Protecting Children’s Well-being – Say “No” to Marketing of Formula Milk

Products in Pre-primary Institutions

Current Feeding Problems among Hong Kong’s Young Children

Healthy diet of young children not only impacts their current health, but also lays the foundation for their future health as adults. Nonetheless, a recent survey conducted by the Department of Health showed that many of our preschoolers were eating an unbalance diet, characterized by overconsumption of formula milk and inadequate intake of fruits and vegetables. The survey also revealed widespread parental myths, such as “milk is indispensable for the growth and development of a child” and “Follow-up formulae are added with nutrients that promote children’s brain development, which cannot be found in other foods”.1 The unbalanced dietary patterns of our children and parental myths on milk intake could have been shaped insidiously by the pervasive marketing activities of formula milk companies.

Increasing Direct Promotion of Formula Milk Products to Young Children

The marketing of formula milk in Hong Kong is remarkably aggressive as evidenced by their enormous and increasing investments on advertising their products through the traditional and new media. Recently, we observed that companies were using pre-primary institutions as a platform to promote their products directly to young children, their teachers and parents. They offered the pre-primary institutions a basket of “educational and informational” resources and/or activities such as health talks on healthy eating and child development, etc. These resources and activities are blatantly promotional in nature, e.g. showing the image of products; presenting brand mascots or characters; distributing product samples and souvenirs with company logo or trademark; etc., aiming to target this captive audience.

*Follow-up formulae (e.g. no. 4 formula) are marketed for young children despite authorities opined that they are not necessary from the nutrition or health point of view.2 A scientific report of the European Food Safety Agency released in October, 2013 reiterated that the use of follow-up formulae “does not bring additional value to a balanced diet in meeting the nutritional requirements of young children…it is no more effective in providing nutrients than other foods that constitute the normal diet of young children”3.

Remark:

1Department of Health & the Chinese University of Hong Kong. A Survey of Infant and Young Child Feeding in Hong Kong. 2012

2World Health Assembly resolution 39.28 [1986] states that the “practice of providing infants with follow up milks is not necessary”.

3Scientific Opinion on nutrient requirements and dietary intakes of infants and young children in the European Union, European Food SafetyAuthority (EFSA), Oct 2013. Link http://www.efsa.europa.eu/en/efsajournal/pub/3408.htm

Advertising or Promotion in Pre-primary Institutions Influences Parents’ and Children’s Choices of Food

Children are vulnerable to influences of direct or indirect advertising and commercial promotional activities. Ample evidence has shown that food promotion influences children’s food preferences, purchase requests and consumption patterns.4 When marketing occurs in a school setting, the products or messages being promoted are likely to gain an implied approval or endorsement from the school authority. Further, this effect would act synergistically with other marketing activities such as television advertising, resulting in an overwhelming influence on children’s behaviour.

Healthy Eating in Young Children: the proper role of milk

  • Young children rely on a balanced diet to meet their nutritional needs for optimal growth and development as well as physical activities.
  • Milk is a convenient source of calcium and other nutrients. However, if a child drinks too much milk, this would displace his appetite for other nutritious foods and make healthy eating habits difficult to form.
  • As a part of the diet that includes a variety of foods, 360 to 480 ml milk a day is sufficient to meet the calcium needs of children aged 1 to 5 years. If children consume other calcium-rich foods such as tofu, calcium fortified soy milk, or dark green leafy vegetables, the amount of milk required would be less.
  • Children aged 2 years or above can take calcium fortified soy milk or low fat milk. Children above 5 years should preferably take skimmed milk.

The Role of Pre-primary institution: Protecting the Health of Young Children—Say “No” to Marketing Activities of Formula Milk Companies

It is the ethical responsibility and unique role of the pre-primary institution to support children under their care to establish healthy dietary habits and protect them from undue commercial influences. Pre-primary institutions should not allow any commercial activities to take place in their premises, which include but not limited to the conduct of health talks and the dissemination of free samples, gifts and information materials to children and parents. They should also decline companies’ offer of gifts, donations or sponsorships, in the name of assisting the school to improve learning facilities or environment. Pre-primary institutions are highly encouraged to make use of health education materials provided by credible sources, such as the Department of Health or other professional organisations.

Remark:

4WHO: The Extent, nature and effects of food promotion to children (December 2008)

(Published 03/2015)

保護兒童的健康—學前機構向配方奶推廣說“不”

目前香港兒童的飲食問題

孩子自小建立均衡飲食的習慣,不但對他的成長有好處,還對他長大後的健康有着正面的影響。根據衞生署最近發表的一份研究報告指出,很多幼童未能達到均衡飲食的標準,最常見的情況是飲用過量配方奶和進食過少水果及蔬菜。報告還指出,家長普遍對幼兒飲食存有不少誤解,包括認為奶是兒童健康成長不可或缺的食物;較大嬰兒配方奶的添加成分,能夠提升兒童腦部發展,並且是其他食物所沒有的1。家長對〝奶的推崇〞及孩子飲食不均衡的情況,究其原因,可能是受到奶粉商廣泛宣傳的影響。

直接向幼童推廣配方奶產品的情況有上升趨勢

本港奶粉商一貫採用極為進取的手法去推銷產品,從他們持續及不斷增加投入傳統或新媒體的龐大宣傳費便可見一斑。最近,我們還留意到他們利用學前機構作為平台,藉着向機構提供一籃子標榜着“教育性和資訊性”的物資及/或活動,例如有關健康飲食和兒童發展的健康講座等,直接向幼童、老師和父母推廣其產品。這些舉措明顯地是有宣傳目的,例如:顯示產品的影像、展示代表品牌的吉祥物或人物、派發有公司標誌或商標的產品樣本和紀念品等,務求這群目標客戶接收有關配方奶的推廣訊息。

* 儘管權威機構認為,從營養或健康的角度來看,專為幼童而設的較大嬰幼兒配方奶 (例如:4 號奶粉)是不必要的2,但奶粉商仍然在市場推銷這些產品。歐洲食品安全局於2013 年10 月發表的科學報告重申“在滿足幼童營養所需方面,較大嬰幼兒配方在均衡飲食以外不會對孩子帶來額外好處……亦不會比其他食物更有效地提供養分”3

備注:

1Department of Health & the Chinese University of Hong Kong. A Survey of Infant and Young Child Feeding in Hong Kong. 2012

2World Health Assembly resolution 39.28 [1986] states that the “practice of providing infants with follow up milks is not necessary”.

3Scientific Opinion on nutrient requirements and dietary intakes of infants and young children in the European Union, European Food SafetyAuthority (EFSA), Oct 2013. Link http://www.efsa.europa.eu/en/efsajournal/pub/3408.htm

學前機構內進行的推廣活動,影響家長和兒童對食物的選擇

兒童極容易受到直接或間接的廣告和商業宣傳活動影響。大量研究證據顯示,推廣食物的活動和廣告,會影響兒童對食物的選擇、購買習慣和飲食模式4。如宣傳贊助活動在學校內進行,家長會誤以為被推廣的訊息或有關產品已獲得校方認可。這些訊息的發放聯同其他推廣活動,例如:電視廣告,就能對兒童的行為產生更大的影響。

奶在幼童均衡飲食應有的角色

  • 幼童有賴均衡的飲食以滿足其最佳成長、發展及體能活動的營養所需。
  • 奶是一種較易獲取鈣質和其他營養的食物來源。但是,如果孩子喝過多奶,便會減低他對其他營養豐富食物的食慾,以致難以建立健康的飲食習慣。
  • 奶只是幼童日常均衡飲食的一部分。每天飲用360至480毫升便可滿足1至5歲兒童的鈣質需要。如果兒童食用其他含鈣質豐富的食物,例如:豆腐、鈣豆漿、或深綠色葉菜,所需的奶量便可減少。
  • 兩歲以上的幼童可飲用高鈣豆奶或低脂奶,五歲後則宜飲脫脂奶。

學前教育機構的責任:保護兒童健康—向配方奶公司的推廣說“不”

學前教育工作者,在維護他們所照顧的幼童,有着獨特的角色和責任,不但要幫助幼童們建立健康的飲食習慣,同時避免他們受無孔不入的商業推廣影響。所以學前教育工作者,不應准許奶粉商在機構範圍內外進行任何商業活動,包括但並不止於舉辦健康講座、向兒童和家長派發免費樣品、禮品和宣傳物料等;學前機構亦應拒絕奶粉商以協助學校改善教學設施或環境為名,而提供的禮品、捐贈或贊助。我們十分鼓勵學前機構教育者採用由可靠的機構,如衞生署或其他專業團體,所提供的健康教育材料。

備注:

4WHO: The Extent, nature and effects of food promotion to children (December 2008)

(03/2015 出版)