How old can babies start eating solid foods?

How old can babies start eating solid foods?

When your baby approaches six months; his oral muscles, intestinal and renal functions will usually have developed well enough to start processing of solid foods. Signs of readiness for solid foods include: your baby can hold his head up; sit upright while leaning against the back of a chair; reach out and grasp objects with his hands; and he shows an interest in adults’ food. When you see these signs, it is time to let your baby try solid foods.

I have heard that babies can be started on solid foods when they are three months old. Is it true?!

Babies younger than four months old should not be fed with foods other than milk. If babies are started on solids too early, they have a higher risk of developing food allergies and their growth might be stunted due to a decrease in milk intake. So, parents should never add rice cereal to milk bottles for their babies.

My baby is almost six months old and whenever I feed him rice cereal, he spits it out. Why is that?

Each baby’s oral muscles develop at a unique pace. If he uses his tongue to push against a spoon that was put in his mouth or if he spits out food, this means that he is not ready for solids yet. You can try again in one week but be sure not to force him.

寶寶多大可以開始進食固體食物?

寶寶多大可以開始進食固體食物?

在約六個月大時,寶寶的口肌發展、腸臟消化能力、腎臟功能一般已成熟,可以開始處理到固體食物。一般來說,當你看到他能夠挺起頭、靠著椅背坐起來、懂得伸手抓物件,或者看到你的食物時表露出想嘗試的樣子,便可以開始餵他吃固體食物。

聽說,到三個月大時可以讓寶寶吃點米糊,這樣做對嗎?

未足四個月大的寶寶是不能吃奶以外的食物,過早進食固體食物,容易引致過敏,亦可能令他減少吃奶而影響生長。所以家長絕不應把米糊加進奶瓶給嬰兒吃。

寶寶將近六個月大了,餵他吃米糊,為甚麼他只會吐出來?

孩子的口部肌肉發展快慢亦有差異,如果用匙羹餵他吃時,他的舌頭頂著匙羹或把口中的食物吐出來,這表示他還未預備好吃固體食物,你可以一星期後再試,切勿強迫他。