Parenting Series 22 – Helping Your Preschooler Become Resilient 1 (3 to 5 years old)

The Importance of Resilience

Difficulties are inevitable in our lives. Some children may become irritable or depressed as a result, while others are able to adapt to or recover from adversity rapidly. The latter illustrates a positive adjustment process commonly known as resilience. Children, who demonstrate resilience generally remain proactive and optimistic in the face of adversity. Research has indicated that children showing resilience are competent, confident, healthier, having greater academic achievement and are more satisfactory in their studies in school.

You can help your preschooler to become resilient by building up qualities within herself and enhancing factors in her environment. The key qualities within a child that facilitate resilience are self-esteem optimism, hope, communication and problem-solving skills. Positive parenting, support and cooperation with school are equally important environmental factors.

Fostering Qualities within Your Child

Self-esteem

Self-esteem refers to the sense of worthiness one feels about oneself. High self-esteem serves as a buffer against demoralization following hardship. On the other hand, children with low self-esteem may have their confidence stricken by failure and rejection. You can help your child develop self-esteem by doing the following:

  • Showing love & giving attention to your child
    • Show your affection and give attention to your child by nonverbal (e.g. smiles, hugs, kisses, pats) as well as verbal means (e.g. "I always love you, my little darling").
    • All children misbehave sometimes. Show disapproval of your child's inappropriate behaviour (e.g. "Fighting is incorrect") rather than the child per se (e.g. "You are terrible").
    • Accept your child as who he is so that he can learn to accept himself.
  • Nurturing your child's strengths
    • Self-esteem is also developed when the child recognizes himself for having personal strengths through your positive feedback.
    • Recognize your child's interest and strengths, e.g. playing soccer, reading, being a good helper, etc.
    • Set a realistic and achievable goal in developing his strengths to the full potential. Start with a level that matches your child's capability. For example, appreciate your 3-year-old child's enthusiasm in scribbling rather than expecting him to draw a figure with details. This could guarantee a rewarding start and your child is more likely to continuously achieve his full potential.
  • Developing your child's positive self-image
    • Your constructive evaluation of your child will facilitate his development of a positive self-image.
    • Grasp every opportunity to express your appreciation right after your child shows any positive behaviour or achievement. The appreciation should be specific, e.g. "Thank you for putting away the toys after playing "
    • Review together with your child, what he has accomplished every day - no matter how small it is.

Optimism and Hopeful outlook

The damaging effect of hardship can be minimized when children view setbacks in an optimistic way. Optimistic children think positively and have a sense of mastery. They do not easily give up because they think their actions will influence the outcome of an event. Besides, children with a hopeful attitude know their direction and have motivation to thrive even in difficult time. You can help develop your child's optimism and hope in the following ways:

*Cultivating positivity

Help your child view setback as: Don't say:
  • temporary e.g. "You couldn't score the goal this time, it doesn't mean you can't do it next time. Keep trying and I'm sure you'll be able to do it."
  • "You always fail to score the goal!"
  • "You are never able to score the goal!"
  • specific to that particular event e.g. “I am sorry that you lost the game”
  • "You just can't learn to play any games well."
  • resulted from external factors e.g. "You did not have enough practice to win the game"
  • "You are too dumb to win the game."

Your words will have much impact on the positivity of your child. When your child has completed a job or made an accomplishment, never be mean to her by saying something like, "Don't be so excited!" You just made it this time", "You are only good at drawing" or "You're just lucky." Instead, give her appreciation and encouragement, "You made it!" or "You are so talented at drawing."

  • Promoting a sense of mastery
    • Choose toys that are appropriate to your child's level of development. Toys and tools that your child has control over and will respond to actions are mastery-promoting. They facilitate your child's understanding of causal relationship between her actions and outcome. For example, the one year old will enjoy musical notes coming out from their pressing of a button; and the four year olds will be at ease in using scissors.
    • Children are full of curiosity. Often, they are imitating adult's behaviour before you think they are ready to learn. Once your child shows interest, encourage her to participate in self-care activities such as feeding and dressing.
    • Offer choices to your child within a reasonable limit (e.g. two or three choices), such as choices of her clothing, snacks, toys and books to read.
    • Familiarize your child with goal-setting. The goal should be specific and achievable, eg. "Let's finish the drawing before watching TV".
    • Assist your child to achieve the goal step-by-step. For example, guide her to complete the picture, "Do you want to draw anything next to the dog? Would you like to add some more colours?" Encourage and praise her for putting in effort. "It's almost finished. What a colourful picture!"
  • Nurturing hope
    • Act as a role model to your child and demonstrate a hopeful outlook on life, e.g. "I can't find the right size T-shirt for me in this shop, I think I can get it in another shop".
    • Read stories conveying the ideas of hope and perseverance with your child such as 'The Tortoise and the Hare' and 'The Little Hero of Holland'.
    • Change your child's discouraging thoughts to an encouraging and empowering one. For instance, when your child said, "I always fail to earn stickers from my teacher", you can respond, "You did not get a sticker from your teacher today. It's OK! Come on, cheer for yourself! Try again tomorrow!"
    • Help your child to learn from mistakes or setbacks. Let her generate the solutions first before you guide her for alternatives. For example, you can guide her to identify the causes of failure and then ask, "What can you do differently next time in order to get the reward?"

Communication and problem-solving skills

Children with communication and problem-solving skills are able to overcome adversities. The governing principles are:

  1. to encourage your child to express himself and
  2. to help him solve the problem on his own instead of fixing the problems for him.
  • Nurturing communication skills
    • Encourage and facilitate your child to express his thoughts and feelings. For example, "Since you lost your teddy, you have been really quiet. Come on, tell me how you feel?" If your child keeps silent, ask him, "Are you feeling upset about your missing teddy? Tell me more about it."
    • Discourage expression through undesirable behaviours such as whining, tantrums or aggression. Give consequences such as taking him to quiet time. Find opportunities to teach him how to express his emotions in a socially acceptable way some other time when both of you are calm.
    • Remind and practise turn taking in conversation e.g. "OK! I will listen to you first and then it will be my turn to speak."
    • Encourage your child to practise communication skills through make-believe play. For example, when he plays the role of a doctor, he can practise listening and questioning; when he plays the patient role, he can practise expression of feelings.

Leaflet 13 in this Parenting series explains the development of communication skills while leaflet 16 describes behaviour management in more details.

  • Fostering problem-solving skills
    • Arouse interest in solving problems and taking challenges through games, e.g. simple jigsaw puzzle, model railway building and make-believe play.
    • Help your child identify and articulate the problem. For example, when you read 'Three Little Pigs' to your child, encourage him to think, "Why is the first little pig in danger?"
    • Stimulate your child to generate as many solutions as possible.
    • Help your child to choose a solution. Provide a couple of options if it is difficult for him to decide, e.g. "Do you want to use a pencil or a felt pen to draw the picture?"

In sum, you can enhance your child’s resilience by helping her to face adversities and solve problems with positivity, optimism and confidence. Having discussed on the enhancing factors within a child, you may read on leaflet 23 Helping Your Preschooler Become Resilient II in the Parenting series for environmental factors that foster resilience in your child.

We have a series of "Happy Parenting!" workshops and leaflets on childcare and parenting for expectant parents and parents of infants and preschool children. Please contact our healthcare personnel for information.

(Content revised 02/2014)

亲职系列 22 - 乘风破浪:协助孩子克服逆境之一(三至五岁)

抗逆的重要性

人生少不免会遇上逆境,有些孩子遇到困难时会变得脾气暴躁或沮丧,有些却能安然面对或者能从逆境中迅速复原过来,展现出抗逆的能力。「抗逆」是指面对逆境时积极适应的过程。研究指出,能抵抗逆境的孩子是能干的、自信的、较健康、有较高的学术成就以及有较满意的学业表现。

孩子的一些个人特质和外在因素均能促进他的抗逆能力。这些可以从小加以培养的个人特质主要包括孩子的自尊心、乐观和常怀希望的心态以及沟通与解难能力。家长的管教、支持和家校的合作也是同等重要的外在因素。

加强个人特质

培养孩子的自尊心

自尊心强的孩子就如持有一面坚硬的盾牌,阻挡逆境所带来的挫败感,守护他对自己的看法和信念。反之,自尊心弱的孩子往往被挫折打击信心,什至贬低对自己的看法。你可以透过以下方法培养孩子的自尊心:

  • 表达你的爱和关注
    • 每天透过笑容、拥抱、亲吻、轻抚或对他说:「爸爸很爱你!」来表达你对孩子的接纳和关注。
    • 所有孩子间中都会犯错,责罚时应针对孩子的不当行为(如:「打架是不对的!」)而非孩子本身(如:「你太差劲了!」)。
    • 不论你的孩子是怎样,你对孩子的接纳能让他学会接纳自己。
  • 培养孩子的才能
    • 孩子会从你的正面评语和鼓励中肯定自己的才能,加强自尊心。
    • 发掘孩子的兴趣长处,如:踢球、讲故事、热心助人……等等。
    • 订立一个合理可达成的目标去发展孩子的潜能,并由孩子能力所及的程度开始。例如:要帮助你三岁的孩子对绘画建立一个好开始,欣赏他对涂鸦充满热忱,而并非期望他能细致绘画,他就会更感兴趣去继续发展他的才能。
  • 建立孩子正面的自我形象
    • 你对孩子正面的评语能促使他对自己有正面的看法。
    • 把握每个表达欣赏孩子的机会,当他表现出正面的行为或成功完成一件事情后,立即加以明确赞许,如:「你能在玩耍过后把玩具执拾妥当,做得真好!」
    • 不管孩子的成就是多微不足道,每天都与他一起细数他办到的事。

培养乐观及常怀希望的心态

孩子抱着乐观的心态面对逆境,有助减低逆境所带来的负面影响。乐观的孩子会从积极处想,并拥有一种操控感,认为他们的行动可以影响事情的发展,因此,他们不会轻言放弃。另外,常怀着希望的孩子即使在逆境时,也有目标和动力去奋发图强。你可以透过以下方法培养孩子的乐观和常怀希望的心态:

*培养积极的心态

引导你的孩子视逆境为: 切忌说:
  • 暂时性——「这次你未能把球射入,下次再尝试吧!我相信你有能力做到的。」
  • 「每次你都不能……」
  • 「没有一次你可以……」
  • 个别事件——「真可惜,你输掉了这个游戏!」
  • 「你所有事情都做得不好!」
  • 「你又把事情弄垮了!」
  • 由外在因素导致——「你只是欠缺练习。」
  • 「你不够聪明所以游戏输了。」
  • 「你实在太笨拙了,没可能会赢。」

 成人的说话对孩子极有影响力,如果孩子完成一项工作或是达到目标,面对他的成功,你可以欣赏和鼓励他:「你做到了!」 「你真的很有绘画的才能。」切忌对孩子泼冷水:「你不要这么兴奋!你只得这次成功而已。」「你就只是绘画好。」或是「你只是好运而已。」

  • 培养操控感
    • 选择配合孩子发展阶段的玩具。一些在孩子完全操控下会作出反应的玩具和工具,有助发展操控感,令孩子明白他的行为与后果的关连,例如:按动键钮时会发出声响的玩具就适合一岁幼儿;四岁幼儿一般能用剪刀做劳作。
    • 幼儿往往对成年人的行为感到好奇而加以模仿,当孩子对自理活动如吃饭和穿衣感兴趣时,鼓励他参与,让他学会独立
    • 在合理的限制下给予孩子选择权。例如:选择衣着、下午茶点、图书和玩具。
    • 让孩子习惯订立清晰和可达成的目标,如:「我们一起把图画画好才看电视。」
    • 协助孩子一步步达到目标。例如:引导他完成绘画时可问:「你想在小狗旁画些什么吗?你喜欢多加一些颜色吗?」鼓励和赞赏他的努力;「差不多完成了,你看色彩多缤纷!」
  • 培养常怀希望的心态
    • 在日常生活中作好榜样,对事物常抱持希望,如:「这里没有合身的衣服,不过我相信在别的店铺应该可以找到。」
    • 与孩子阅读有关希望和坚毅的故事,如:《塞翁失马》、《愚公移山》。
    • 以积极和鼓励性的思想取代孩子消极的思想,如:当你的孩子说:「我总是得不到老师的贴纸……」你可以回应:「你今天未能得到老师的贴纸,不要紧!来,给自己打打气!明天再试!」
    • 要引导孩子从错误或逆境中学习,先让他自行想办法,然后才再加以引导。你可以引导他找出失败的原因,然后问:「你下次可以怎样做才能得到老师的奖赏?」

建立沟通和解难能力

孩子的沟通技巧和解决问题的能力可以帮助他克服困难。家长要注意以下两点原则:

第一,鼓励孩子表达自己;

第二,引导孩子自己解决问题,而非帮他解决问题。

  • 培养沟通能力
    • 鼓励和引导孩子表达他的想法和感受。例如:「在你遗失了娃娃之后,便一直默不作声,看来很难过,告诉我你的感受好吗?」当你的孩子依然沉默,你可以问:「你是不是因为娃娃不见了而感到伤心?可否告诉我多一点?」
    • 制止不恰当的表达方式如:发牢骚、发脾气或暴力行为等,并让孩子承担后果(如:安排「冷静时段」)。当大家心情平静后,找机会教导他合适的情感表达方法。 
    • 提醒并鼓励轮流发言,如:「我现在先听你说,然后才到我讲」。 
    • 鼓励你的孩子透过角色扮演游戏来练习沟通技巧。例如:当你的孩子扮演医生时,他可以练习聆听和发问技巧;当他扮演病人时,就可以练习如何表达情感。
  • 培养解难能力
    • 透过游戏,如:简单的砌图游戏、拼砌火车路轨和模拟日常生活难题的游戏,引发孩子解决难题接受挑战的兴趣。
    •  引导你的孩子找出说明问题所在,如:当你跟孩子讲《三只小猪》的故事时,鼓励他动动脑筋:「为什么猪大哥有危险呢?」
    • 帮助孩子尽量想出最多的解决方法
    • 引导你的孩子选择一个解决方法,如果他未能决定,就提出几个选择让他取舍,如:「你要用铅笔还是颜色笔画太阳?」

*本系列的单张十三十六分别详细讲解孩子沟通能力的发展和有效的行为处理。

总的来说,父母可以从小加强孩子的个人抗逆特质,帮助他积极、乐观和自信地面对困难,解决问题。至于外在的因素怎样影响孩子的抗逆能力,请继续参看「乘风破浪:协助孩子克服逆境之二」

卫生署母婴健康院设有一系列的亲职研习班和资料单张,专为准父母及婴幼儿家长而设,欢迎向健康院医护人员查询。  

(01/2013 修订内容) (08/2018 重印)