Introducing solid food for 6 to 24 month old babies

Starting baby on solid food is something more than eating

Transcript

Titleļ¼šStarting baby on solid food is something more than eating

In simple terms, solid foods are foods that are modified into a soft texture which the baby can swallow easily.

Weaning refers to the transitional period between 6 to 24 months of age when babies change from a complete milk diet to a solid food diet that contains a variety of typical family foods in a softer texture. Also, babies learn to feed themselves with a spoon. This is a very important stage for babies as milk alone can no longer provide them with sufficient nutrients for all of their bodies’ functions, activity and growth. Therefore, babies need to take non-milk food to get all nutrients they need.

In addition, eating solid food helps babies to develop their abilities to chew. Helping babies to become familiar with different kinds of food and tastes can help them adapt to a diet with a variety of foods and develop good eating habits early. This reduces their chances of becoming picky eaters later.

You and your baby relate to each other during feeding. You talk to him and smile at him, get familiar with what he wants to tell you and respond to him. This fosters the parent-child relationship and allows your baby to build trust in you. It also helps your baby’s social and language skills.

6至24 個月嬰兒健康飲食話你知

為BB引進固體食物,點只食嘢咁簡單?

劇本

標題:為BB引進固體食物,點只食嘢咁簡單?

簡單來說,寶寶吃的固體食物就是把我們平常吃的食物弄成方便寶寶咀嚼能力、而且容易吞嚥的質感。

引進固體食物過渡期是指寶寶在6個月至2歲期間,由只是吸吮母乳或配方奶,過度到吃質感較軟的成人食物。並且學會自己拿匙羹,不用別人餵食。這個時期對寶寶的成長十分重要,因為寶寶滿6個月後,單靠吃奶已經不能滿足他身體新陳代謝,活動和生長發育的需要。所以開始要從吃固體食物來吸收各種不同的營養。

另外,進食質感合適的固體食物可以幫助寶寶發展咀嚼能力。在這個時期,讓寶寶多嘗試不同種類的食物和讓他認識食物的各種味道,能幫助他適應吃多樣化的食物和減低將來偏食的機會,為他將來健康飲食打好根基。

其實,給寶寶餵食是一個互動的過程,家長在餵食的時候也要多跟寶寶溝通,了解他想表達什麼。這樣,不但可以促進親子的關係、連繫感情,還可以讓寶寶更加信任你,也能幫助他發展社交言語的能力。