What are the health risks of using formula milk?

What are the health risks of using formula milk?

  • Most formulae on the market tried to add a variety of nutrients to make their content comparable to breastmilk. However, the content of formula milk can never be the same to that of breastmilk. It is because the nutrients added in formula milk are artificial and are very different from those of breastmilk in terms of the structure, function, and absorption. Currently, there is no sufficient clinical evidence to show that these added nutrients can bring long-term health benefits to the baby
  • In addition, formula milk has no natural antibodies, growth factors and living cells etc, thus, it does not help in fighting diseases
  • Contamination of formula milk can occur in any step of its manufacturing process from production, storage to transportation. Bacteria may also grow when reconstitution of milk is not done properly, which is risky to the baby’s health
  • Formula milk is expensive. Also, reconstituting formula milk takes more preparation, such as sterilising the milk bottles and teats, etc.
  • After being fed with formula milk supplement, the baby’s desire to be breastfed may reduce. Mother's confidence on breastfeeding will thus be adversely affected, followed by diminishing breastmilk production. Eventually, both mother and baby cannot enjoy the benefits of breastfeeding

To learn more about infant feeding, please contact the healthcare professionals of the Obstetrics / Paediatric service or Maternal and Child Health Centres for advice.

餵哺配方奶粉有甚麼健康風險?

餵哺配方奶粉有甚麼健康風險?

  • 市面上大部分的配方奶粉都嘗試模仿母乳的主要成分,添加各種營養素而調製而成,但卻非與母乳成分完全一致。由於這些添加營養素並非天然,無論在構造、功能、吸收各方面,均與母乳的營養素有很大差別。現時並沒有足夠的臨牀證據,顯示這些添加營養素對寶寶的健康有長遠的幫助
  • 配方奶粉亦沒有母乳中的天然抗體、生長因子及活細胞等成分,所以沒有抗病的功效
  • 配方奶粉在製造、儲存和運送的過程中,都有機會受到各種有害物質污染。在沖調時,若處理不當,亦可能讓細菌滋生,對寶寶的健康構成一定風險
  • 配方奶粉價格昂貴,沖調奶粉亦需要較多的準備,例如消毒奶瓶、奶嘴等
  • 使用配方奶粉餵哺寶寶之後,會減低寶寶吃母乳的意欲,從而打擊媽媽餵哺母乳的信心,最後奶量也隨之而減少,令寶寶及媽媽得不到母乳的好處

若想了解更多嬰兒餵哺的資訊,請向你的產科/兒科或是母嬰健康院的醫護人員院查詢。