I often have leg cramps. Is that because of not enough calcium? What should I do?

I often have leg cramps, is it because I do not have enough calcium? What can I do?

Leg cramps are usually caused by muscle tension and commonly occur when pregnant women are resting, especially while sleeping.

Why do I have leg cramps?

The reasons for leg cramps are unclear so far. However, studies have shown that the hormonal changes and the expanding uterus cause slower blood circulation in the lower part of your body. This might be related to the leg cramping. Moreover, severe vomiting can cause an imbalance of electrolytes in your body. Cramping may result if there is not enough potassium or calcium in the blood. Leg cramps can be very painful but there are no long-term effects.

What can I do when I experience leg cramps?

When you have leg cramps, stand up straight or lie down on your back and stretch your legs while moving your toes towards your head, then massage your legs. You can also use a warm towel to massage your legs. Pregnant women should have regular and appropriate exercises, such as, stretching, moving and massaging the calf muscles. You can also put your legs on top of a pillow while resting.

Here is an exercise that you can try: first, lie down on a flat surface, facing up. Put your legs on top of two pillows. Move your ankles up and down, inward and outward, and then combine these movements by making a circle. Repeat ten times. If you want to find out more, please refer to the “Antenatal Exercise” pamphlet.

In terms of nutrition, medical research has shown that magnesium helps decrease leg cramps. Pregnant women can obtain magnesium from the following foods: whole wheat bread, dark green leafy vegetables (such as spinach and kale), tofu, soy products, dairy products, nuts, or fish. Adding calcium or salt to your diet does not help treat leg cramps.

What else should I pay attention to?

If your leg cramps persist, become more severe, or you have serious vomiting or cramping in other parts of your body, then you should consult a doctor as soon as possible.

小腿經常抽筋,是否缺鈣,應怎樣處理?

小腿經常抽筋,是否缺鈣?應怎樣處理?

小腿抽筋通常由肌肉緊張引起。常發生在孕婦休息期間,特別是睡眠時。

為什麼小腿會抽筋?

目前為止,小腿抽筋並無明確的成因。不過,曾有研究提出,荷爾蒙的轉變及子宮日漸長大,導致下身血液循環減慢,這可能與小腿抽筋有關。此外,嚴重嘔吐令身體內電解質失衡,血液內的鉀和鈣過低,亦會引致抽筋。小腿抽筋時可疼痛非常,但並無長遠影響。

小腿抽筋應如何處理呢?

當小腿抽筋時,應先立正地站着,又或在仰卧時伸直腿部,腳尖指向頭部,然後慢慢按摩小腿,亦可用暖和的毛巾按摩小腿。

在日常生活,孕婦要維持定時及適量的活動,如伸展及活動小腿,以及不時按摩小腿;休息時亦可以用枕頭墊起小腿。另外,孕婦平時可做些小腿運動:首先仰臥在平坦的地方,雙腳用兩個枕頭墊高,足踝向上及向下擺動,然後向內及向外擺動,最後打圈地轉動,重複十次。若想知多些有關資料,你可參考「產前運動」單張。

於飲食方面,根據醫學研究結果,鎂質對減少小腿抽筋是有幫助的。孕婦可進食以下食物來攝取鎂質,如全麥麪包、深綠色蔬菜(如菠菜、芥蘭)、豆腐、豆類製品、奶類飲品、果仁或魚。添加鈣質或增加食鹽並不能有效地治療小腿抽筋。

那麼有什麼地方需要注意呢?

如果小腿抽筋持續或愈來愈嚴重、出現嚴重嘔吐的現象或身體其他部分出現抽筋,便要盡快找醫生檢查了。