Baby-Friendly Maternal and Child Health Centre

Background

Since 2000, DH has implemented a breastfeeding policy to provide a supportive environment that encourages and supports mothers to breastfeed their babies in a network of Maternal and Child Health Centres (MCHCs). Doctors and nurses of MCHCs are trained to promote and support breastfeeding through various means, e.g. providing health education for pregnant women, conducting breastfeeding assessments and skills support for breastfeeding mothers, as well as managing breastfeeding problems.

The Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative (BFHI) is a worldwide programme launched by the World Health Organization and the United Nations Children’s Fund. It aims to give every baby the best start in life by creating a health care environment that supports breastfeeding as the norm. Since 2013, the public birthing hospitals under the Hospital Authority have started moving towards baby-friendliness by phases and they are awarded as Baby friendly Hospitals.

Baby-Friendly Maternal and Child Health Centre

All along MCHCs have shared antenatal care with the regional birthing hospitals under the Hospital Authority. Over 90% of newborns born locally registered with MCHCs within the first few days after birth. Therefore, these newborns and parents are in need of support to establish and sustain breastfeeding. As part of the BFHI care, DH launched in June 2016 a pilot scheme of Baby-Friendly Maternal and Child Health Centre (BFMCHC) Designation in three MCHCs.

  • Kowloon City MCHC
  • Sai Ying Pun MCHC
  • Yaumatei MCHC

Based on the positive results of the pilot, the designation is further rolled out to five more MCHCs in March 2021.

  • Lam Tin MCHC
  • Ma On Shan MCHC
  • North Kwai Chung MCHC
  • Sai Wan Ho MCHC
  • Tin Shui Wai MCHC

Latest progress of BFMCHC designation : Please click here

What do we expect from Baby-Friendly MCHCs?

A Baby-Friendly MCHC

  • implements the Infant Feeding Policy
  • trains all health care staff in skills necessary to implement this Policy
  • helps pregnant women recognise the importance of breastfeeding and early experience for the health and wellbeing of their babies
  • supports parents to build a close, loving and positive relationship with their babies
  • empowers parents to make informed decisions about optimal infant feeding in their situation and give support to their chosen feeding method
  • supports mothers to exclusively breastfeed their newborns for 6 months and sustain breastfeeding for up to 2 years or beyond if they so wish
  • welcomes breastfeeding mothers
  • refers mothers for additional professional care and/or peer support as appropriate

愛嬰母嬰健康院

背景

自2000 年起, 衞生署推行母乳餵哺政策,透過母嬰健康院的網絡,提供一個支持母乳餵哺的環境,鼓勵媽媽以母乳餵哺寶寶。母嬰健康院中,已接受培訓的醫護人員會從不同的途徑,例如為孕婦提供嬰兒餵哺的資訊;評估產後媽媽的母乳餵哺技巧從而提供適切的建議,並協助授乳媽媽處理餵哺寶寶時遇到的問題 ,以全面鼓勵及支援母乳餵哺。

愛嬰醫院行動是世界衞生組織及聯合國兒童基金會共同推動的一個全球性行動。 目的是藉着建立支援母乳餵哺的氛圍,給每個嬰兒的健康帶來最好的開始,好讓加入愛嬰醫院行動的醫療機構成為推動及支援母乳餵哺的標準和典範。自2013 年起,醫院管理局轄下有產科部門的醫院分階段參與愛嬰醫院認證計劃,陸續定名為「愛嬰醫院」。

愛嬰母嬰健康院

衞生署母嬰健康院與醫院管理局轄下的產科部門一直緊密合作, 為婦女提供連貫的產前和產後服務。超過九成本地出生的嬰兒會在出院後兩三天於母嬰健康院登記並接受服務。因此,作為醫院的延伸,母嬰健康院肩負起支援初生嬰兒與父母開始和持續實行母乳餵哺的重任。為達至愛嬰醫療機構,衞生署於2016年6月,在其中三間母嬰健康院推行「愛嬰母嬰健康院」先導計劃。

於先導計劃下獲定名的三間「愛嬰母嬰健康院」分別為:

  • 九龍城母嬰健康院
  • 西營盤母嬰健康院
  • 油麻地母嬰健康院

由於先導計劃的成效理想,「愛嬰母嬰健康院」認證計劃的工作已於2021年3月於另外五間母嬰健康院展開,包括:

  • 藍田母嬰健康院
  • 馬鞍山母嬰健康院
  • 北葵涌母嬰健康院
  • 西灣河母嬰健康院
  • 天水圍母嬰健康院

有關「愛嬰母嬰健康院」認證計劃的最新進展可瀏覽:https://www.babyfriendly.org.hk/zh/healthcare-facilities-zh/

我們在「愛嬰母嬰健康院」內會得到怎樣的支援呢?

一所「愛嬰母嬰健康院」會實施以下的政策和指引:

  • 實行嬰兒餵哺政策
  • 培訓醫護以達至實行嬰兒餵哺政策的服務標準
  • 幫助孕婦認識母乳餵哺的重要性和母乳餵哺對嬰兒健康的早期影響
  • 支援父母與嬰兒建立親密、互愛和正面的親子關係
  • 支援父母對餵哺孩子作出合乎個別實際需要的知情決定,同時協助父母達成他們所選定的餵哺方案
  • 按照母親的意願,協助她們以全母乳餵哺嬰兒六個月,並支援她們持續餵哺母乳至寶寶兩歲或以上
  • 歡迎母親餵哺母乳
  • 為有需要的母親轉介母乳餵哺相關的專業輔導或朋輩支援