My baby's face appears red and dry, is it eczema?

My baby is having dry and red skin on the face and it seems very itchy. The doctor told me that it is eczema, so what is eczema?

Infantile eczema, also known as atopic dermatitis, is a very common condition and is believed to be related to genetic factors. It is common that other family members may suffer from allergic diseases such as allergic rhinitis or asthma.

Eczema usually first appears at 2 to 3 months old, it tends to wax and wane. It may improve at around the age of 2 but some may persist into adulthood. Eczema mostly first appears on the face, then on the elbows and knees. The skin looks red and dry, sometimes small blisters may appear. The affected areas are extremely itchy which may affect sleep. So, if the above condition exists, you should bring your baby to visit a doctor.

How can eczema be prevented?

Prevention includes proper skin care, diet and environment.

  1. For skin care, you should keep your baby’s skin clean and moist. You can use lukewarm water and soap-free bathing gel to bathe your baby. Pay special attention to the folded parts of the skin. Apply fragrance-free moisturizer during dry weather and after cleaning. Keep your baby’s nails short to reduce the chance of skin injury by scratching.
  2. Pay attention to the temperature and humidity of the environment. Keep the room temperature at a comfortable level. Wipe off the baby’s sweat to avoid irritation.
  3. For baby’s clothing, cotton is the preferred material. Avoid wool, silk and nylon materials to be in direct contact with your baby’s skin to avoid irritation. Use gentle laundry detergents to wash baby’s clothes and remember to rinse them thoroughly afterwards.
  4. Keep the home clean. Use a vacuum cleaner or wet cloth to remove dust. This can prevent dust particles from floating in the air during cleaning. Wash beddings and curtains using hot water of 60 degree Celsius. Avoid using carpets and keeping furry pets.
  5. Studies show that breastfeeding helps preventing eczema. If breastfeeding is not possible, consult a doctor for the need to switch to a special milk formula.

面部又紅又乾,是否患濕疹呢?

最近小朋友的面又紅又乾,很痕癢似的,醫生說是濕疹,為什麼會有濕疹呢?

嬰兒濕疹俗稱奶癬,學名是異位性皮膚炎。嬰兒濕疹是非常普遍,相信與遺傳有關。通常患者與其家人都是比較容易患其他過敏性疾病,如鼻敏感及哮喘等。

濕疹多數是在小朋友二至三個月大時出現,一般到了兩歲就會逐漸康復,但少部分會持續至成年。濕疹多數由面部開始,之後兩邊手肘及膝蓋都可能會有。皮膚會變紅及乾燥,有時會形成一些小水泡。小朋友會感到皮膚痕癢至難以入睡,甚至有灼熱感覺。所以,如果有這個情況,家長要帶寶寶看醫生。

如何預防濕疹呢?

  1. 皮膚護理,保持皮膚清潔和滋潤。你可用暖水和帶有鹼性的沐浴露替小朋友洗澡,要特別注意清潔皮膚皺摺位置。洗澡後,塗無香料的潤膚霜。還要經常替小朋友剪指甲或戴手套,以減低抓傷的機會。
  2. 保持室內溫度的適中。如果小朋友有汗,便要揩他抹乾或勤更換衣物。
  3. 小朋友的衣物最好選擇棉質,避免羊毛、絲質和尼龍等質料直接接觸到小朋友的皮膚。清潔衣物時,要選擇性質溫和的衣物清潔劑,避免使用含有香味的洗衣粉和柔順劑,來減少刺激皮膚。
  4. 接觸過多塵蟎或動物毛髮都會增加患濕疹的機會。所以家居清潔時,用吸塵機或濕布抹塵可減少塵埃飛揚。另外,需要每星期用 60 度熱水清洗牀單和窗簾布。千萬不要使用地氈和飼養有毛的寵物。
  5. 飲食方面,研究顯示,餵哺母乳對預防濕疹有一定幫助,如果不能夠餵哺母乳,在決定轉用奶粉時,應該先諮詢醫生建議。