Health Watch for Young Babies (Birth to 3 months)

Before discharge from hospital, your newborn baby should have been examined by a doctor to make sure that he/she is healthy enough to go home. After registering with our Maternal & Child Health Centre, a routine examination will be arranged for your baby. The aims of these early examinations are to identify any congenital abnormalities or other significant neonatal conditions that may require further medical attention, and to record the current state of health of your baby for future reference. However, not all health problems, including congenital ones, are detectable through these early examinations and some may only be apparent later on. Although this is not common, young babies (especially newborn) can become ill and may deteriorate quite quickly. It is therefore important that you know when to seek medical advice promptly.

The following are indicators of serious illness in babies that parents should take note of and act appropriately:

Lethargy and Sleepiness

Newborn babies spend most of their time sleeping. However, your baby should wake up every few hours, feed well and look contented and alert when awake. You should be particularly cautious if there is a sudden change from his/her usual pattern—this may be a sign of a serious illness. If he/she appears too tired or sleepy, is rarely alert and cannot be woken up for feeding, you should bring your baby to the doctor.

Breathing Difficulty

Newborn babies usually take a few hours to settle to a normal pattern of breathing at about 20-40 breaths per minute. The breathing is usually most regular while he is sleeping. Occasionally when awake he may breathe rapidly for a very short period of time and then return to the normal pattern.

You should bring your baby to the doctor if you notice that he/she:

  • Is persistently breathing very fast, say more than sixty breaths per minute when he/she is less than two months old or more than fifty breaths per minute when he/she is 2-3 months old
  • Looks effortful to breathe and is unable to suck
  • Shows flaring of his nostrils when breathing in
  • Has dusky or bluish discoloration of the skin and lips

Circulation problem

Sometimes the hands and feet of newborn babies may appear blue when exposed to the cold environment but should turn pink as soon as they warm up. Occasionally his face, tongue and lips may turn a little blue when holding his breath momentarily while crying hard. You do not need to worry as long as the colour of these areas quickly return to normal once he/she calms down. However, if your baby becomes pale suddenly and persistently or turns blue all over, there may be problems with his heart or lungs. Immediate medical attention is needed.

Hydration condition

Babies can become dehydrated easily and quickly. You must make sure your baby has adequate intake of fluid, especially when vomiting and diarrhoea are occurring. Calculate the volume of milk taken over the past 24 hours and compare with his/her usual intake, which is about 10-22 oz (300-660ml) daily in the first month. If you are breastfeeding your baby, take note of the frequency and duration of active suckling and compare with his/her usual feeding pattern. If you are not sure whether your baby is feeding adequately, you should seek advice from the birthing hospital or any MCHC. You may monitor the fluid intake by observing your baby's urination. If your baby passed noticeably less urine over 24 hours, eg. less than 6 well-soaked nappies in young babies by the end of the first week, he/she may be at risk of dehydration. You should bring your baby to the doctor.

Distended Abdomen

Most babies have their abdomen somewhat distended especially after a large feed, but it should feel soft between feeds especially when the baby is sleeping, if his/her abdomen feels persistently swollen and firm and at the same time has not passed stool or flatus for one day or more, or is vomiting repeatedly, you should bring him to the doctor as it may signal a more serious problem with his bowel.

Fever

Whenever your baby appears unusually cranky or warm, take his/her temperature. Taking armpit temperature is a safer choice and especially advised for babies under 3 months old. If armpit temperature is higher than 37.3 °C / 99.1 °F or tympanic temperature is higher than 38 °C / 100.4 °F, you should bring him/her to a doctor as it may signal an infection. Early medical attention is necessary as young babies' conditions can deteriorate very quickly.

See your doctors immediately if your baby

  • Appears pale, drowsy and hot
  • Is lethargic or cries excessively
  • Vomits green or blood stained fluid
  • Will not feed at all or dramatic change in appetite
  • Has convulsion
  • Persistently breathing very fast or effortful to breathe
  • Stops breathing for 15 seconds or more
(Content revised 08/2013)

新生嬰兒健康須知 (出生至三個月)

新生嬰兒在出院前一般都已經接受駐院醫生的常規身體檢查,以確保嬰兒的健康狀況良好。到母嬰健康院登記後,醫生也會安排替嬰兒作一次例行的身體檢查。檢查的目的是及早發現先天性異常或新生嬰兒可能出現的重要健康問題,並記錄嬰兒當時的健康狀況,作日後參考之用。但是,這些早期的檢查並不能把所有的健康問題(包括先天性的問題)診斷出來,有些問題可能會在以後的日子才出現。還有的是嬰兒(特別是新生嬰兒) 在患病後,病情可以變化得很快。雖然這些情況並不常見,父母必須留意,以便在適當的時候尋求醫生的意見。

以下是一些顯示嬰兒可能有嚴重疾病的訊號:

神情呆滯及昏睡

一般來說,新生嬰兒的睡眠時間較長,但仍會每隔數小時醒來一次吃奶,而且顯得滿足,精神和活潑。若嬰兒的表現異於平常,而且轉變來得突然,這可能是嬰兒患上嚴重疾病的徵兆,你便應特別留意。總括來說,若嬰兒看來很疲累或睏倦,到了吃奶時候都不願醒來,那麼你便應帶他去看醫生。

呼吸困難

嬰兒出生後,一般需要數小時才會適應正常的呼吸模式,約每分鐘20 – 40 次。嬰兒通常在睡覺時的呼吸最有規律。當他醒著,偶爾會有很短暫的急速呼吸,這也是正常的。

若你發現寶寶有以下情況,便應盡快帶他去看醫生:

  • 持續急速的呼吸:兩個多月以下的嬰兒每分鐘呼吸多於 60 次;兩至三個月大的嬰兒每分鐘呼吸多於50 次
  • 看來呼吸吃力或有困難,吃奶時吸吮乏力
  • 每當吸氣時鼻孔明顯地張大
  • 皮膚和嘴唇呈現暗灰或帶藍的顏色

血液循環問題

當新生嬰兒的手和腳暴露在寒冷的環境中,有時會呈現藍色,但嬰兒的身體暖和後很快便恢復粉紅色。嬰兒的面部、舌頭及嘴唇在哭得非常厲害時,有時會因呼吸短暫停頓而變藍。只要他安靜下來後,顏色迅即恢復正常,便不用擔心。若嬰兒突然並持續地變得蒼白或全身轉藍,可能是他的心臟或肺部出現了問題,應立即請醫生診斷。

身體水分情況

嬰兒較容易和迅速地出現脫水的問題,特別是當嬰兒有嘔吐或腹瀉的情況。在這情況下,你必須確保他能吸收足夠的水分。若以奶粉餵哺,可計算過去24 小時內嬰兒所吃的奶量,再與他日常吃的奶量比較。一般滿月前的嬰兒每天約吃奶六至八餐,每天奶量大約10至22 安士( 300-660 毫升)。若用母乳餵哺嬰兒的話,可與他平日吸吮的次數和時間作比較。如你對嬰兒吸吮母乳的分量有任何疑問,應向醫院或母嬰健康院醫護人員查詢。

你可觀察嬰兒排尿的狀況,以監察他攝取的水分是否足夠。若你的嬰兒在24 小時內排出的小便明顯減少,例如滿一周大而每天濕透的尿片少於六片,嬰兒(特別是新生嬰兒)便可能有脫水的危險,你應帶他去看醫生。

腹脹

大多數嬰兒的腹部都有點脹起,尤其是吃飽後。但在兩餐之間,特別是熟睡時,腹部應該是鬆軟的。若嬰兒有持續腹脹,觸摸下感覺堅實,並且已有一天或以上沒有排便或放屁,或出現持續嘔吐情況,這可能表示他的胃腸道出現問題,你應帶他去看醫生。

發燒

當嬰兒顯得不尋常地煩躁或渾身發熱,便應替他量度體溫。腋探最為安全,尤其適用於三個月以下之嬰兒。若腋探高於37.3 °C / 99.1 °F或耳探高於38 °C / 100.4 °F,表示嬰兒可能受了感染,父母便要帶他去看醫生。若出生數星期大的嬰兒發燒,病況有可能會迅速惡化,你應該盡快帶他去找醫生診治。

若寶寶有以下情況,應立即帶他去看醫生

  • 膚色顯得蒼白、昏昏欲睡、發燒
  • 神情呆滯或異常地哭鬧不休
  • 嘔吐綠色或混有血絲的液體
  • 不肯進食或胃口驟降
  • 出現抽搐
  • 呼吸急速或有困難
  • 呼吸停頓15 秒或以上
(08/2013 修訂內容)