What is a uterine fibroid?

The doctor tells me that I have a fibroid but he also says that fibroids do not affect my health. So, what is a fibroid?

Fibroids are also called leiomyomas or fibromas, which are very common. As the ultra-sound scans have become more popular, fibroids are found in many women without any symptoms at routine ultrasound examinations. You should not be too worried as most of the fibroids are benign. It is not cancerous and the chance of the fibroid turning into cancer in future is very low. Besides, fibroids usually will get smaller after menopause.

What are the symptoms of fibroids?

Most of the women with fibroids do not have any symptoms. If they have any, usually there will be heavy menstrual flow and a few of them may suffer from menstrual pain. If the size of the fibroid is very big, it may cause abdominal pain or distention. If the bladder is being pressed by the fibroid, you may experience frequent urges for urination. The effects of fibroids on fertility will depend on the size and the position of the fibroid.

Do I need to have a surgery?

As fibroids are benign and asymptomatic in most cases, generally, they don't need to be removed. You can take medications to decrease the menstrual flow or menstrual pain if necessary after medical consultation. The fibroid will gradually become smaller after menopause.

Under what conditions is an operation be required?

If medications cannot control the heavy menstrual flow, you have severe menstrual pain, the size of the fibroid is enlarging or it affects your fertility, then an operation may be required. Fibroids can recur even after excision. If a woman is certain that she does not want to be pregnant in the future, surgical removal of the whole uterus may be suggested by the gynaecologist so as to prevent relapse.

甚麼是子宮肌瘤?

醫生告訴我有子宮肌瘤,但又說子宮肌瘤不會影響身體,那麽子宮肌瘤是什麽?

子宮肌瘤又稱為子宮肉瘤或子宮纖維瘤,是一種十分常見的情況。隨着超音波檢查日趨普遍,很多沒有病徵的婦女都在檢查時發現有子宮肌瘤。其實,妳不用太擔心,因為絕大部份肌瘤都是良性的,與子宮癌無關,亦不會增加將來患癌的機會。況且,肌瘤通常都會在收經後慢慢縮細的。

子宮肌瘤有什麼徵狀?

多數有子宮肌瘤的婦女都是沒有病徵的。患者通常會經期過多,少部分患者可能會有經痛。如果肌瘤很大則可能引致腹痛或腹部隆起,若壓著膀胱會令患者有尿頻的感覺。至於子宮肌瘤會否影響生育的能力,則視乎肌瘤的大小及位置。

我需要做手術嗎?

既然肌瘤是良性的,又大都沒有病徵,一般來說肌瘤都是不必割除的。只要服藥減少經量及經痛,待收經後,肌瘤多會慢慢縮細的。

什麽情況才需要做手術?

若經血過多、經痛嚴重而藥物無法控制、肌瘤增大又或者影響生育,則可能需要做手術。割除肌瘤是有復發的可能。如果患者已沒有繼續生育的打算,則可以割除整個子宮,以杜絕復發的可能性。