My baby refuses to drink from a cup

Q: My baby can drink water from a cup, but refuse milk from it. What should I do?

A: This is probably related to their learning experience. Some parents seldom use cup to offer milk when babies are learning to drink from a cup. Babies, therefore, have little experience of drinking milk from a cup. If parents often use cup to offer water, babies are likely to associate drinking cup with water. As a result, babies can be reluctant to drink milk from a cup even they have learnt drinking from it.

As a parent, you don’t need to feel frustrated. With your help and consistency, your baby should learn it through time. It might require a little while for your baby to get use to this new experience. Be persistent with the change – use cup to offer milk. Try not to go back to bottle even if he/she is consuming less milk, and don’t allow drinking while he/she is sleeping or lying in bed. If you think your baby is drinking less milk and you are concerning about their calcium intake, you would provide other dairy products and calcium-rich alternatives such as cheese, yogurt and tofu for them. You can also try adding milk in your dishes, for example milk and egg custard, milk porridge.

Q: Can I offer milk to my baby when I introduce a cup to him?

A: Yes. You can put milk, water, diluted juice. In fact, you can put any fluids that are suitable for babies into their cups. This helps them to get familiar with drinking different beverages from a cup and wean from the bottle timely.

Q: What should I do if my baby refuses to drink from a cup?

A: Sometimes babies may refuse using the cup. The following tips help you overcome their resistance:

  1. Check the cup
    • If you are using a spill-proof cup, there is a non-spill valve inside or a teat that make drinks flow very slowly; which means that your baby would need to suck harder to get the drink. To make it easier for your baby, simply remove the valve or teat such that water flows freely when the cup is tilted. Moving from a lidded training cup to a cup would facilitate baby to learn the skills required to drinking from a free-flow cup;
    • May be your baby just doesn’t like that training cup and its material. Try another one with different designs, different shapes and texture of the spout
  2. Make them feel interested
    • Your baby may have refused drinking from the cup because he/she does not aware there is drinks inside ;
    • Bring some of the drink (either be the water or milk) on to the mouthpiece of the drinking cup, and let your baby have a taste of it - this might just get them interested.
  3. Babies love to imitate others
    • Drink with them and demonstrate to them;
    • Let your baby join the family meals – they are more likely to try when they see others are drinking and eating.
  4. Babies only drink very small amount at a time
    • Babies usually take a sip each time. They do not drink large amount of water as they get most of the water intake from milk and other moist/soft foods.
    • Try offer water more often, make drinking cup accessible for them. Forcing baby to drink or eat can increase their resistance.
  5. Offer the cup when they are in good mood
    • The best time to encourage your baby to use a cup is when they are wide awake and pleasant;
    • Avoid giving your baby the cup to try when they are hungry, thirsty, grumpy, or tired.

Q: My 6 month old is breastfed and has not used the bottle so far. She does not like the training cup. Should I introduce a bottle to her first then training cup?

A: You can offer your baby a training cup directly. When you introduce the training cup, she may refuse it at first because her oral muscles are not ready. Do try again few days later. Most children are able to drink from a cup between 7 to 9 months of age. If your baby has never really used a bottle, you don’t need to introduce a bottle and then change to cup. These save you from weaning the bottle to cup in the future.

(Published 02/2015)

寶寶不願意用杯子

問:我的孩子會用杯子來喝水,但抗拒用杯子喝奶,怎麼辦?

答:一歲前學用杯子時,有些家長甚少讓孩子用杯子喝奶,因而未能令他有用杯子喝奶的概念,所以即使他會用杯子喝水,但仍會不願意用杯子喝奶。

然而,家長不要氣餒,你要堅定地鼓勵他,給他用杯子喝奶時陪伴着他,給他時間去把杯子和喝奶聯繫起來,逐步轉用杯子喝奶;而不要因他少喝了奶而放棄給他用杯子喝奶。家長可在正餐茶點提供芝士、乳酪和豆腐等,讓孩子吸收足夠鈣質;亦可用奶入餚,烹調食物,如牛奶麥片、鮮奶蒸蛋等。

問:學用杯子時,可以先給寶寶的杯子盛奶嗎?

答:寶寶學用杯子時,家長可把奶、水、清湯、稀釋的果汁等各種合適的飲料倒進杯子給寶寶喝,讓他容易接受用杯子喝各種流質,好使他適時減少用奶瓶喝奶。

寶寶不願意用杯子,怎麼辦?

答:寶寶不願意使用杯子時,家長可參考以下的提示:

  • 檢查寶寶杯子的款式
    • 若你給寶寶的杯子是設有防漏裝置,他需要用很大的氣力,才能從杯子喝上一口水。要讓寶寶容易喝,你可移去杯蓋上的防漏裝置,那麼,當他略為傾側杯子,便喝到流出來的水。這亦有利他掌握用普通杯子時需要的協調能力。家長要留在寶寶身旁協助他;
    • 寶寶可能不適應杯子的物料或設計。你可以給他嘗試其他款式,如不同形狀和硬度的杯嘴或用開口的小水杯。他可能要試多個款式,才找到適合他的杯子。
  • 提起寶寶對杯子的興趣
    • 引入杯子的初期,寶寶還沒有意識杯子是喝奶、喝水的器皿,他可能因此而對杯子完全不感興趣;
    • 你可在杯嘴沾點水、奶或稀釋了的果汁,來提起他對杯子的興趣。
  • 利用寶寶愛模仿他人的特點
    • 給寶寶用杯子喝時,向寶寶示範怎樣用杯子;
    • 哥哥、姊姊或其他家人吃飯、吃茶點時,讓寶寶也參與。當寶寶看見別人愉快地用杯子,他便會跟着做。
  • 理解寶寶每次喝水的分量不多
    • 一般寶寶吃的食物,包括奶、半固體的食物,如粥、水果、瓜菜等全都是水分充足的食物。他們需要補充額外的水分其實不多,所以每次只會喝一小口,來潤濕口腔;
    • 家長可增加提供喝水的次數,讓他補充水分。喝水多少,由他決定,不要勉強他,以免令他把杯子和對杯子產生負面情緒,越益抗拒使用杯子。
  • 寶寶心情好時才讓他肯嘗試用杯子
    • 寶寶清醒和愉快的時候,才是鼓勵他用杯子的最佳時機;
    • 避免在寶寶口渴、肚子餓、發脾氣或疲倦時,給他試用杯子。

問:寶寶6個月大,全吃母乳,從沒有用奶瓶,她又不喜歡用杯子,是否應先給她學用奶瓶才學用杯子?

答:全吃母乳的寶寶可直接學用杯子。你的寶寶只是6個月大,她抗拒用杯子可能是因為口肌能力尚未能協調好,你可在數天後再讓她嘗試。大部分孩子可以在7至9個月大之間懂得用杯子。若你想給她喝點水,可以用匙羹。寶寶沒必要要用奶瓶,若讓她現在習慣用奶瓶,日後你要額外處理停用奶瓶的問題。

(02/2015 出版)