Parenting Series 6 - The Lullaby II - My Child Won't Sleep

After 6 months old, your baby still spends most time in sleep every day. If baby resists or is difficult to fall asleep at bedtime, you may be distressed about it. If she wakes many times in the middle of the night, you would probably feel very tired. Sleep problem not only affect children but also the family in various aspects. If your baby has any of the above problem, you may explore the reasons behind…

Why do bedtime problems occur?

  1. Baby relies on parents’ intervention to fall asleep

    If your baby relies on your handling to fall asleep like suckling, nursing to sleep, holding and rocking, gentle patting or walking to soothe him to sleep. Once these practices become habits, this not only affect his self-soothing ability, he also becomes totally dependent on you and your accompany to sleep. The way(s) your baby settle to sleep at bedtime has/ have to be repeated when he wakes in the middle of the night. As he cannot fall asleep by himself, he may cry or signal to seek your help. This may make you spend much time and effort at the expense of your sleep as well.

    To handle this problem, you need to let your baby develop his self-soothing ability. You may refer to the methods described in ‘If your baby cries during the night’.

  2. Disruption of normal routine
    Change of caregiver, hospitalization and other changes in daily activities may disrupt normal routine. The resulting bedtime problems are usually temporary and often correct themselves once regular routine is re-established. The caregiver should understand and try to adhere to the baby's usual routines to ensure a smooth transition.
  3. Over or Under Feeding Before Sleep

    Change of caregiver, hospitalization and other changes in daily activities may disrupt normal routine.

    The resulting bedtime problems are usually temporary and often correct themselves once regular routine is re-established. The caregiver should understand and try to adhere to the baby's usual routines to ensure a smooth transition.

  4. Illness or discomfort

    Your child may stay awake and cry if she has physical discomfort or pain. You may need to seek medical advice if her crying persists.

  5. Over or Under Feeding Before Sleep

    Feeding too much may cause physical discomfort and hence difficulty to sleep. On the other hand, your baby may stay awake if she is hungry. As you become familiar with your baby's signals and needs, you will know how to adjust to her appetite.

  6. Lack of routine in daily life

    If your baby lacks daily routine, it is difficult for her to have routine on sleep. When the carers have daily routine themselves, the routine of the baby can be easily established.

    There is not a single way out for sleep problems of the baby. Establish bedtime routine for your baby as early as possible is the basis of all. You may refer to ‘The Lullaby 1—Developing Regular Sleep Patterns’ for details. Discuss with your family members and work together consistently may help.

If your baby cries during the night

During the early months, if your baby cries after being put to bed or in the middle of the night, you may want to go and check whether there is a specific reason, e.g. his diaper is wet, or he is hungry. When checking things out, let him see your face and hear your gentle voice. By doing so, you might have comforted him and calmed him down.

Most babies do not need a night feed by 3 to 6 months old. If your baby has already weaned the night feed, and you know that he is not ill or in pain, responding to his crying during the night by comforting or playing with him can accidentally reward his crying and may make him stay awake longer. You may try to wait for a while before you respond to his cry. To help him learn to comfort himself instead of depending on you, here are three approaches you can take:

  1. This approach reassures your baby that you will be available and attend to her while discourages you to stay with her for more than a minute at a time. If your baby cries after being put to bed or during the night, do not respond straight away. She may quiet down and fall asleep again after a few minutes. If she is still crying after 5 minutes, you may return to console her without picking her up. Leave after a minute even if she is still crying. Wait for a longer time before you go and check on her crying again. Lengthening the time in between your checkups helps your baby learn to comfort herself. The essence of this method is the caregiver awaits progressively longer period of time before checking on the child and spends only a short time settling the baby and places him being drowsy but awake in bed alone.
  2. The caregiver stays with the child in the room or even on his bed initially. As the child learns to independently fall asleep, caregiver’s presence is gradually removed from the child’s room.

    If your baby’s cot cannot be placed near your bed due to limited space or you are feeling unease leaving your crying baby, you may prefer this gentle approach. You may stay on his bed and pretend you have slept and ignored his crying unless he is ill or in danger.

    Consistent and persistent management among your family members is required to make it work.

  3. Make sure your baby is not feeling unwell or needy of changing diapers, do not respond to her protests at all or go to her room and check. This will not harm her but helps her learn quickly how to fall asleep by herself. You may use this approach if you think she cries only to get your attention.

    Caregivers should be prepared for an initial increase in intensity and duration of crying. Such behaviour is regarded as normal when using this approach and will fade out when caregivers consistently and persistently applying the strategy.

The above approaches are supported by research evidence to be effective in managing bedtime problems and night wakings of young baby without causing any harm to her or impeding your relationship with her. They help your baby to have better sleeping habit and the wellbeing of both of you.

Different experts will have different suggestions and there is no single best way. You should choose the strategy with which you feel most comfortable and which best suits the temperament of your baby. Whichever approach you use, you need to be consistent and follow through. If your baby learns that screaming will bring you back to pick him up, he will not learn to fall asleep independently. You will then be caught in a vicious cycle of escalating sleep problem.

When managing sleep problems, taking care of yourself is very important. Success of your strategies depends very much on you and the cooperation and support of your family. If you have any concerns about your child's sleep, you may seek advice from the medical professionals.

We have a series of "Happy Parenting!" workshops and leaflets for expectant parents, parents of infants and preschool children. Please contact our healthcare personnel for information

Does my baby need to feed during the night?

Newborns‘ digestive system and appetite are yet to be developed. Frequent but small feed may suit them. As their day-night rhythm is developing, they may feel hungry in the middle of the night and need feeding.

After babies have developed day-night rhythm, they eat more in the day time for nutrients but gradually less in the night time. After 3-6 months of age, most of the babies get enough feed during the day and do not need night feeding. If your baby’s feed is short before he falls back to sleep in the middle of the night, your baby is not likely to be hungry but asks for your soothing to get him back to sleep. If you think your baby’s night feeding is a problem, you may try the following strategies to help him/her wean off night feeding*:

For breastfeeding babies:

  • Stop night feeding altogether if your baby suckles for less than 5 minutes. Use other soothing techniques to settle him
  • If he suckles more than 5 minutes, you may cut down the feeding time gradually over 5-7 days
  • Then cut down the feeding time by 2-5 minutes every two nights
  • Settle him after each shortened feed
  • When your baby feeds less than 5 minutes, cut night feeding altogether

For bottle-fed babies:

  • Stop night feeding altogether if your baby feeds less than 60ml. Use other soothing techniques to settle her
  • If she feeds more than 60ml, you may cut down the amount of feed gradually over 5-7 days
  • Then cut down the amount by 20-30ml every two nights
  • Settle her after each smaller feed
  • When your baby feeds less than 60ml, cut night feeding altogether

*Reference: Centre for Community Child Health, Royal Children’s Hospital (2012-2016). The infant sleep elearning program. Melbourne: RCH.

(Content revised 03/2018)

親職系列6 —— 搖籃曲之二—寶寶不肯睡怎辦?

半歲以後,寶寶的睡眠仍佔每天的大部分時間。若寶寶到了睡眠時間,卻難以令他入睡,一定給你帶來不少的困擾;若寶寶持續地在夜半多次醒來,用啼哭或其他行為向你示意,你可能更感疲累不堪。 睡眠問題不但影響兒童本身,而且亦會對家庭各方面做成滋擾。如果你寶寶的睡眠有以上的情況,你可先想想可能的原因:

寶寶不肯睡的原因

  1. 依賴家長才能入睡的睡眠習慣

    如果他依賴家長才能睡着,例如必要用吸吮乳房、吃奶、抱在懷中輕搖、輕拍或步行來哄他才肯入睡。這些模式一旦成為習慣,不單影響寶寶發展自行入睡的能力,他更會過分依賴你的注意和陪伴才能睡,其實寶寶晚上怎樣入睡,他夜半醒來便需要用同樣的方式才能再次睡着。既然他無法自行入睡,他會哭鬧或用其他方式示意來找你幫他入睡,這便會令你花上不少的時間和精神,同時亦影響你的睡眠質素。

    處理這個問題,需要你及早幫助寶寶學習自行入睡,並參考下節「如果寶寶半夜醒來…」所述的方法。

  2. 生活習慣被擾亂

    由於生活環境發生變化而影響原有的習慣,例如:轉換了照顧者、因病住院、生活模式有變動等。

    這些問題通常都是暫時性的,在重新建立合適的日常規律後,寶寶便會慢慢適應。照顧者之間應該有緊密溝通,彼此在交接期間盡量協調寶寶的日常習慣。

  3. 生病或不適
    寶寶用哭嚷來表達他身體的不適。若他持續啼哭及有其他病徵,便要找醫生診治了。
  4. 睡前吃得太多或太少
    吃得太多令寶寶消化系統不適,太少則容易因肚子餓而醒著,難以入睡。當你漸漸認識了寶寶的飽餓信號,瞭解到他的需要,便可因應他的胃口及日常生活規律而作出調整。
  5. 生活作息沒有明顯的規律

    如果寶寶的生活作息沒有規律,也較難在睡眠方面有規律。若家人的生活作息有規律,寶寶便更容易有規律的作息。

    要解決寶寶睡眠的問題,很多時候都沒有一個立即見效的處理方法。但最基本的仍需及早為寶寶建立睡眠常規,詳情請參考本系列單張「搖籃曲之一 建立睡眠常規」,及與家人商量,貫徹一致地處理。

如果寶寶半夜醒來…

當寶寶半夜醒來啼哭,你可以先檢查他是否尿濕了或者身體不適,亦可考慮他是否餓了要吃奶。當你走近寶寶,讓他看到你,一邊檢查一邊向他輕輕說話,可能已令他平靜下來了。

一般來說,3-6個月大的寶寶在日間吸收足夠的營養後,便不需要半夜吃奶。若寶寶依賴家長才能入睡或是仍未能自行入睡,通常他半夜醒來哭鬧都不是因生理需要,若你急不及待地去安撫他、餵他,甚至與他嬉戲,非但不能使他安靜下來,反而會令寶寶晚上醒來的時間增長。當寶寶已屆不需要吃夜奶的階段,你可嘗試等一會兒才回應他半夜的哭聲,讓他有機會學習安撫自己。以下有三個建議,你可就著你的意向、實際環境和嬰兒的特質去選擇最合適的處理方法:

  1. 見寶寶半夜的哭啼時,別急著去哄他,因為寶寶可能只需數分鐘的時間,便會安靜下來,慢慢再入睡。除非過了五分鐘,他仍在放聲大哭,便可回到他的身邊,但毋須把他抱起來。嘗試花一分鐘時間安撫他,然後離去。用意是讓他知道你是關注他的,在他有需要時,隨時會在他的身旁照顧他。如果寶寶仍繼續哭,那便要再等比較長的時間,才回到寶寶的身邊,然後重複剛才進行過的處理方法,重點在於孩子啼哭與每次回到孩子身邊所相隔的時間逐漸遞增。這個方法並不鼓勵你留下來陪著他
  2. 你可留在寶寶房內直到他入睡,初時可能要留在他床邊,如他開始能夠獨自入睡,你便可以逐漸坐得遠一點,直至不須要你陪伴他睡。

    若你因環境所限而需把嬰兒床放在自己床邊,又或是對寶寶較放心不下,用這個方法時,你可在附近的床上假裝睡著,讓孩子以為你是陪著他睡,直到孩子再入睡為止。除非看見孩子神色有異或者有危險,否則別理會他的哭叫聲。

    此方法需要你和家人一致的配合與參與,並持久的運用才能發揮作用。

  3. 在檢查後排除了身體不適或需換片的可能,便可對寶寶的哭叫無動於衷,也不要到他房間查看他是否安好。原則上這做法對寶寶無害,反而令孩子快點學會自己入睡。這方法需要父母確信寶寶只是要求你的注意,並無其他原因。

    運用這個方法時,寶寶的啼哭或示意可能會愈來愈激烈和長久,這是正常的現象,照顧者只需貫徹始終及持之以恆,不恰當的示意和哭鬧便會逐漸減少。

研究顯示以上方法皆不會對寶寶自己或與你的關係帶來任何長遠的影響,你與寶寶的身心健康和寶寶的睡眠習慣反而得到改善。

不同的專家有著不同的建議,但並沒有絕對的良方,父母須因應自己及嬰兒的特性去選用一套適合自己的方法。不論選用哪一個方法,父母需要採取貫徹和堅持的態度,不要讓寶寶感覺你有絲毫退讓之意,否則你便會陷於困境而難於處理寶寶入睡的問題。

處理寶寶睡眠時,你亦要照顧自己的身心健康,家人的合作及支持對減輕你的身心負擔十分重要。若你對處理寶寶的睡眠有疑問或困難,可請教醫護人員。

衞生署母嬰健康院設有一系列的親職研習班和資料單張,專為準父母及嬰幼兒家長而設,歡迎向健康院醫護人員查詢。

寶寶夜半醒來不是因為肚餓嗎?

那要看寶寶的年齡及發展情況。初生寶寶的消化系統及食量仍在調節,這個階段他的胃很細,少吃多餐較適合他。而且他仍未有日夜的規律,他可能半夜肚餓便醒來吃奶。

隨着寶寶出現日夜規律後,日間他會漸漸多吃以配合營養吸收,並逐漸減少需要吃夜奶;在3—6個月大後,只要寶寶在日間吃得夠,大部分已不需要吃夜奶了。如果你發現他半夜醒來,即使給他吃奶,但他吃很短時間便睡着了,這表示他醒來不是因為肚餓,而是可能依賴你或其他習慣才能入睡。如你打算幫他戒掉吸吮乳頭、吃夜奶的習慣,可嘗試以下方法*

  • 母乳餵哺的寶寶:
    1. 如寶寶吃少於5分鐘,你可停止餵哺母乳及使用有效的安撫方法令寶寶安靜下來
    2. 如果他吃多過5分鐘,你可在5至7 天的時間逐漸減少餵哺的時間
    3. 每隔兩晚減少餵哺時間2-5分鐘
    4. 在每次減少餵奶時間後,使用有效的安撫方法令寶寶平靜下來
    5. 若寶寶吃奶時間為5分鐘或以下,你可完全停止餵哺。
  • 奶瓶餵哺的寶寶:
    1. 如寶寶吃少於60毫升的奶,你可停止餵奶及使用有效的安撫方法令寶寶安靜下來
    2. 如果他吃多過60毫升,你可在5至7 天的時間逐漸減少奶量
    3. 每隔兩晚減少餵哺時間20-30毫升
    4. 在每次減少餵奶時間後,使用你能有效的安撫寶寶的方法令他平靜下來
    5. 若寶寶吃奶為60毫升或更少,你可完全停止餵哺。

*以上方法參考 Centre for Community Child Health, Royal Children's Hospital (2012-2016). The infant sleep elearning program. Melbourne: RCH.

(08/2017 修訂內容)