When is it appropriate to replace a milk feed with congee?

My baby just started eating congee and can’t finish one bowl. What can I do?

In the early period of introducing solid foods, babies are still drinking milk as their main diet. They just start to learn how to chew and swallow food. When they eat congee, it is easy for them to be tired and to stop eating. Since the amount of solids eaten is small and not enough to satisfy their needs, parents need to supplement babies with milk after eating solids, according to their babies’ needs.

Under what situations can a milk feed be replaced with congee?

For babies older than 6 months, their requirement on iron is higher. They must eat iron-rich foods everyday. Since plain rice congee contains only trace amount of iron, green leafy vegetables, meat, fish, eggs or beans need to be added. You can add small amount of plant oils. When the amount of solid foods taken in each meal is enough and when there is no need to supplement milk after eating congee with vegetables and meat for several days consistently, the congee can then replace a milk feed.

At the age of around eight months old, most babies can eat about half to more than half bowl of congee with vegetables and meat, hence the congee can replace one milk feed.

Apart from meat, what other foods are rich in iron?

Iron in fish, meat and seafood is easy to be absorbed. Egg yolk also contains a rich source of iron. Liver contains a very high level of iron, however, only once every 1 to 2 weeks are advised for babies.

Leaves from green-leafy vegetables like Choy Sum and little Bok Choy, dried beans like red kidney beans and tofu are also rich sources of iron. Babies who eat smaller amount of meat can eat more iron-enriched baby rice or wheat cereals to replace congee. Eating more vitamin C rich fruits like kiwi fruits and oranges during mealtimes can enhances the body to absorb more iron.

怎樣才可以粥取代一餐奶呢?

寶寶剛剛開始吃粥,卻吃不完一碗,應該怎麼辦?

在引進固體食物初期,寶寶仍以吃奶為主,他才開始學習咀嚼和吞咽。吃粥時,很容易因咀嚼倦了而不想繼續吃,所以只是吃很少分量未能滿足他,家長需按他所需,於餐後補奶。

怎樣才能以粥取代一餐奶呢?

由於6 個月以上的寶寶對鐵質的需要較高,必須每天吃鐵質豐富的食物,而白粥只有微量的鐵質,所以需要加入蔬菜類及肉、魚、蛋類或豆類。當中可加入少量的植物食油。當每次吃的分量足夠,能持續數天吃菜肉粥後而不需要補吃奶,這便可以取代一餐奶。

一般來說,大約在八個月大時,每餐吃的分量大概是半至大半碗有菜有肉的粥,才能夠取代一餐奶。

除了肉類,甚麽食物是鐵質豐富的呢?

魚、肉、和海產的鐵質最容易吸收。蛋黄亦含有豐富鐵質。肝臟所含的鐵質非常高,但只宜每1 至2 星期吃一次。

綠葉菜的菜葉,如菜芯、小白菜,乾豆類如紅腰豆,豆腐亦有豐富鐵質。較少吃肉的寶寶可以多吃加入了鐵質的嬰兒米糊和麥糊來代替白粥。進食時亦同時吃些含維生素C 豐富的水果,如奇異果、橙等,能增加身體吸收鐵質。