Why should I choose to breastfeed my baby?

Why should I choose to breastfeed my baby?

Breastmilk is the natural food for your baby. Babies in their first two years of life are more vulnerable to infection because their immune system is less efficient to produce antibodies. Breastmilk, especially colostrum (also known as the “first milk”), contains natural antibodies, living cells, enzymes, etc., which can fight, control and kill bacteria. Therefore, breastmilk can enhance your baby's immunity and reduce her chance of having many illnesses, in particular, intestinal and respiratory infections.

Breastmilk is a living substance. Its composition covers a wide range of nutrients that will adjust accordingly to meet your baby's needs at different developmental stages. Breastmilk contains a variety of fatty acids, including DHA and Taurine, which help the development of the brain, eyes and guts. Besides, the digestive enzymes in breastmilk also facilitate your baby to digest and absorb high-quality nutrients.

Since breastmilk contains large amounts of antibodies and living cells, exclusive breastfeeding acts as if forming a protective film in your baby's gut which helps to defend bacteria and allergens. On the contrary, mixed feeding, i.e. breastfeeding supplemented with formula milk or water, will reduce the effect of the protective film and hence increase the risk of infection and allergy.

Breastfeeding also provides many benefits to you:

  • It helps contraction of the uterus and hence reduces postpartum bleeding or anaemia
  • It helps to reduce the body weight gained during pregnancy
  • It reduces the risk of breast and ovarian cancers
  • It allows intimate contact that promotes mother-baby bonding, which also enhances your satisfaction
  • You can breastfeed anytime. It is convenient, time saving and economical

Moreover, breastfeeding is more environmental-friendly as it saves all the resources that would be used for manufacturing and reconstituting formula milk.

To learn more about infant feeding, please contact the healthcare professionals of the Obstetrics / Paediatric service or Maternal and Child Health Centres for advice.

為甚麼要選擇餵哺母乳?

為甚麼要選擇餵哺母乳?

母乳是寶寶的天然食糧。寶寶出生後的首兩年,自我製造抗體的能力較低,容易受到感染。母乳,特別是初乳,含天然抗體、活細胞、酵素等,有抗菌、抑菌、殺菌的功效。可增強寶寶的免疫力,預防多種疾病,減低腸道和呼吸道感染的機會。
充滿生命力的母乳,會因應寶寶不同時期的生長需要,製造和調配出最合適的成分,給予寶寶獨家的全面營養,母乳含多種脂肪酸,包括 DHA ,Taurine 等等,幫助腦部、眼睛、腸胃等發育。這些天然食材配合母乳中的消化酵素,有助消化及吸收優質的養分。
由於母乳含有大量抗體及活細胞,以全母乳餵哺,寶寶的腸道就會好像有一道保護膜,阻止細菌和致敏原入侵,相反若混合餵哺,如補充奶粉或水分,保護膜的作用便減低,因而增加感染和敏感的風險。
餵哺母乳亦給媽媽很多好處:

  • 如幫助子宮收縮,減少產後大量出血和貧血的情況
  • 有助消減懷孕時增加的體重
  • 減低患上乳癌和卵巢癌的風險
  • 親密的身體接觸,加強媽媽和寶寶之間的感情聯繫,增加媽媽的滿足感
  • 可隨時餵哺母乳,既省時、省錢又方便

另外可減少因製造和沖調奶粉所消耗的資源,有助環保。

若想了解更多嬰兒餵哺的資訊,請向你的產科/兒科或母嬰健康院的醫護人員查詢。