)網站:www.wcrf-hk.org

世界癌症研究基金會(香港)預防癌症的建議

  1. 在體重不致於過輕的情況下,越瘦越好
  2. 每天最少運動30分鐘
  3. 避免飲用含糖的飲品。限制進食熱量密度高的食物(特別是高糖份或低纖或高脂肪的加工食物)
  4. 多吃不同種類的蔬果、全穀物和豆類食物
  5. 減少進食紅肉(如牛肉、豬肉和羊肉),以及避免食用加工肉類
  6. 如要喝酒精飲品,男士每天不應喝多於兩杯,而女士則以一杯為限
  7. 限制食用高鹽份的食物和經鹽(鈉)加工的食物
  8. 不要使用營養補充劑來預防癌症
  9. 給特別人士的建議

  10. 最理想是純以母乳餵哺嬰兒至六個月大,然後加添其他飲品和食物
  11. 在治療結束後,癌症倖存者應跟從本會預防癌症的建議

並請謹記 — 切勿吸煙或咀嚼任何煙草類產品

世界癌症研究基金會(香港)
是世界癌症研究基金會全球網絡的其中一員

世界癌症研究基金會(香港)
香港灣仔軒尼詩道145號安康商業大廈601室
電話:(+852)2529 5025 傳真:(+852)2520 5202
網址: www.wcrf-hk.org

防癌未然

© 2010 世界癌症研究基金會及衞生署家庭健康服務

(01/2010 出版)