Glucose-6-Phosphate Dehydrogenase Deficiency (G6PD Deficiency)

Transcript

Titleļ¼šGlucose-6-Phosphate Dehydrogenase Deficiency (G6PD Deficiency)

Heading: Glucose-6-Phosphate Dehydrogenase Deficiency (G6PD Deficiency)

Sub-heading: What is G6PD Deficiency

Nurse: Hello everybody,have you ever heard of an inherited condition called Glucose-6-Phosphate Dehydrogenase Deficiency? It is also known as G6PD Deficiency in short or Favism. When taking certain drugs or foods such as fava beans or in contact with mothballs. People with G6PD Deficiency will develop acute haemolysis that is sudden damage of the red blood cells. In view of this the Department of Health provides a newborn screening programme for G6PD Deficiency. In order to find it out early and prevent health problems caused by damaged of the red blood cells. The Genetic Screening Unit of the Clinical Genetic Service under the Department of Health performs screening tests for babies born in hospitals under the Hospital Authority by testing the umbilical cord blood. For those babies born in private hospitals parents can consult their private hospitals, obstetricians or paediatricians for further information. Let us learn more about this condition by watching how a nurse counsels a couple with a G6PD Deficient baby.

Scene: Mrs Au's baby confirmed to have Glucose-6-Phosphate Dehydrogenase Deficiency. Nurse Tong from Genetic Screening Unit of Clinical Genetic Screening Service of the Department of Health counsel Mrs. Au through the phone.

Nurse Tong: Hello! This is Nurse Tong calling from the Genetic Screening Unit of the Department of Health. May I speak to Mrs. Au please?

Mrs. Au: Speaking, what's up?

Nurse Tong: Mrs. Au, congratulations on your new baby. Do you remember the Hospital has taken some umbilical cord blood from your baby for testing? Now we've got the result. Your baby is confirmed to have Glucose-6-Phosphate Dehydrogenase Deficiency, a condition commonly called G6PD Deficiency or Favism.

Mrs. Au: Oh, never. what's the problem with my baby? Is it serious?

Nurse Tong: Oh please don't get too worried.

Mrs. Au: Nurse Tong, could you explain a bit more about it?

Nurse Tong: Sure, G6PD Deficiency is the most common inherited metabolic disease in Hong Kong. It is also very common in Southern China. People with this disease do not have enough amount of an enzyme called G6PD in their red blood cells. This enzyme helps to keep red blood cells stable. Most affected people do not have any symptoms. When they are exposed to some Chinese or Western medicine, mothballs or have serious infection. Their red blood cells may be damaged in a large scale within a very short time. If this happens, large amount of haemoglobin will be broken down into excessive bilirubin (a pigment). This in turns overloads the liver and results in severe jaundice ( i.e. yellowing of the skin and the eyes).

Mrs. Au: It sounds serious. What can I do for my baby?

Nurse Tong: Try not to be too frightened. In fact, such a rapid breakdown of red blood cells can be prevented. People with G6PD Deficiency usually enjoy good health if they avoid exposing to certain triggers.

Mrs. Au: So, Nurse Tong, what should I do?

Nurse Tong: Starting from today you have to observe for any jaundice that is yellowing of skin of your baby. New born babies usually develops some degree of jaundice on 3 to 5 days after birth. This will gradually go away without affecting the health of the baby. On the other hand, if a baby with G6PD Deficiency is exposed to certain triggers that caused the breakdown of the red blood cells. The jaundice may appear on the first day after birth or at a later time. Moreover the jaundice may persist or even get worse.

Mrs. Au: What will happen to babies if jaundice persist and get worse?

Nurse Tong: Just as I've mentioned breaking down of the red blood cells produce a lot of bilirubin. This pigment can enter the brain of the new born baby causing long term brain damage like hearing loss, limp movement disorder and intellectual impairment etc. However with early detection and treatment the jaundice can be controlled effectively. So please do arrange an appointment with the Maternal and Child Health Centre as soon as possible to follow up your baby's jaundice.

Mrs. Au: So apart from jaundice, are there other symptoms I have to take note of?

Nurse Tong: The major symptoms include: yellowing of the white of the eyes and dark coloured urine. Besides, the baby may appear overly tired and sleepy. Older children may look pale and extremely tired. They may also complain of difficulty in breathing and heart beating rapidly. If the above symptoms are observed, you should consult the doctor immediately.

Mrs. Au: Just now you've mentioned that our baby should avoid exposing to certain triggers, so what are these triggers?

Nurse Tong: It's a very good question. People with G6PD Deficiency should remember to avoid the following things for their whole life: Firstly avoid the following Chinese herbal medicines such as Rhizoma Coptidis(Huang Lien) , Calculus Bovis (Neu Huang), Flos Chimonanthi Praecocis (Leh Mei Hua), Flos Lonicerae (Kam Ngan Fa) and Margaritas. Secondly Western medicine such as certain antibiotics, Antimalarials, Aspirin group Antipyretics. If used in high dose should be avoided as well. To make it simple all medicines should be prescribed by doctors. In order to avoid taking those drugs which can trigger red blood cell damage. Thirdly for food stuff, don't let your baby eat fava beans that is broad beans or their products such as fava pastry. Lastly for household products, avoid your baby in contact with mothballs or naphthalene-containing products. The above information is listed on the G6PD Deficiency card also known as green card and the leaflet on G6PD Deficiency produced by The Department of Health. Please keep this handy green card with you all the time

Mrs. Au: Nurse Tong, we haven't got the green card yet. How can I get it?

Nurse Tong: Don't worry. If you haven't received it from your hospital, we will post it to you in a few days. Finally remember to show this green card to your doctor and inform him your baby has G6PD Deficiency. Do you have any other questions?

Mrs. Au: Hmm, not now, thanks.

Nurse Tong: Should you have any other questions, you can call our hotline
2361 9979 or, ask the nursing staff or medical staff in the Maternal and Child Health Centres.

Scene: Mr Au and Mrs Au remove all triggers causing damage of red blood cells from their home.

Mr. Au: Mummy, I've followed nurse Tong's advice and removed all the food and products our baby should avoid. Like that Flos Lonicerae and Margaritas we've bought before. The mothballs inside our wardrobes have also been removed. I've also reminded grandma, grandpa and the maid not to use mothballs anymore. Oh, how about that Bo Ying Tan and insecticide? Should we dispose of them as well?

Mrs. Au: Hmm, let's ask the nurse in the Maternal and Child Health Centre next time

Sub-Heading: Frequently Asked Questions

Scene: Mr Au and Mrs. Au bring their baby to Maternal and Child Health Centre for registration.

Nurse HO: Good morning Mr. and Mrs. Au. I'm Nurse Ho. I've just checked your baby's jaundice. It's not very high, so you don't need to worry. Today, it's your first visit to our centre. Do you have any questions about taking care of your baby?

Mrs. Au: Nurse Ho my baby has G6PD Deficiency,can I continue breastfeeding him?

Nurse HO: In general, you can continue breastfeeding your baby. However, if you need to take those medicines or Chinese herbal medicines stated on the green card. You have to stop breastfeeding temporarily to prevent passing those medicine to the baby via the milk. Meanwhile it's better that you continue to express breastmilk to maintain milk supply. In that case you can continue breastfeeding after stopping those medicines.

Mrs. Au: Nurse Tong of the Genetics Screening Unit told me that people with G6PD Deficiency should avoid certain Chinese herbal medicines and Western drugs. Can my baby take those Chinese folk medicine like Bo Ying Tan and traditional milk supplement for babies indigestion?

Nurse HO: Indeed, parents should not give medicine to their babies without any doctor's prescriptions. As the Bo Ying Tan contains Calculus Bovis and Margaritas, we should not give this to babies with G6PD Deficiency. The ingredient of over the counter herbal supplement for babies indigestion varies greatly. It's better to avoid giving this to babies. If there really is a need, you should seek advice from a qualified Chinese medicine practitioner.

Mrs. Au: Besides the food mentioned in the green card, is there any other food that my baby should avoid?

Nurse HO: Whenever you buy anything, you should check ingredients for any triggers stated on the green card. For example certain brands of vermicelli and mixed beans may contain fava beans. If you are not sure check with the manufacturer or doctor directly.

Mr. Au: We have to avoid using mothballs, but how about camphor?

Nurse HO: According to the latest research findings, natural camphor will not trigger breakdown of red blood cells in people with G6PD Deficiency. However the purity of camphor containing products in the market varies. Therefore it is better not to use them.

Mr. Au: Can we also use scented aroma, fabric softener and insecticide?

Nurse HO: Except those triggers mentioned in the green card, there is no current evidence showing that aroma, fabric softener, food or products containing menthol, chamomile tissue and diapers, insect repellents, mosquito coil and medicated oil etc can damage the red blood cells in people with G6PD Deficiency. However you should check the ingredients before using them. Should you have any doubts, you'd better consult the manufacturer or your doctor.

Mr. Au: If a baby with G6PD Deficiency, does not have any problems after eating the food which should be avoided. Can he eat that food in the future?

Nurse HO: Even though a baby with G6PD Deficiency has no adverse effect after taking those food that may trigger haemolysis. You shouldn't let your baby eat them again. The degree of damage to the red blood cells depends on other factors like the person's health condition and the amount of triggers exposed to. Therefore for safety's sake, the baby should avoid taking those foods for their entire life.

Mr. Au: When he goes to school, is there any problem if his classmate's uniform has a mothball odour?

Nurse HO: It's common that the uniform of classmates carries odour of mothballs. However the dose of mothballs is much lower and it would not lead to haemolysis. If your child smells the odour of mothball, he'd better get away from it. More important is the affected person and their caregiver should not use mothballs for their clothes. Do you have any other questions?

Mr. Au: No, that's very clear already. Thank you for your explanation.

Nurse HO: Please remember to come to our workshop on G6PD Deficiency next month.

Sub-heading: Inheritance of G6PD Deficiency

Scene: A group of parents attending the G6PD workshop in Maternal and Child Health Centre

Nurse Ho: Good morning parents. I am Nurse Ho. Welcome to today's workshop on Glucose-6-Phosphate Dehydrogenase Deficiency, a condition commonly called G6PD Deficiency or Favism. Today I'll focus on the inheritance pattern of the condition and answer some of your questions. Do you know that G6PD Deficiency is the most common metabolic disease in Hong Kong? Around 4.5% of baby boys and 0.5% of baby girls in Hong Kong have G6PD Deficiency.

Dad A: Nurse Ho, my wife and I do not have G6PD Deficiency. why does our son have it?

Nurse Ho: G6PD Deficiency is an X-linked recessively inherited condition. X-linked means that gene responsible for this condition is on the X chromosome one of the sex chromosomes. Being recessively inherited it means that not all generations will have this disease. Boys only have one X chromosome. When this carries the gene, he will get G6PD Deficiency. On the other hand, girls have two X chromosomes. Therefore, if only one of her X chromosome carries the G6PD Deficiency gene and the other X chromosome is normal. She will only be a carrier of the gene, but with no disease. If both of her X chromosome carry this gene, she will get G6PD Deficiency. That is why most of the people with G6PD Deficiency are males. In your situation you do not have the G6PD Deficiency. But your wife is likely a carrier of the gene.

Dad A: So, if we have a baby in the future, will that baby inherit G6PD Deficiency?

Nurse Ho: If mother is the carrier of G6PD Deficiency and father is unaffected. For each pregnancy, there is a 50% chance that a son will have G6PD Deficiency and 50% chance being unaffected. If the baby is a daughter then there will be 50% chance that she will be a carrier of the deficient gene and the rest will not be affected.

Mum A: My son has G6PD Deficiency. If he gets married in the future, will his children inherit the same condition?

Nurse Ho: For people with G6PD Deficiency their children may or may not inherit the condition. It depends on the genes of their partners. If the father is G6PD Deficient and mother is unaffected. Then for each pregnancy all sons will not be affected. While all daughters will be carriers of the deficient gene. If the father is G6PD Deficient and mother is a carrier of the gene. Then for each pregnancy there is a 50% chance for a son to be G6PD Deficient and 50% chance he will be unaffected. On the other hand there is a 50% chance for a daughter to be G6PD Deficient and the rest will be a carrier.

Mum B: What about my daughter? She has G6PD Deficiency. Will her baby have the condition?

Nurse Ho: If the mother is G6PD Deficient and father is unaffected. Then for every pregnancy all sons will be G6PD Deficient. All daughters will be carrier. In addition, pregnant ladies should inform their doctor about her family history of G6PD Deficiency for antenatal counseling. Although there are no preventive measures for the condition during pregnancy. Early detection and with the right precaution can protect babies from any harm caused by acute haemolysis.

Dad B: In this case, does my baby need regular blood testing and follow up consultation?

Nurse Ho: Provided that people with G6PD Deficiency can ensure lifelong avoidence of the food stuffs and products mentioned in G6PD green card, it is not necessary to have regular blood taking or follow up consultation.

Dad A: I have one more question. If my child grows up and his immunity becomes stronger. Can he recover from this disease?

Nurse Ho: G6PD Deficiency is an inherited disease, it is not the problem of the immune system. Therefore the baby will not outgrow this with age or when his immunity is stronger. If babies with G6PD Deficiency can avoid exposure to triggers. They can lead a healthy and active life as other children. Therefore, please always take with you the green card and inform medical staff about the G6PD Deficient status of your baby during consultation. Also, let your child know that he has the condition and teach him to take precautions to the food or products mentioned on the green card. Do you have any other questions?

All parents: No, thank you very much.

Scene: Mr. Au and Mrs. Au return home after the workshop

Mr. Au: Mummy please don't put the green card on the sofa. Have you forgotten what the nurse has said? We should always bring the green card with us. In addition we have to bring along this card during every consultation.

Mrs. Au: Oh, sorry. Could you put the green card in my hand bag please?

Mr. Au: Okay

Nurse: After watching this scenario, you should understand more about G6PD Deficiency. Let's go over the main points

  1. Children should avoid exposing to triggers of haemolysis that is damage to red blood cells.
  2. Should there be any signs and symptoms of acute haemolysis, please consult doctor immediately.
  3. Always bring along with you the G6PD Deficiency card.
  4. Inform medical staff that your baby has G6PD Deficiency during consulatation
  5. Let the child understand G6PD Deficiency at the earliest possible age.
  6. Teach him to avoid food and products which can trigger haemolysis.

Although G6PD Deficiency will not be recovered when the child grows up. If the affected person can pay attention to the above precautions, he can also enjoy good health like other children. Finally, if you wish to learn more information about G6PD Deficiency or to receive telephone counseling, you can dial the following hotline 2361 9979 or visit the following websites www.cgs.dh.gov.hk or www.fhs.gov.hk

葡萄糖六磷酸去氫酵素缺乏症(G6PD缺乏症)

劇本

標題:甚麽是葡萄糖六磷酸去氫酵素缺乏症

護士:各位家長,大家平常有沒有聽過葡萄糖六磷酸去氫酵素缺乏症,簡稱G6PD缺乏症或者俗稱蠶豆症這種遺傳病呢?患者會因為進食了某些藥物或食物,例如蠶豆又或者接觸臭丸之後,就會引致急性溶血,即是紅血球突然被破壞,所以衞生署會為新生嬰兒,提供葡萄糖六磷酸去氫酵素缺乏症的篩選服務,目的是希望及早發現有這個病的寶寶,和避免因為急性溶血而令寶寶的健康受到影響。衞生署醫學遺傳服務遺傳篩選組,會為在醫院管理局醫院出生的寶寶,抽取臍帶血化驗,就可以知道寶寶是否患有這一類的遺傳病,至於私家醫院出生的寶寶,父母就可以向有關醫院、產科或兒科醫生,查詢這個化驗的資料。現在讓我們看看,姑娘怎樣輔導一對有G6PD缺乏症寶寶的父母,進一步了解這一個遺傳病。

場景:衞生署醫學遺傳服務遺傳篩選組的唐姑娘以電話輔導一位有G6PD缺乏症寶寶的母親歐太

唐姑娘:你好,我是衞生署遺傳篩選組的唐姑娘,請問歐太在不在?

歐太:我是,有什麼事?

唐姑娘:首先恭喜你成為新任媽媽,或者你還記得寶寶出生時,醫院為他抽了一點臍帶血化驗,現在有了結果,證實你寶寶有葡萄糖六磷酸去氫酵素缺乏症,簡稱G6PD缺乏症又或是蠶豆症,不知你有沒有聽過這個症呢?

歐太:吓!沒有啊?那,寶寶是否有問題?是否很嚴重?

唐姑娘:你不用太擔心的。

歐太:唐姑娘,你可否詳細解釋這個病呀?

唐姑娘:好呀。G6PD缺乏症,其實是香港最常見的新陳代謝遺傳病,在中國南方其實很普遍的,患者的紅血球缺乏了一種G6PD酵素,這酵素的作用是幫助穩定紅血球,使紅血球不容易受到破壞,這個病通常沒有特別病徵,當患者接觸到一些外來刺激,例如某一些中藥、西藥、臭丸又或受到嚴重感染時候,紅血球就有可能受到破壞而大量溶解,造成急性溶血,這時候,大量血紅蛋白便會由紅血球裏釋放出來,令肝臟負荷過重而產生過量膽紅素,形成黃疸。

歐太:吓!那麼嚴重,怎麼辦呢?

唐姑娘:媽媽你不用怕,因為急性溶症是可以預防的,患者其實只要終生避免接觸可以引致溶血的物品,跟普通人的健康是沒分別的。

歐太:那,唐姑娘我應該怎樣做呀?

唐姑娘:首先,媽媽由現在開始,要特別注意寶寶有沒有黃疸,即是面黃的情況,一般新生的嬰兒,其實出生以後,都會有生理性的黃疸,一般會在三至五天出現,隨後會逐漸消退,不會對寶寶構成什麼影響,但是有G6PD缺乏症的寶寶,如果接觸到可引致溶血的因素,就會引致急性溶血,然後引起病理性黃疸,就可能會在出生的第一天,或會在較後時間出現,另外,急性溶血症亦可會使黃疸持續甚至惡化。

歐太:如果黃疸持續惡化會對寶寶有什麼影響?

唐姑娘:那剛才我都提及過,急性溶血會產生過量膽紅素,而過高的膽紅素,可進入初生嬰兒的腦部,會造成一些永久性的傷害,例如失聰、四肢活動不良,智力受損,如能及早發現和接受治療,其實可有效控制新生嬰兒黃疸症,所以你要盡快預約,帶寶寶回母嬰健康院跟進黃疸情況。

歐太:唐姑娘除了這些,溶血症還有那些症徵狀呢?

唐姑娘:溶血症主要徵狀,包括眼白泛黃、小便變茶色,除此以外,寶寶可能看起來神情呆滯和經常昏睡,而較大的小朋友可能會面色蒼白、過度疲倦、呼吸不暢順和心跳加速等,如留意到有以上的徵狀,應立即求醫。

歐太:你剛才提到只要避開某一些物品,那些物品會引致急性溶血症?

唐姑娘:你的問題很好,G6PD的患者其實一生都要緊記,以下的事項:第一,要避免服用以下的中藥,例如黃蓮、牛黃、臘梅花、金銀花和珍珠末;第二,西藥包括某些抗生素、抗瘧疾用藥、某些含有亞士匹靈的止痛退燒藥類,如果用的劑量過高,亦都會引發溶血症的,所以不可以隨便服用藥物,所有藥物最好由醫生處方,以免誤服可引致溶血的藥物;第三,食物方面,千萬不要讓寶寶吃蠶豆,或含有蠶豆成分的製品,例如蠶豆酥;第四,家居用品,就要避免讓寶寶接觸到臭丸,或含有萘類的防蟲片,以上資料己經清楚列明在衞生署編印的G6PD缺乏症卡,簡稱綠卡,和在資料單張內,以便患者隨身攜帶。

歐太:唐姑娘,我沒有這張卡呀!那怎麼辦呀?

唐姑娘:不用擔心,如果你出院時,醫院沒有派發這張卡給你,我們都會在數天內寄回給你,那最後你要記住,每次看醫生時都要出示這張綠卡,告訴醫生你的寶寶患了G6PD缺乏症。好了,你還有其他問題呢?

歐太:唔,暫時沒有。

唐姑娘:如果你有問題的話呢?可以致電我們的熱線2361-9979,或可親臨母嬰健康院向醫護人員查詢。

場景:歐生歐太清理家中可引致溶血的物品。

歐生:是呀,媽媽,我已經照唐姑娘的指示,拿走了那些不該被寶寶接觸到的食品和用品,例如以往買了的金銀花和珍珠末,衣櫃內的臭丸我都丟了,同時亦叫爺爺、嫲嫲和工人不要再用臭丸,那盒保嬰丹和殺蟲劑,需不需要扔掉呢?

歐太:我們可以回健康院問一問姑娘。

標題:常見疑問

場景:歐生歐太帶同寶寶到母嬰健康院作首次登記

何姑娘:歐生,歐太,早晨,我是何姑娘,先前替寶寶量度了黃疸度數,其實度數不是太高,你們不用擔心,今次是你們第一次來健康院,你們有沒有一些關於照顧寶寶的問題想問我呀?

歐太:何姑娘,我寶寶患了G6PD缺乏症,我還可以繼續以母乳餵哺寶寶嗎?

何姑娘:在正常情況下,可以繼續以用母乳餵哺寶寶,如果媽媽需要服用綠卡內的中西藥,便需要暫停餵哺母乳,以免藥物經母乳傳給寶寶,不過媽媽要繼續擠奶以保持足夠的奶量,讓停藥後可以繼續餵哺寶寶。

歐太:姑娘上次遺傳篩選組的唐姑娘曾經講過,G6PD缺乏症患者要避免服用一些中藥、西藥,那寶寶還可以服用保嬰丹或開奶荼嗎?

何姑娘:其實每一個家長都不應自行給寶寶服用任何藥物,而保嬰丹的成分含有牛黃、珍珠末,所以千萬不能讓患有G6PD缺乏症的寶寶食服用,那其他坊間的中藥保健品,例如開奶茶、七星茶等,配方和成分都不同,最好都不要亂讓寶寶服用,如果真是有需要就應該先詢問中醫的意見。

歐太:姑娘﹐除了綠卡上提到的食物,還有什麼是不能吃的?

何姑娘:當你買任何食品和用品時,都應該先看看食品和用品成分,看看有沒有綠卡提到的物品,例如有個別牌子的粉絲和雜豆,就有蠶豆成分,其實除了綠卡上提到的物品,中藥或西藥以外,如果對食品或用品有懷疑,可以直接詢問出產商或醫生。

歐生:還有,除了臭丸不能用以外,那樟腦能否用呢?

何姑娘:根據最新硏究顯示,天然樟腦不會引致溶血症,但市面防蟲產品成分參差,可能混有雜質,所以我建議最好不要用。

歐生:那些香熏、衣物柔順劑,還有那些殺蟲劑可否用呢?

何姑娘:至於日常用品方面,除了綠卡提到物品外,現時沒有證據顯示香熏、衣物柔順劑、含薄荷的食用品、含甘菊的紙巾和尿片、防蟲劑、蚊香、家用藥油等,都會使G6PD缺乏症患者產生溶血情況,為安全計,使用前都要查清楚成分,如有疑問最好都是向生產商或醫生查詢。

歐生:姑娘,如果G6PD缺乏症寶寶,吃了某些引致溶血食物後,並沒有出現溶血徵狀,是否可放心讓寶寶繼續吃這些食物呢?

何姑娘:如果G6PD缺乏症患者食了某些引致溶血食物後,沒有出現問題,並不代表他們可繼續放心吃那種食物,是否會產生溶血症,除了患者身體狀況外,亦會受到食物分量和其他因素所影響,所以為了安全起見,還是不要吃可引致溶血食物。

歐生:如果將來寶寶返學,同學校服有臭丸味,一同上堂會否對他有影響的?

何姑娘:同學的衣服有臭丸味,一般都很難避免,但日常社交接觸,臭丸劑量己減少了很多,如果嗅到應盡量避開,但相信一般接觸是不會導致溶血,最重要是患者和照顧者衣物不要放臭丸,講了那麼久你們可有其他問題呢?

歐生:那我大致上都明白了,多謝你詳細解譯,

何姑娘:那下月記住回來參加母嬰健康院為你們安排的G6PD缺乏症講座。

標題:遺傳模式

場景:一組家長在母嬰健康院參加葡萄糖六磷酸去氫酵素缺乏症的講座

護士:各位家長你們好,我是何姑娘,歡迎大家參加葡萄糖六磷酸去氫酵素缺乏症簡稱G6PD缺乏症或者蠶豆症的講座,今日最主要介紹G6PD缺乏症的遺傳模式,和解答大家有關G6PD缺乏症的問題,首先大家知不知G6PD缺乏症是香港最常見的新陳代謝遺傳病,香港每一百個男嬰,就會有4.5個患了這個症,而女嬰每一千個會有五個。

男士一:姑娘,我和太太都沒有G6PD缺乏症,為什麼兒子會有呢?

護士:G6PD缺乏症是一種性連鎖隱性遺傳病,性連鎖遺傳病,即是表示這種病的基因是在決定性別的X染色體上面,而隱性遺傳則是上一代未必會患上這個症,由於男性只有一個的X染色體,所以當男性的X染色體上有這個G6PD缺乏症遺傳基因的時候,他就是G6PD缺乏症的患者,而女性有兩個X染色體,所以當女性只有一個X染色體有這一個遺傳基因,而另一個X染色體是正常的時候,她就是G6PD缺乏症基因攜帶者,如果兩個X染色體都有這個遺傳基因的話,她就是G6PD缺乏症的患者,所以這個遺傳病的患者多數都是男性,你們的情況應該是你並無G6PD缺乏症的遺傳基因,而你太太就是G6PD缺乏症基因的攜帶者。

男士一:那我們下一次生寶寶的時候,寶寶會否再遺傳到G6PD缺乏症?

護士:如果媽媽是G6PD缺乏症基因攜帶者,而爸爸並無G6PD缺乏症,當媽媽每次懷孕的時候,如果寶寶是男嬰,他就有二分一機會患上G6PD缺乏症,餘下二分一的機會是正常,如果寶寶是女嬰,她就有二分一機會是基因攜帶者,餘下二分一機會是正常。

女士一:如兒子有G6PD缺乏症,他將來結婚的時候,他的子女會否遺傳到這個症?

護士:G6PD缺乏症患者的子女,不一定會遺傳到這個症,是要視乎伴侶的G6PD基因,如果患了G6PD缺乏症的男士,將來和正常女士結合而懷孕,如果寶寶是男嬰會是正常,如果寶寶是女嬰她會是基因攜帶者,如果患了G6PD缺乏症的男士,和基因攜帶者女士結合而懷孕,如果寶寶是男嬰他有二分一機會患上G6PD缺乏症,餘下二分一機會是正常,如果寶寶是女嬰她有二分一機會患上G6PD缺乏症,餘下二分一機會她會是基因攜帶者。

女士二:姑娘呀,我的女兒有G6PD缺乏症,她所生的寶寶會否遺傳到這個症?

護士:如果患有G6PD缺乏症的女士,和正常男士結合而懷孕,那如果寶寶是男嬰的話,他就會患上G6PD缺乏症,但如果寶寶是女嬰的話,她就會是基因攜帶者,除此以外,我要提醒你們,有這個家族病歷的婦女,如果懷孕一定要告知醫生,接受產前的輔導,雖然G6PD缺乏症,暫時沒有產前的預防方法,但如果及早留意,可以避免寶寶將來因為急性溶血而對身體造成傷害。

男士二:那樣,寶寶需不需要定時抽血和覆診呢?

護士:只要患者能終生避免G6PD卡上的食品和用品,是不需定時抽血和覆診的。

男士一:此外,我還有一個問題,如果將來他們的抵抗力強了,會否痊癒呢?

護士:G6PD缺乏症是一種遺傳病,而不是免疫系統出現問題,並不會因為寶寶長大後,或抵抗力增強了而痊癒,G6PD缺乏症的小朋友,只要避免接觸可以引致溶血的物品,是可以和其他小朋友一樣,健康活潑地成長的,所以你們要記住隨身攜帶綠卡,在求診的時候,通知醫護人員寶寶有G6PD缺乏症,還要給小朋友及早知道自己患有G6PD缺乏症,教導他們怎樣避免接觸綠卡上的食品和用品,你們還有什麼問題呀?

全人:我們都明白!

場景:歐生歐太參加完講座徃後回到家中

爸爸:媽媽,不要隨處放寶寶張綠卡,難道你不記得姑娘說過,要隨身攜帶這張卡嗎?還有,每次看醫生的時候,都要出示這張卡的。

媽媽:是啊,差點不記得,那你把綠卡放回手袋內呀。

爸爸:OK,安心了。

護士:看完以上的短片,相信你會對G6PD缺乏症都會好了解,現在讓我總結一下G6PD缺乏症的重點:一,小朋友要避免接觸各種可以引致溶血的食品和用品;二,如果有溶血症的徵狀,要立即求醫;三,平時要隨身攜帶G6PD缺乏症卡;四,求診時要通知醫護人員,小朋友患了G6PD缺乏症;五,要讓小朋友及早認識G6PD缺乏症;六,要教導他們,避免接觸可以引致溶血的食品和用品。雖然G6PD缺乏症並不會因為成長而消失,但是如果能夠注意以上事項,有G6PD缺乏症的小朋友,是可以和其他孩子一樣,健康活潑地成長。最後,如欲知更多G6PD缺乏症,或者希望接受電話輔導的話,可以致電以下熱線2361 9979或可瀏覽以下網址,http://www.cgs.dh.gov.hk,http://www.fhs.gov.hk。