How can I ease my baby's teething discomfort?

My baby not only wants to chew something hard and has drooling of saliva, he is also irritable and has less appetite during teething, what can I do to help?

Teething may cause your baby to have a desire to chew something hard. It is normal. You can use teething ring with liquid inside, wash it clean and put it in the fridge for a while for your baby to chew, but do not put it in the freezer as it will be too hard.

Often the gum around the teeth will get swollen during teething and your baby may become irritable. You can try to comfort him by playing with him to distract him. However, if the swelling appears red or blue, it is likely abnormal and you should bring your baby to visit a dentist.

If your baby is drooling frequently, you can clean his mouth and change the bib more frequently to keep good hygiene. Give more water to your baby. It should be at an appropriate temperature. The milk can be a bit cooler than usual to decrease gum discomfort. Apart from these, the food for your baby should be cooked in a more tender way for easy chewing. Usually, your baby’s appetite will improve after teething.

My baby has frequent bowel openings recently and some low grade fever too. Is it due to teething?

Teething does not cause fever. However, during teething, your baby will have a desire to bite. This will increase the chance of infection. If your baby has conditions like fever, runny nose or diarrhea, you should consult a doctor.

Someone suggests that I can use some medication to rub on my baby’s gum to relieve his discomfort during teething. Is that alright?

To avoid your baby from swallowing the medication, you should avoid using this method to relieve the discomfort during teething, unless the medication is prescribed by your doctor.

出牙期間不適,怎麼辦呢?

寶寶好像快要長出乳齒,他不但喜歡咬東西、經常流口水,而且煩躁不安、胃口欠佳,怎樣舒緩他出牙期間的不適呢?

寶寶出牙時,牙肉痕癢是正常現象,他會喜歡咬東西,家長只要把含有液體的「牙膠」清洗乾淨,放進雪櫃一會,然後給寶寶咬,就可以舒緩他的牙肉不適,但注意不要將「牙膠」放進冰格。

出牙時,寶寶牙肉還會有腫脹的徵狀,所以他會有點煩躁不安,家長宜加以安撫,花多些時間陪他玩耍,讓他專注於遊戲中,以減輕不安。不過,若腫脹的部位呈現紅色或藍色,便不是出牙的正常現象,家長必須要帶他見牙醫。

若寶寶經常流口水,你可勤替他抹乾口和更換口水肩,來保持衞生。還要讓他多喝水來補充水份,注意水的温度要適中,奶可以稍為「座」凍,來舒緩牙肉疼痛。另外,食物要煮得軟身一點,會較易入口;通常出牙後,胃口便會改善。

最近寶寶的大便次數多了,還有輕微發燒,是否因為出牙呢?

寶寶不會因出牙而發燒。不過,因他出牙時會喜歡咬東西,因此增加細菌感染的機會。如果出現發燒、流鼻水或肚瀉等現象,家長必須立刻帶他見醫生。

有朋友建議在牙肉塗上藥膏來舒緩不適,可以嗎?

為免寶寶吞下過多藥膏,父母應用剛才提及的方法來舒緩寶寶的不適。除非是醫生建議,否則要避免在牙肉塗上藥膏。