What can I do if my baby has constipation?

My baby has dry and hard stools, what can I do?

If your baby has dry and hard stool, it may cause tearing of the anal tissue when the stool passes through the anus, which is very painful. In order to avoid the pain, the baby will refuse bowel opening and the condition will worsen. To improve stool consistency, beware of the following points:

First, if the baby has just changed to follow-on formula milk, the stool will become harder. Follow-on formula generally has lower whey-to-casein protein ratio than infant formula, which takes longer time to digest. Thus constipation may be easier to occur. Actually, if your baby is feeding well on solid foods, you can continue feeding him with the more easily digestible infant formula.

Secondly, after introducing solid foods to your baby, you need to make sure that your baby is having enough water, in addition to fruits and vegetables for fibre intake. Mashed apple, pear, broccoli and spinach are good choices.

If you have tried all the methods mentioned above and your baby’s condition still not improved, or if your baby is having abdominal distension or blood in the stool, you should consult a doctor. Finally, do not use any laxatives or enemas by yourself as these may cause adverse effects to your baby.

有便秘,應怎麼辦?

寶寶的大便又乾又硬,應怎麼辦?

若寶寶的大便又乾又硬,當乾硬的大便經過肛門時,可能將肛門的組織撕裂,形成痛楚。為了避免痛楚,他會壓抑排便的需要,令便秘的情況變得更嚴重。要改善大便質地,家長需要留意以下幾點:

首先,如果寶寶剛轉用較大嬰兒配方奶粉,大便可能會變得乾硬。因為通常較大嬰兒配方奶粉的乳清蛋白與酪蛋白的比例會較初生嬰兒配方的為低,需要較長時間消化,這些都會令便秘更易出現。其實只要寶寶進食固體食物的情況理想,家長可以繼續讓他吃較易消化的初生嬰兒配方。

第二,進食固體食物後,家長除要給他足夠的水分外,更可加添蔬果來增加纖維,蘋果蓉、梨蓉、碎西蘭花或菠菜等都是很好的選擇。

若家長已運用以上方法,情況仍未改善,又或者寶寶出現腹脹或大便有血的情況,便要向醫生查詢。家長要緊記,千萬不可使用任何瀉藥或灌腸劑,以免造成不良後果。