Prevention of Infectious Diseases (Rubella, Chickenpox and Fifth Disease) During Pregnancy

Rubella, Chickenpox and Fifth Disease are viral diseases. They are transmitted primarily through droplets or direct contact with infected respiratory secretions. They can also be transmitted from the mother to foetus during pregnancy.

What you need to know about Rubella, Chickenpox and Fifth Disease

Disease Incubation
Period
Symptoms Period of Communicability Effect on the Foetus
Rubella (German Measles) 12-23 days May experience 1-5day(s) history of low-grade fever, headache, malaise, enlargement of lymph nodes, upper respiratory symptoms and conjunctivitis followed by skin rash. The rash usually lasts for about 3 days, but sometimes the person might have no symptoms at all. From 1 week
before to 1 week after onset of rash.
Whether symptomatic or not, infection during the first 3 months of pregnancy may result in congenital rubella syndrome, e.g. deafness, eye lesions, heart malformations and mental retardation.
Chickenpox 10-21 days Presents with fever and itchy skin rashes, rashes develop in crops over a period of 5 days and later as vesicles. The vesicles continue for 3-4 days, then dry up and form scabs. 2 days before onset of the rash and continuing until all lesions are crusted. Infection during early pregnancy may be associated with congenital malformation of foetus. If the pregnant woman develops symptoms within 5 days prior to or 2 days after delivery, her baby is more likely to have severe illness which can be fatal.
Fifth
Disease
4-20 days Occurs mostly in children, with low-grade fever and tiredness. A typical facial rash with a “slapped cheek” appearance occurs in a few days. The rash usually resolves in 7-10 days. Symptoms are milder in adults and they may only have mild joint pain and swelling only. Most infectious one week before onset of rash.
Once the rash appears, the person is no longer infectious.
It can be transmitted from mother to foetus during pregnancy, causing abortion or foetal death.

How to prevent Rubella, Chickenpox and Fifth Disease?

Women are immune from these infections if they have acquired them during childhood or have received relevant vaccinations (e.g. rubella and chickenpox).

Pregnant women who are non-immune should avoid contact with patients diagnosed to have these diseases, and stay away from crowded and under-ventilated public places to minimise the chance of infection.

Women who are non-immune to rubella or chickenpox should consider vaccination after delivery.

What if I suffer from or suspected to have Rubella, Chickenpox or Fifth Disease during pregnancy?

If you have the following conditions:

  • Fever or rash
  • History of contact with someone suffering from Rubella, Chickenpox, Fifth Disease or other infectious disease in recent 4 weeks
  • Suspect that you are suffering from any of these diseases
  1. You should attend a general out-patient clinic or a private clinic for management of the disease.
  2. DO NOT attend obstetric clinic or Maternal & Child Health Centre (MCHC) for enquiry or antenatal check-up until you are considered non-infectious. This is to prevent spreading of the disease to other pregnant women.
  3. Please call the obstetric clinic or MCHC you have registered with to make special arrangement for your antenatal check-up.
(Content revised 07/2016)

孕婦預防傳染病須知-德國麻疹、水痘及第五病

德國麻疹、水痘和第五病都是由過濾性病毒引致的疾病。此等疾病除了由飛沫或直接接觸等途徑傳播外,胎兒亦可由母親透過胎盤而受感染。

德國麻疹、水痘和第五病簡介

  潛伏期 病徵 傳染期 對胎兒的影響
風疹(德國麻疹) 12-23天 首1 至5 天有輕微發熱、頭痛、不適、淋巴結脹大、上呼吸道症狀及結膜炎。出疹情況通常維持約3天。 有時可能是毫無症狀。 出疹前一星期至出疹後一星期。 若懷孕首三個月感染德國麻疹,無論母親有否出現病徵,嬰兒也可能會患上先天性風疹綜合症,導致失聰、眼部缺陷、心臟畸形及智力發展遲緩。
水痘 10-21天 發燒和痕癢的紅疹,紅疹約於5 天內陸續出現,及後形成小水泡,小水泡維持約3-4天, 然後變乾、結痂。 出疹前2天至水痘水泡變亁、結痂為止。 孕婦如在懷孕初期感染水痘,可導致胎兒有先天性缺陷。

若孕婦在生產前5天至產後2天開始發病,新生兒的病情會較為嚴重,甚至會致命。

第五病 4-20天 多見於兒童, 微燒及疲倦。數天後, 面頰出現像被人打了一記耳光的紅疹,紅疹會在7-10日內消失。成人的病徵會較輕微,可能只感到關節疼痛或腫脹。 出疹前一星期的傳染性較高,但出疹後一般已沒有傳染性。 病毒會在母親懷孕期間傳給胎兒,並可引致流產或胎兒死亡。

孕婦可怎樣預防染上德國麻疹、水痘和第五病?

由於大部分婦女已接受免疫接種或曾在年幼時染上此等疾病,所以她們都應產生對此病的終生免疫能力。曾接受德國麻疹和水痘免疫接種的人一般也可以對這兩種疾病產生免疫能力。

對此等疾病沒有免疫力的孕婦,應避免接觸患者,同時也應避免前往人多和空氣不流通的地方,以減少受感染的機會。如婦女沒有此等疾病的免疫力,我們建議她於產後接種德國麻疹和水痘疫苗。

若孕婦已感染或懷疑染上德國麻疹、水痘或第五病怎麼辦?

凡有以下任何一種情況:

  • 發燒或出疹
  • 最近四星期曾接觸患有德國麻疹、水痘、第五病或其他傳染病的人
  • 懷疑自己可能已感染這些疾病

孕婦:

  1. 應到醫管局普通科門診或私家診所求診。
  2. 切勿前往產科診所和各母嬰健康院查詢或接受產前檢查,直至傳染期完結為止,這樣可避免把疾病傳染給其他孕婦。
  3. 請致電所屬的產科診所或母嬰健康院為產前檢查作特別安排。
(07/2016 修訂內容)