Parenting Series 17 – Happy Learning I

Is your child always unwilling to practise the piano? Does he need your frequent urging to complete a piece of work, or doesn’t he ever want to pick up a book to read?

The behaviours described above depict a child who is passive in learning. Children are born with curiosity and interest to explore. Nowadays, many schools and families ask children to learn a lot and to have higher performance. Children may easily lose motivation to learn under demand. Adults may then use all sorts of means including threatening and bribing to try to motivate them. As a result, children tend to learn for rewards, for competing with or pleasing others. Parents and child workers should maintain children's curiosity and strengthen their motivation to learn. By doing so, children will become active learners and show interest to know the world.

Helping Children to be Active Learners

Children who are motivated to learn do not give up easily. They will try various ways to solve a problem. As they do not see examination marks as the only goal, they can usually achieve better results in learning. To help children become active learners, they need to feel learning is pleasurable and brings satisfaction. You may help them to achieve it through enhancing their self-esteem, sense of achievement, persistence and creativity.

1. Maintaining a good parent-child relationship

  • Children need parental attention and support. Having a good relationship with your child is important. Interact frequently with your child and talk with her. The essence of quality time lies in the involvement of parents with the child and not the amount of time spent. You will understand her better, facilitate her language development, and instil in her stable emotion and cooperation for learning.

2. Setting daily routines

  • Help your child establish good learning attitudes and habits by setting regular daily routines since his early childhood, e.g., regular bed time, time for learning, playing and reading. It helps your child develop independence and self-discipline in daily living.
  • Reading daily with your child is a starting point to cultivate his interests and habits in reading. Choose interesting books to read with him and discuss the contents together. Remember reading at this stage is for fun. So do not turn reading into a word recognition task.

3. Having realistic expectations

  • Appreciating individual differences and modes of learning
    • Every child is unique and born to have individual differences. Understand her characteristics through observing her play, interaction with peers or other daily behaviours. Have realistic expectations on how she learns and accept the differences. Learn to appreciate her abilities in different aspects.
    • Adjust the pace of learning, give them more guidance and explore their potentials for less capable children. For more capable children, you may set relatively higher goals for them to realize their full potential while holding their learning interests.
    • Appreciate that children have different modes of learning. For example, some like to think and express themselves, while others prefer to learn through seeing and touching. To facilitate the former to learn, you may stimulate their thinking by holding discussion with them. The latter may learn better through live demonstration and outdoor activities.
    • Take into account the strengths and weaknesses of your child and help her acquire successful learning experiences. By doing so, your child will think of herself positively, develop her potentials and enhance her self esteem. Children seeing themselves useless lack the confidence in trying new things, let alone exploring their capabilities fully.
  • Allowing your children to face challenges
    • Children need to experience difficulties by themselves, learn from mistakes and cope with failures so as to know more about the world and build up self-confidence. Do not over-protect your child or set too many limits for him for fear that he may fail or mess up.
    • Let your child try to solve problems by himself. Do not give direct assistance or answers. Allow for errors. For example, when he encounters difficulties in solving a puzzle, observe how he tackles the problem first. Prompt him when necessary by saying things such as, "Let's see which piece has the same colour as this one."
    • Set realistic short-term goals together with your child. For example, he will have to play eight bars accurately when practising the piano. Encourage him to achieve it.
    • Once your child completes a task, praise him for trying to overcome difficulties and challenges. You may also discuss with him the process gone through, review his methods in learning and identify one thing that he can improve. When children have completed a task with good effort, the sense of achievement will turn into motivation for learning.

4. Giving encouragement and praises

  • Praises, if used inappropriately, will make your child overly proud and conceited. This in turn will result in her feeling deflated and loss in confidence when facing failures and challenges.
  • Appreciate and praise your child's enthusiasm and efforts made in learning instead of praising for her abilities. Instead of saying things like, "You are so brilliant to have the work done", describe what your child did directly, "I am proud of you for making good effort to complete the work!"
  • Praise before you give suggestions to her. Suggestions have to be constructive and achievable , “Next time, you may colour along the outline of the shape first before filling the inside up to keep the colour from shooting out of the line.” Refrain from calling names or being critical, such as calling her “stupid”. Do not ask her to re-do the piece of work as this may affect her eagerness to learn.

5. Identifying interests and encouraging creativity

  • The preschoolers are energetic, curious to things around them and keen to explore. Allow your child freedom to explore in a safe environment with the least necessary restrictions. For instance, allow her to scribble in a specified area or let her separate her toys into parts to satisfy her curiosity.
  • Encourage your child's creativity. Involve her in activities which allow imagination and thinking such as drawing, block building, playing with clay and dough or pretend play. You can also guide her to use household items (e.g. old magazines and plastic bottles) to make toys.
  • Join in your child's activities and complete a creative project with her. Let her take the lead without giving her direct instructions. Remember to praise her for her efforts and results achieved in the process.
  • Children of this age like to ask “why”. The questions asked reflect their interests in particular subjects. Listen to your child's questions patiently. Use guiding questions to prompt her to come up with an answer to the questions and to elicit further questions. For example, “You want to know why a car moves. Let's see what are moving when the car moves.” In this way, you help your child expand her ideas.
  • What you think is interesting may not necessarily be so to your child. Discuss with her when you are enrolling her in interest classes. You should pay attention to your child's activity schedule, allowing for rest time and free time. A heavy timetable may not be good for her but will exhaust her physically and mentally.

6. Expanding your child’s learning horizon

  • Apart from encouraging your child to read more and be creative, you may also increase his learning opportunities outside school. By doing so, he can expose to new things and learn through different sensory experiences. Take him to visit museums, libraries, zoos and botanical gardens regularly. Reading the names of food on a menu in a restaurant with him is also an example of learning in everyday life.
  • Nature is the richest source to inspire children's curiosity. Arrange plenty of outdoor activities for your child, such as visits to country parks and beaches. Collect relevant information before the visit. Let him explore freely in the environment. Discuss with him what he finds interesting will stimulate his thinking and language skills.
  • Technology products like computer, television, VCDs, electronic games, mobile phones and other portable electronic device provide abundant information and novel ways of learning. Although it is possible to know the world without leaving home, children may develop indulgence if they are exposed to these products too early. This will in turn decrease young children's chances of exploration by other means and affect their development in social, sensory and motor aspects. So limit the time spent on using these devices to less than 2 hours per day. Accompany your child and give guidance on the activity to enhance its educational value.

7. Home-school relationship

  • When choosing a suitable school for your child, find out more about the missions and the teaching modes of different schools. It is equally important to know the capabilities and learning style of your child before selecting a school. In addition, it helps later on in guiding through her schoolwork.
  • Have regular communication with the preschool teachers to understand how your child adjust and perform. Talk with your child about her experiences in preschool and guide her learning when necessary.

8. Be a role model

  • For your child to develop the qualities described above and become an active learner, practise what you preach. A “learning family” is characterised by having parents who are eager to learn, demonstrating good parent-child communication and members learning from each other. Remember, the efforts you pay today plants for the bright future of your child!

We have a series of 'Happy Parenting!' workshops and leaflets for expectant parents and parents of infants and preschool children. Please contact our healthcare personnel for information.

(Content revised 02/2013)

亲职系列17 —— 乐于学习之一

你的孩子在学习过程中,是否总是提不起劲去练琴?是否不会主动去翻阅书本?做功课时是否经常慢吞吞的,要你不断催促才能勉强完成?

如果你的孩子有以上的情况,他在学习上是被动的。孩子与生俱来本是充满着好奇心,喜欢探索求知;可是很多时候,学校和家庭要求孩子学的东西太多,并要求他做得比别人好,孩子的学习兴趣便很容易被扼杀。成人只得用威迫利诱的方式使孩子完成要求,形成孩子只为了赢取物质奖励、取悦别人或与人竞争而学习的现象。家长和幼儿工作者的责任是从小为孩子打好基础,适切地强化他的学习动机和求知欲,把孩子渐渐培养成一个主动学习,真正对知识产生兴趣的人。

如何培养孩子主动学习

要孩子主动学习,便要透过培养他的自尊感成功感创意毅力,使他在学习技能和探求知识的过程中,感受到真正的乐趣和满足。主动学习的孩子不容易放弃学习,并会尝试以不同的方法去解决难题;他们亦不会只以考试分数为求学目标,在学习上通常都会取得较大的成效。

1. 良好的亲子关系

  • 良好的亲子关系十分重要,孩子需要父母的关心和支持。高质素的亲子相处需要父母足够的投入,而不单是时间上的付出。多点接触孩子,跟他谈天,可以增进对孩子的了解促进他的语言发展,更可使孩子有稳定的情绪和合作性去进行学习。

2. 建立日常生活规律

  • 要孩子养成良好的学习态度和习惯,从小便要为孩子订定有规律的日常作息时间,包括固定的睡眠时间和学习时段,亲子阅读及亲子游戏时段等,帮助孩子养成自动自觉和自律的生活态度。
  • 培养孩子的阅读兴趣和习惯由亲子阅读开始。挑选一些趣味性的图书,陪伴他一起阅读,跟他谈论书中的内容。但要注意别把阅读变成训练孩子认字的工具。

3. 合理的期望

  • 尊重孩子的个别差异和学习方式
    • 由于天赋不同,每个孩子都有他的独特性。你需要明白孩子个别能力上的差异,并从孩子的日常生活、游戏及与友伴相处中观察他的特性,因应他的特性在学习上作出合理的期望
    • 对能力稍逊的孩子,适宜把目标进度放缓,对他多加引导及发掘他在其他方面的潜能;对能干的孩子,可以把目标定得稍高,让他可以尽展所长,并维持学习兴趣。
    • 尊重孩子不同的学习方式,例如有些孩子善于表达和思考,有些则爱从摸摸看看中学习。在辅导前者学习时,你可以多跟他讨论,启发他的思维;对后者则适宜透过实物讲解和户外活动等去进行。
    • 你能照顾孩子的个别差异,帮助他有成功的学习经验,他对自己的能力便自然会有正面的看法。这对推动孩子的能力发展,提升他的自我形象和自信心十分重要。假如他觉得自己没有用,他便没有信心去尝试新事物,更不能有效地发挥才能。
  • 给孩子机会面对挑战
    • 孩子需要亲身经历困难,学习面对挫折从错误中学习,去建立对世界的认识和自信。不要因为介意他会失败或弄得一团糟而过度保护他,给他太多限制。
    • 让孩子自己尝试找寻解决困难的方法。避免即时向他直接提供援助或答案,应容许他犯错。例如他在砌图时遇到困难,可先观察他,待有需要时才作出诱导:「你看哪一块砌图与这块的颜色一样?」
    • 与孩子一起订下实际的短期目标,例如:每次练习钢琴时,他要准确地弹出其中两句,并鼓励他尽力完成。他达到目标后再请他选另外两句作为目标,余此类推,把准确度渐渐增加。
    • 当孩子完成后,赞赏他能够透过努力去克服困难和挑战,达到订下的目标;你也可以跟他讨论刚才的学习过程,检讨他的学习方法,以及下次可以改善的地方。孩子努力完成一件工作所得到的那份成就感,才会成为他真正的学习动力。

4. 鼓励和赞赏

  • 滥用和不适当地使用夸赞会造成过分吹捧孩子,令他容易变得沾沾自喜;当遇到挫折时,反而容易引致他气馁,缺乏自信心去面对困难。
  • 你可以欣赏和称赞孩子的学习热忱和付出的努力,而不是只称赞他的能力和成果。例如在孩子初学写字时,你可以鼓励和赞赏孩子付出的努力去写好每一个字。 与其对他说:「你能完成这份功课,真是一个聪明的孩子!」不如直接描述他的行为:「你这么努力地完成这份功课,我很高兴!」
  • 要先赞赏,再提出一项有建设性,而他又能够跟着做的建议:「下次你试试把这横划在这儿较高的地方,那么字就不会跑出框框了。」不宜使用「愚蠢」等负面的批评字眼;也应避免要他擦去重写,影响他对学习的兴趣。

5. 发掘孩子的兴趣和创意

  • 3-5岁的孩子活力充沛,他们对身旁的事物充满好奇心,喜欢探索。日常生活中,在最低限度的规范及安全情况之下,尽量给孩子自由和空间去探索不同的事物,例如容许孩子在指定的地方涂鸦,把玩具拆开研究等。
  • 鼓励孩子发挥创意,让他进行可以自由发挥和思考的活动,如画图、砌积木、搓泥胶及假想游戏等,什至可以利用家居物品如旧杂志和胶瓶等自制玩具。
  • 当参与孩子的活动时,尽量让孩子做主导而不要直接指导他。与他一同完成整个创作的过程,并记住在过程中要赞赏他的努力和成果。
  • 3-5岁的孩子很喜欢问「为什么?」,他提出的问题往往反映了他对某些事物的兴趣。耐心地聆听他的提问。你可以用问题诱导的方式鼓励他尝试自己解答,尽量扩展他的思考领域,例如:「你想知道为什么车子会开动,我们看看车子开动的时候什么东西在动?」
  • 你认为孩子会有兴趣学习的东西,他不一定会感兴趣。因此在为他安排兴趣班时,最好先与孩子商讨,同时要注意活动的安排。若编排太密的话,会令孩子身心疲累,适得其反,亦剥削了他可以松弛休息和自由活动的时间。

6. 扩阔学习空间

  • 除了鼓励创意空间和阅读之外,你亦可以增加孩子在学校以外的学习机会。一来令他扩阔视野,接触新的知识;二来他也可以透过不同的感官体验去学习。经常带孩子到博物馆、图书馆和动植物公园,什至在餐厅时一同看菜牌,教导他认识食物的名称等,都可以把学习融入日常生活中。 
  • 大自然是引起孩子好奇心的最大泉源。为孩子安排多些户外活动,例如到郊野公园及海滩等。事前可以搜集有关的资料,到时尽量让他四处探索,并随着他的兴趣与他讨论,启发他的思考和语言能力。
  • 科技产品如电脑、电视、光碟、电子游戏机、流动电话和平板电脑等提供了丰富的资讯和崭新的学习模式。虽然「足不出户也能知天下事」,但过早让幼儿自由接触科技产品,容易令孩子沉迷,因而减少了幼儿透过其他途径探索的机会,削弱了他在社交、大肌肉活动及触觉等其他方面的身心发展。所以孩子进行这些活动时,成人应在旁指导,并确保他适量地使用,使活动能发挥一定的教育功能。

7. 家校关系

  • 不同的学校有不同的教育方针和教学模式,在选校时要多加认识。了解孩子的学习能力和方式同样重要,这不仅有助你去选择一所适合他的学校,更可帮助你在家中跟进他的学习进度,配合学校教学。
  • 与幼稚园/幼儿园的老师保持良好的沟通,以了解孩子在校内的适应情况和学习表现,有需要时在家中作出辅导。

8. 以身作则

  • 若要孩子做到以上各点,培养出积极的学习态度,你首先要以身作则。一个「学习型家庭」具备的条件就是好学不倦的父母、良好的亲子沟通和亲子互相学习。你今天的付出,就是孩子明天的成果!

卫生署母婴健康院设有一系列的亲职研习班和资料单张,专为准父母及婴幼儿家长而设,欢迎向健康院医护人员查询。

(01/2013 修订内容) (08/2018 重印)