Information on Progestogen-only injectable Contraceptives(Depo-provera)

Progestogen-only injectable

It is a synthetic hormone (progestogen). It prevents pregnancy by preventing the release of eggs from the ovaries, thickening the cervical mucus and creating a hostile endometrium environment for fertilisation.

  • Regular Injection
  • The injection should be given every 12 weeks.
  • If you cannot attend as scheduled, please return to the Maternal and Child Health Centre within 7 days before the due date. Please do not delay your injection.

Advantages

  • It is a highly effective method. The pregnancy rate is less than 1% per year.
  • It is convenient for those who do not wish to take a pill daily or use a condom every time when having sex.
  • It is suitable for breastfeeding mothers since it does not affect the volume & quality of breastmilk and the health of the children.
  • It does not contain oestrogen and is suitable for women who cannot use contraceptive methods containing oestrogen.

Side Effects

  • Headaches, dizziness, breast tenderness are the most common side effects at the initial period of use and usually subside within the first few months.
  • For some users, there is weight gain of about 1.5-2 kg per year on average.
  • Majority of the women would have irregular menses, diminished menstrual flow or amenorrhoea which is related to the hormonal effect of the progestogen. It is normal and so there is no need to worry. If you have persistent heavy and prolonged menstruation after the injection, please return to the MCHC for assessment.
  • Generally, it takes 6 to 9 months to resume normal ovulation following discontinuation of the Progestogen-only injectable. Therefore, it takes some time for fertility to return to normal after stopping the injection.
  • Please seek medical assessment as soon as possible if you have the following symptoms such as generalised rash, fainting, headaches, weakness or tingling/numbing sensation affecting one side or one part of the body, jaundice, abdominal pain, calf pain or severe chest pain, and tell your doctor you are using the Progestogen-only injectable.

Effect on Bone Mineral Density

Overseas studies showed that the use of Progestogen-only injectable for more than two years is associated with a small reduction in bone mineral density. After discontinuation, the boneĀ  mineral density recovers in women aged 18 to 45. There is no evidence that the use of Progestogen-only injectablc increases the risk of bone fractures.

For more information, please refer to "Osteoporosis in women" leaflet published by our service.

Use more than two years

If you have used Progestogen-only injectable for more than two years, our medical or nursing staff will assess your health condition (such as whether you have heart disease, stroke, thromboembolic disease, hypertension, migraine, diabetes mellitus, liver disease, cancers, osteoporosis diseases that require long term medication and regular follow-up) before advising whether you are suitable to continue using the Progestogen-only injectable.

(Content revised 01/2013)

注射單一荷爾蒙避孕針須知

單一荷爾蒙避孕針

是透過注射一種人造荷爾蒙(黃體酮又稱孕激素),藉此抑制卵巢排卵,增加子宮頸分泌物的黏度及令子宮內膜產生變化,減低卵子受精成孕的機會,以達致避孕效果。

  • 須定期注射
  • 每12星期注射一次。
  • 如不能按時注射,可於約定日子前的七天內回健康院提前接受注射,切勿延誤。

優點

  • 避孕成效高,每年只有少於百分之一機會懷孕。
  • 免除每天服藥或每次使用避孕套的不便。
  • 適合餵哺母乳的婦女,不會影響母乳的質量及子女的健康。
  • 因為不含雌激素,可供不適宜服用含雌激素荷爾蒙避孕藥的婦女使用。

副作用

  • 使用初期可能會有頭痛、頭暈及乳房脹痛等情況出現,但一般會於短時間內消失。
  • 部分婦女的體重平均每年增加約1.5至2公斤。
  • 大部分婦女會出現月經不規則、月經量減少或沒有經期等現象。這些現象是由避孕針內的荷爾蒙造成,並非健康出現問題,不必憂慮。如果經血量增多或經期過長的情況持續,便應返回母嬰健康院接受評估。
  • 停止注射後,一般在6至9個月後才可恢復正常排卵,所以停用後或許未能於短期內受孕。
  • 除上述情況外,如身體出現其他不適的徵狀如全身出疹、暈眩、頭痛、身體一邊或身體其中一部分無力或癱瘓、皮膚或眼白變黃,又或腹部、小腿、胸口劇痛等,請盡早求醫並告訴醫生妳正在使用單一荷爾蒙避孕針。

對骨質密度的影響

根據外國研究顯示,使用單一荷爾蒙避孕針超過兩年的婦女,其骨質密度可能比其他婦女略低。但當停用後,大部分18至45歲婦女的骨質密度,會在一段時間後回到接近正常的水平。此外仍未有研究証明,使用單一荷爾蒙避孕針會增加骨折的機會。

如需要更多資料,可參閱本署出版的「婦女與骨質疏鬆症」單張。

可否注射避孕針多於兩年

若妳已使用此避孕方法達兩年,醫護人員會評估妳的個人病歷(特別是心臟病、中風、靜脈血栓塞病、高血壓、偏頭痛、糖尿病、肝病、癌症、骨質疏鬆症和長期疾病等),才建議妳是否適合繼續使用單一荷爾蒙避孕針或需要考慮轉用其他避孕方法。

(01/2013 修訂內容)