Measles, Mumps and Rubella (MMR) Vaccine

Measles

Measles is caused by the Measles virus and spreads through the air, by droplet or direct contact with nasal or throat secretions of infected persons, and less commonly, by articles soiled with nose and throat secretions. Affected persons will present initially with tiredness, fever, cough, red eyes and white spots inside the mouth. This is followed by a red blotchy skin rash 3-7 days later. The rash usually spreads from the face down to the rest of the body. In severe cases, middle ear, lungs and brain can get involved and lead to serious consequences or even death.

Mumps

Mumps is caused by the Mumps virus which affects the salivary glands and sometimes the nerve tissue. It is spread by droplet and direct contact with the saliva of an infected person. The disease is characterized by painful swelling of the salivary glands, usually at the cheek(s), and fever. Sometimes, there may be complications like deafness, or infection of the brain. Adolescents might develop infection of the testicles or ovaries, which can affect fertility.

Rubella

Rubella, also known as “German Measles”, is caused by Rubella virus. It can be transmitted by contact with secretions from nose and pharynx of infected persons through droplet spread or direct contact with patients. Symptoms are usually mild. Children usually present with fever, headache, diffuse rash and enlargement of lymph nodes behind the ears or in the neck. Sometimes there may be no symptom at all. Complications include arthritis, thrombocytopenia and encephalitis.

Rubella infection produces anomalies in the developing fetus. Congenital rubella syndrome (CRS) is likely to occur in infants born to women who got infected during the first 3 months of pregnancy. CRS is characterized by deafness, blindness, heart malformations and mental retardation.

Measles, Mumps and Rubella (MMR) Vaccine

A. Why get vaccinated?

MMR vaccine can effectively prevent the above 3 infectious diseases. In Hong Kong, MMR vaccine is included in the Hong Kong Childhood Immunisation Programme. Women of childbearing age who are not previously immunised should receive MMR before pregnancy, to protect the health of her fetus. 

B. When should my child get vaccinated?

Children should receive two doses of MMR. The first dose should be given at one year of age. A second dose of MMR is given to all primary one students. MMR can be given at the same time with other live vaccines or separated by an interval of 4 weeks.

C. The following individuals should NOT receive MMR or should wait

  1. serious allergic reaction to a previous dose of MMR vaccine
  2. known history of severe allergy to gelatin or certain antibiotics
  3. individuals with the following conditions:
    1. cancer
    2. on long term corticosteroids
    3. immunodeficiency
  4. pregnancy*
  5. has received immunoglobulin or other blood products (e.g. blood transfusion) within the past 11 months
  6. has received other live vaccines in the past four weeks

*women should avoid pregnancy for three months after vaccination

D. What are the side effects?

  • Some children may develop fever 5-12 days after vaccination, but the fever will usually subside within 2-5 days. Parents can use anti-fever medication to relieve the symptoms. A small number of children may also develop a rash 1-2 weeks after vaccination, but it will usually disappear within 1-2 days. A minority of children may develop transient swelling of salivary glands behind the cheeks or swelling of lymph glands (in the head or neck) or infection of the testicles.
  • There is a 1 in 3 million chance of developing encephalitis or meningitis after receiving MMR vaccine, but this does not usually have long lasting ill effects on the child after recovery.

If you have any query, please contact Maternal & Child Health Centre of the Department of Health.

(Content revised 04/2016)

麻疹、流行性腮腺炎及德國麻疹疫苗

麻疹

麻疹是由麻疹病毒引起的傳染病,經空氣中的飛沫或直接接觸病人鼻喉分泌物而傳播,透過被鼻喉分泌物弄污的物件傳播的機會則較低。初期病徵包括疲倦、 發燒、咳嗽、流鼻水、眼紅和口腔內出現白點。3至7天後,面部出現紅斑,逐漸蔓延全身。病重者的呼吸系統、消化道及腦部會受影響,引致嚴重後果甚至死亡。

流行性腮腺炎

流行性腮腺炎,又稱「痄腮」,是由流行性腮腺炎病毒引起的傳染病。病毒透過直接接觸患者的唾液或飛沫傳播。病徵包括唾腺腫痛,通常集中在兩頰,間中或出現失聰或腦部、胰臟、睪丸或卵巢受感染等併發症。

德國麻疹

德國麻疹,又稱「風疹」,是由德國麻疹病毒引起的傳染病。病毒透過空氣中的飛沫或直接接觸病人鼻咽分泌物傳播。一般病徵包括發燒、頭痛、紅疹、耳後和頸部的淋巴腺腫脹、上呼吸道症狀及結膜炎。但有些患者可能沒有紅疹。併發症包括關節炎、血小板減少和腦炎等。

德國麻疹可令成長中的胎兒出現異常情況。孕婦如果在懷孕首3個月感染德國麻疹,所誕下的嬰兒可能會患上先天性風疹綜合症,導致失聰、白內障、心臟畸形及智力發展遲緩等問題。

麻疹、流行性腮腺炎及德國麻疹疫苗(MMR)

麻疹、流行性腮腺炎及德國麻疹(MMR)疫苗能夠有效地預防以上三種傳染病。麻疹、流行性腮腺炎及德國麻疹疫苗已包括在香港兒童免疫接種計劃內。

小童應該接種兩劑含麻疹疫苗。已屆生育年齡而未接種含德國麻疹疫苗的婦女應該在計劃懷孕前檢查自己的免疫情況,並在有需要時接種。

甲、不宜接種或須押後接種的人士

  1. 接受麻疹、流行性腮腺炎及德國麻疹疫苗後曾有嚴重的過敏反應
  2. 對明膠(gelatine)或某些抗生素曾有嚴重的過敏反應
  3. 因疾病或治療而導致免疫功能受嚴重抑制的人士,例如:
    • 患有免疫系統疾病
    • 正在接受化學治療(又稱「化療」)及放射治療(又稱「電療」)等抗癌治療
    • 服用會令免疫功能降低的藥物,如高劑量類固醇
  4. 孕婦*
  5. 最近十一個月內曾接受輸血或其他血液產品或免疫球蛋白
  6. 在過去四星期內曾接種活菌疫苗 (live vaccine)

*一般而言,婦女在接種MMR混合疫苗後三個月內不宜懷孕,需採取妥善的避孕措施。

乙. 接種的副作用

  • 有些兒童在注射後5至12日內,可能會發燒,但通常在2至5日內便會自動退燒,家長可用退燒藥處理。小部分人可能在注射後1至2星期出現紅疹, 但在數天後會自動消失。極少數的人可能產生短暫性的腮腺腫脹或(頭部或頸部)淋巴腺腫脹。
  • 在極少數的情況下,接種麻疹、流行性腮腺炎及德國麻疹疫苗後可能會出現神經系統疾病,例如腦炎或腦膜炎。

如有任何疑問,請向衞生署轄下各母嬰健康院查詢。

(01/2020 修訂內容)