Parenting Series 5 - The Lullaby I - Developing Regular Sleep Patterns

New parents have so many queries about baby’s sleep like ‘Is it normal for my baby waking several times at night? How come he can’t sleep on his own? When will he sleep through the night?’ If parents can learn more about baby’s sleep characteristics, and with other support, their babies can gradually learn to build up good sleep habit and soothe themselves to sleep. Both you and your child can enjoy a nice sleep.

Baby's Sleep States

  • There are different states in sleep – drowsy, light sleep / dreaming, deep sleep, awake.
  • A sleep cycle goes from light sleep to deep sleep and then light sleep(see next page baby sleep diagram). Each cycle lasts about dozens of minutes in infancy. As your baby grows, the duration of the cycle gradually extends and at age 3 to 6, each cycle lasts about 90 minutes like the adults’.
  • In light sleep, your baby’s breathing is quick and less regular. Her body and limbs may tremble lightly. Eye movement underneath eyelids may be observed (maybe in the dreaming state). She may be easily woken up by sounds or lights in the surroundings. Throughout her sleep, she may wake up briefly several times which is normal and expected. You may let her sleep by gently patting her or talking softly to her instead of picking her up or feeding her.
  • During deep sleep, your baby is less affected by the surroundings. Her breathing becomes regular with few body movements.

Baby Sleep Patterns

After birth, baby relies on herself to breathe and to adjust and accommodate to the environment outside mommy’s tummy - including temperature, light/darkness, sound as well as your care.  Newborn has not yet had any day-night living pattern.  They eat when awake and sleep when full.  The sleep-wake pattern repeats throughout day and night though newborn spends most of the time in sleeping.

After caring your baby for some time, you may begin to grasp your baby’s tired cues. Let her sleep when drowsy to avoid her being overly tired to be asleep. Your baby may need your soothing to fall asleep. She rely on your responsive care to help her adjust to the day-night rhythm and to regulate sleep accordingly. Upon your responsive care and as your baby grows, her sleeping pattern would change.

When your baby reaches 3 to 6 months old (figure 1), you baby may have a longer time on night sleep and daytime wakefulness. This is the time she starts to have day-night rhythm.

She still needs day naps but the frequency of naps decrease as she grows. In the meantime, her ability to self soothe to sleep* is ready to be developed if you allow her to fall asleep in her cot when she is drowsy but awake. She can soothe herself back to sleep even she wakes in the middle of the night. In general, about 60-70% of the 8-month old babies can self soothe to sleep.

The above is for reference only. Each baby is unique and there can be individual differences. Some babies sleep more while some sleep less. Some have longer night sleep when 2 months old but some need more time to develop on her own pace. Parents try not to compare your baby with others’ and she is fine as long as she is healthy and growing.

How To Help Your Baby Sleep Well?

Providing a Comfortable

  • Comfortable room temperature
  • Good ventilation
  • Right amount of clothing or blanket. You may check whether he is too warm or too cold by feeling the nape of his neck. Warm without sweating will be just right.
  • Use cotton blankets to avoid allergy
  • Comfortable swaddling

    Your baby will feel more secure if you swaddle him in a soft blanket. Avoid wrapping him up too tightly which makes him too hot or limits the movement of his legs. Make sure his head and face are exposed without obstructing his airway.

If a baby’s lower limbs are pulled and wrapped too tight when swaddled, the hip joints may not develop normally.

More details can be obtained from ‘Developmental Dysplasia of Hip (DDH)

Please also refer to ‘Sleep Safety’ for infant’s safety on sleep.

Emphasizing The Difference Between Day And Night

  • Difference in the room light
    • The room should be well-lit in the daytime. Dim the light before sleep to tell the baby that it is bedtime.
    • Some babies may wake up during the night crying because the room is too dark. A night-light can reassure her that she is in familiar surroundings.
  • Difference in activities
    • When your baby is awake in the daytime, actively play and talk with her. When you are spending quality time together, you are giving her adequate attention as well as keeping her alert and interested. This will prevent her from sleeping too much during the day.
    • When she gets tired as shown by her having drooping eyelids, rubbing her face against you or yawning, let her have a rest.
    • Avoid taking a nap for more than 4 hours.
    • At night, engage in quiet activities to prevent her from getting too excited before bedtime.

Sleep Safety

  • We care about whether our baby sleeps sufficiently and most important of all, sleep safely and lower the chance of occurring the Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDs). Studies showed that sleeping on the back is the safest and correct sleep posture for babies. It is far better than sleeping on tummy or side position in reducing the likelihood of occurring SIDs.
  • To know more about SIDs and sleep safety,

Establishing Bedtime Routine helps your baby to Sleep at Regular Time and to Develop Self-Soothing Ability

  • Begin to establish a good bedtime routine after your baby has shown day-night rhythm.
  • 20 - 45 minutes before bedtime, turn off the TV and any other screen devices. Arrange bedtime activities which are relax and calming. For example, bathing, story-telling, gentle play, singing lullabies, listening to soft music, etc. These activities should be enjoyable without exciting him. Sleep follows after completion of the bedtime activities.
  • Activities chosen should be subject to your baby’s characteristics and habits. Most importantly, your baby must be fed, burped and on clean diapers.
  • Put your baby in the cot when she is drowsy but awake. Let her self soothe to sleep*. Leave her in the cot after saying goodnight
  • Baby may be soothed to sleep when she is physically unwell. Let her self soothe to sleep when her physical condition is stable.
  • You may refer to our video ‘Developing regular sleep routine’ (Video in Cantonese dialect with English subtitles) for more information.

*Self-soothing refers to the ability of baby to fall asleep on her own when drowsy without any parental intervention. The most common sleep habits are those which may impede babies’ learning and development of their self-soothing ability. These poor habits include suckling or nursing to sleep, rocking, stroking or walking to help babies fall asleep. Once these patterns have become established routines, your baby will totally depend on your attention and company to fall asleep. These sleep habits will take up, quite unnecessarily, much of your time and energy.

What about if my baby falls asleep while feeding? You may stop feeding and put him to bed without waking him. You can feed him a little earlier next time so as to minimize the chance of him falling asleep during feeding.

Apart from giving opportunity for your baby to learn, your determination and consistency will help your baby develop a good bedtime routine. Understanding, support and cooperation from everyone in the family will help you achieve the goal. If your baby has problems falling asleep, please refer to the leaflet Lullaby II-My Baby Won't Sleep in this series.

We have a series of "Happy Parenting!" workshops and leaflets for expectant parents, parents of infants and preschool children. Please contact our healthcare personnel for information.

(Content revised 03/2018)

亲职系列5 摇篮曲之一 建立睡眠常规

新任的父母对婴儿的睡眠都会有很多疑问。例如: “他一晚醒几次是 否正常?为什么总不肯自己睡?宝宝几时可以一觉睡天光?”父母若多些了解宝宝睡眠的特点,并配合多方面的安排,宝宝便能慢慢学习及建立自行入睡的常规,让你和宝宝可安睡到天明。

宝宝的睡眠状态

  • 睡眠可分为不同的状态 – 疲倦、浅睡 /发梦、熟睡、睡醒
  • 由浅睡到熟睡再到浅睡为一个循环;在婴儿期,每一循环十分钟。随着宝宝长大,循环的时间慢慢增长,约三至六岁时, 每个循环的时间约九十分钟,与成人相近。
  • 在进入浅睡状态时,宝宝的呼吸浅及不规律,身体可能会自然抖动,眼球转动﹝或许是发梦﹞,容易被周围的环境弄醒。宝宝在睡眠中可能出现数次短暂的清醒,也是意料中事。你适宜让他继续睡觉,可轻抚他、跟他轻声说话而不需急于抱或喂他。
  • 在熟睡状态时,宝宝较不容易受外界惊动,他的呼吸较为平稳,身体也甚少动作。

婴儿的睡眠模式

宝宝出生后不单依靠自己呼吸,更面对母体以外各种情况,包括温度、光暗、声音及你的照顾等等而逐步作出调节及适应。初生的宝宝一般未能分辨日夜,他们醒来就饿,吃饱了就睡,每日皆会重复这些行为状态,而大部分时间都在睡。

与宝宝相处一段时间后,你会开始掌握宝宝疲倦的表现,当他有睡意时便让他睡,可以避免他因为过倦啼哭而难以入睡;宝宝亦可能需要你哄才较易进入睡眠的状态。其实宝宝还在适应外界的环境,他需要你贴心照顾才能慢慢学习调节睡眠及日夜的规律。

随着宝宝长大,在你悉心照顾下,宝宝睡眠时间的模式会有所改变。

约三至六个月大时,你会发现宝宝晚上睡眠及日间精灵的时间较以往长,这就是他开始出现昼夜规律的表现。这时他仍需日间的小睡,但次数会逐渐减少。同时,他已准备学习自行入睡#,他需要你给予机会,在他有睡意或之前便放他在婴儿床上,让他自己慢慢睡着,这样即使夜半轻轻醒来,也不用倚赖你的帮助﹝如抱着轻摇﹞也能再次进入梦乡。一般而言,约60-70%的宝宝到八个月大时可自行入睡。

以上睡眠资料只作参考,每个宝宝都有个别的差异;有些婴儿睡得多,有些则睡得少;有些两个月大前已能有较长的夜间睡眠,有些仍需慢慢调节及学习;家长毋须与别人比较,只要宝宝健康成长便可。

如何令婴儿安睡?

舒适的环境

  • 室内温度适中;
  • 空气流通;
  • 适量衣服或被单;可将手放于婴儿颈背部位来测试温度,如感到温暖而没有汗湿,便是宝宝感到舒适的温度;
  • 被单最好用棉质,避免婴儿敏感不适;
  • 父母可用柔软的婴儿被把婴儿包裹起来,使他更有安全感。切记不要包得太紧,令他感到过热,或令双腿活动受限制,因这可能会影响髋关节发育*;要露出婴儿的头部及面部,确保宝宝呼吸道畅顺。
  • *若婴儿的下肢被强行拉直和包裹得过紧会令髋关节受压及影响关节正常发育。

    有关资讯可参阅“发展性髋关节发育不良”单张。
    有关婴幼儿睡眠安全,请留意章节“安全的睡眠环境”

帮助宝宝分辨日夜

  • 室内光线要有明显分别
    • 日间光线要充足;晚间睡前把室内光线调暗,让婴儿知道睡觉时间到了。
    • 有些婴儿半夜醒来,会因害怕太黑暗的环境而哭起来。你可亮着一盏小夜灯伴着他。
  • 日与夜的活动亦应有所分别
    • 日间婴儿清醒时,尽量多与他玩及说话,一来可善用亲子时间,给他足够的关注,二来亦可减低宝宝因无聊而在日间多睡了。
    • 待宝宝累了,例如:看见婴儿眼皮垂下、把头或面在你身上擦或打呵欠时,就要让他休息。
    • 避免小睡时间多于四小时。
    • 晚间的活动节奏应放缓,避免婴儿过度兴奋

安全的睡眠环境

  • 我们不单希望宝宝睡得酣、睡得够,更重要是睡眠时的安全,减低婴儿猝死症及意外的发生。根据外国调查显示,仰卧是最安全和正确的婴儿睡姿,俯睡和侧睡的婴儿发生猝死的危险性比仰睡的高。
  • 想了解婴儿猝死症及防止睡眠以及家居的意外,

建立睡前常规,不单帮助宝宝定时睡觉,还可让他学懂自行入睡

  • 宝宝开始出现昼夜规律后,便可尝试帮助他建立良好的睡前常规
  • 在睡前20至45分钟,关掉电视和其他电子荧幕产品,安排一些亲子活动,而活动应是轻松和舒缓的,例如洗澡、说故事、静态的游戏、唱催眠曲、听轻音乐等等。这些活动必须是平静、不会使孩子兴奋活跃而他又喜爱的。让他习惯每完成一些固定的活动后,便到睡觉的时间。
  • 配合婴儿的特性或生活习惯来建立合适的睡前常规。最重要的是必须吃饱、扫风、换上干净的尿片及有入睡的准备。
  • 清醒但已带睡意的宝宝放上婴儿床,让他学习自行入睡#。你可道晚安后离开,让他自己渐渐进入梦乡。
  • 宝宝可能因生病而需要安抚才能入睡,可待宝宝的健康情况稳定后继续让他学习自行入睡。

你亦可参考视像资讯“建立睡前常规

#自行入睡是指婴儿有睡意时自然地睡着。不良的睡眠习惯是妨碍婴幼儿顺利学习自行入睡的最常见原因,例如,必要用吸吮乳头、吃奶、抱他在怀中轻摇、轻拍或步行的方法来哄他才肯入睡。这些模式一旦成为习惯,宝宝便会过分依赖你的注意和陪伴才肯入睡,令父母花上不少不必要的时间和精神。

婴儿在吃奶途中睡着了怎办?可停止喂哺及扫风,把他抱回婴儿床上,不用故意弄醒他。下一次把喂哺时间稍提早,减低他在吃奶途中入睡的机会。

帮助宝宝建立良好的睡眠习惯,父母除了要及早开始外,还需要立定决心持之以恒。家中每个照顾者的体谅、支持和合作必定可以帮助你达至目标。如果宝宝有困难入睡,请参阅同系列单张“摇篮曲之二 - 宝宝不肯睡怎办?”。

卫生署母婴健康院设有一系列的亲职研习班和资料单张,专为准父母及婴幼儿家长而设,欢迎向健康院医护人员查询。

(08/2017 修订内容)