Switching milk formulae for babies

  1. Will it affect my baby’s health if I switch to another brand?

    Standard infant formula milk is essentially cow milk -based and manufactured with reference to the nutritional content of breast milk. As manufacturers have to adhere to international or national standards for infant formulae, they are very similar in composition.

    In general, healthcare professionals would not recommend parents to switch their babies to another brand for minor problems. Yet, if there are genuine needs, switching to another brand should not affect babies’ health.

    It is, however, important that parents ought to choose the appropriate formulae for their babies. Specifically, for children-

    1. from birth to 6 months -

      For babies taking cow milk-based infant formula (for 0-6months), you can change directly to another brand of cow milk-based infant formula. However, you should not switch to high protein “follow-up formula” (for 6 months or above) as this will overload your babies’ kidneys, leading to dehydration, gastroenteritis and even brain damages;

    2. 6-12 months –

      You can continue to feed your babies with infant formula (for 0-6months) or follow-on formula (for 6-12months).

      At around 6 months, babies should start to take complementary foods. In the beginning, milk still remains as the main source of nutrients. However, when your children consume substantial amounts and varieties of other foods, the amount of milk intake can be decreased gradually. Regular cow’s milk is not recommended for infants less than 1 year old;

    3. 1 year or beyond –

      By 1 year old, your children should be enjoying a balanced diet, with a good variety of solid foods that replaces milk as the main source of nutrients. Your children can drink whole (full-fat) milk, such as chilled pasteurized cow’s milk or UHT milk;

    4. on special formulae –

      You should seek advice from attending doctors, nurses, midwives or dietitians.

  2. How exactly should I change my baby to another brand of formula milk? Is there anything I need to pay special attention to?

    Different brands of formula milk have different dilution methods. Therefore, it is definitely against recommendation for parents to mix two or more brands of milk powder when preparing one feed.

    There is actually no fix rule on how to switch formula milk. The pace will depend on individual baby’s acceptance. As the taste of different formulae does differ, it is not unexpected that some children may need more time to adapt. Parents can increase the number of feeds of the new brand gradually. If everything goes smoothly, you can adopt a faster pace until all feeds are replaced by the new brand.

    Another piece of advice: Parents may notice a change in their children’s bowel habits, whether in terms of frequency, texture and/or colour of the stool. This is accountable and acceptable as the amount of additives like iron, prebiotics, etc, does vary amongst the different brands. Do not over-worry and try to switch to a third brand. In fact, if children do not have allergy to the original cow milk-based formula, it is unlikely that they will develop allergy on switching to another cow milk-based formula.

(Content revised 08/2012)

替孩子轉換奶粉

  1. 替嬰幼兒轉奶粉牌子,是否會影響他們的健康?

    標準嬰兒配方奶粉大多以牛乳提煉,和參考母乳的營養成分加工而製成。製造商生產奶粉,一般要符合國際標準或生產商所在地的嬰兒奶粉標準。因此,市面上的嬰幼兒配方奶粉,成分均大同小異。

    一般而言,醫護人員並不鼓勵父母輕易因小問題轉換奶粉。但如真的有需要替嬰幼兒轉換其他牌子的配方奶粉,亦不會影響他們的健康。

    然而,家長必須選擇適合孩子的配方奶粉。具體來說,當孩子為

    1. 初生至6個月:

      現已飲用以牛奶製成的「初生嬰兒配方」奶粉,可直接轉用其他牌子以牛乳製成的「初生嬰兒配方」奶粉。切記不可食用高蛋白「較大嬰兒配方」,因為高蛋白奶粉對新生嬰兒的腎臟會造成負荷,亦可能引致脫水、腸道炎、甚至腦部受損的情況。

    2. 6-12個月:

      可選擇初生至6個月「初生嬰兒配方」或6-12個月「較大嬰兒配方」。當嬰兒約6個月大,便應開始引進固體食物。初期,奶仍是主要的營養來源,但當孩子進食固體食物分量逐漸增加及多樣化,吃奶量便可逐步減少。全脂牛奶並不適合12個月以下的孩子。

    3. 一歲或以上:

      到了一歲,多樣化及均衡的固體食物已可代替奶成為主食,為孩子提供各種營養素。孩子可飲用全脂牛奶,如冷藏的鮮牛奶或以高温消毒的全脂牛奶(UHT紙包奶)。

    4. 飲用特別配方奶粉:

      應由醫生按個別情況建議使用。

  2. 家長如何正確地替孩子轉奶粉?轉奶粉時需要注意什麼?

    不同牌子的奶粉一般有不同的沖調方法,因此,我們並不建議家長以兩款或以上不同牌子的配方奶粉混合沖調。

    轉換奶粉的過程並沒有硬性規定,只要視乎寶寶接受新口味的程度來調節。因為個別奶粉有不同的味道,有些孩子可能需要多些時間來適應。家長可慢慢增加新粉奶的餐數。若孩子能接受,便可加快增加新奶粉的餐數,直至把舊奶粉完全取代。

    家長替孩子轉用其他配方粉奶時,可能會發現孩子的大便次數、質地及顏色有所改變,這是因為不同牌子奶粉的添加成分(例如鐵質、益生素等)會略有不同,這些都是正常的現象。家長無須過分擔心或再轉換其他牌子配方奶粉。事實上,若孩子對最初飲用的牛乳配方奶粉沒有過敏反應,轉用其他牌子的牛乳配方奶粉是不會引致過敏反應的。

(08/2012 修訂內容)